We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
102
53
11
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
53
11
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice breakfast large bathroom wonderful hotel within walking distance recommend this hotel excellent location taxi shower conference puzzling france chateau comfort luggage parking proximity luxury
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

If you are going to visit Fontainebleau, whether it is as a tourist or for spending time at the famous INSEAD school, consider this newly renovated hotel just off the castle park and within walking distance of INSEAD 10 minutes. It is also very close to the main streets and pedestrian streets in the center, surrounded by cafes and restaurants. The hotel is newly designed and of a very high standard. very clean and very quiet. You can park near the hotel in the square at the castle park.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank trvelfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Excellent location, well designed, quiet rooms, professional super staff, spacious restaurant with well presented food, rooftop terrace is a plus. Outdoor touches include a fireplace and a garden area restaurant. Easy walk to the chateau and to shopping.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NoWhereinAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Booked a night's stay here after reading great reviews online, but sad to say we had a very disappointing experience. This hotel markets itself as an all-round location with a gourmet restaurant and cocktail bar; however both were closed when we stayed despite there being no information to indicate this on the website. We were also not informed of this fact at the time of booking. After discovering the restaurant would be closed when I tried to make a booking closer to our stay, I specifically asked whether at least the cocktail bar would be open and was reassured that aside from the restaurant everything would be open as normal. When we arrived we were told the bar was closed during August. Basically you could sleep in the hotel and not much else (although I also wouldn't expect a good night's sleep - the rooms are not in any way soundproofed and I was woken up multiple times in the night by doors opening and closing in the corridor).

We made it known that we were not happy with what we considered false advertising (no information on the website or at time of booking, false info to a direct question per email - plus there was a fold-out sign standing at the hotel entrance advertising a gourmet restaurant and cocktail bar). The response was a shrug of the shoulder and 'well it's August, our staff are all on holidays'. We really had to stand our ground and have a lengthy discussion before the hotel would admit that perhaps we had grounds to be dissatisfied; eventually we were offered a complimentary breakfast (weak coffee and bread, cheese, yoghurt - very happy we didn't pay the 20 euro price tag!). Next day on check out with a different member of staff we weren't asked whether we had enjoyed our stay - perhaps an oversight or perhaps an attempt to avoid more feedback, but either way very poor service.

I know it is easy to roll the eyes and say 'France, eh?' but for a place advertising itself as a modern, contemporary hotel - with close to 200 euro a night price tag - I think you would be justified in expecting something better. In another situation I would say just make sure to check that the facilities will be open before you book - but as it seems you can do that and still be given false information, I would recommend taking the safer option and spending your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Aine45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

This property is very convenient when visiting Fontainebleau Chateau. Situated behind the chateau with views of the gardens, we couldn't have asked for a better location! It is a bit hard to discern the main entrance to the hotel, as the main entrance opens directly into the courtyard of their restaurant. The reception desk is located through the bar. There is no on-sight parking, but a public lot is located a block away next to the chateau.

We did find the bathroom a bit puzzling - the sink is situated so close to the toilet that you will need to be careful when getting up and down. The shower is completely open to the rest of the bathroom and there is no way to avoid getting the bathroom floor drenched while showering.

The only warning - should you purchase a chateau ticket from the hotel, you will still need to visit the ticket office at the chateau to trade in the hotel ticket for a ticket that may be scanned at the entrance.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Wonderful hotel just away from the centre but minutes from everything (park the car in the small square nearby).
modern very clean and very efficiently run.we had a good size room with its own terrace which had a large bathroom with a great shower, we also booked the restaurant which was really good too (and with a dame Judy dench lookalike) breakfast was a small buffet but all very nice.
oh and great cocktails!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews