We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 151
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Golden Tulip Troyes(Barberey-Saint-Sulpice)
USD 74
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
B&B Hotel Troyes Barberey(Barberey-Saint-Sulpice)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
189
66
27
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
66
27
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelmichelin starwood beamsold buildingclosed on mondaysquiet streetmedieval styletwo flights of stairsattic roomside streetchampagne regionhuge bedpre bookup to datelovely citywell worth a visitsouth of france
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2014

Had a wonderful stopover here again on our journey north. Beautiful hotel, with exceptional rooms , full of character and all modern amenities. Beds are king size with beautiful linens and the rooms in general are large with big bathrooms and great decorations.Very handy for walking to the shopping and restaurant area in Troyes and can park at the door. Also take well behaved dogs.Adjacent to the breathtaking cathedral which has just undergone a major renovation project and is definately worth a visit. Wish we could have stayed longer but will certainly be back again.

Room Tip: no lifts so ground floor preferable if you have lots of luggage. There is an enormous double with a huge bathroom facing into the courtyard opposite the reception if its available...
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chriscrozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champdesoiseaux, Propriétaire at La Maison de Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

We thank you for taking time to leave your feedback,

The hotel is ideally located in the historical center of the town, close to the Cathedral.
This old possession of Templars Knights was completely restored by "Les Compagnons du Devoir". Buildings date of 15th and 16th centuries.

Rooms from 30 to 60 m² are comfortable eqquiped with a "Tréca 5 clefs Pullman" bedding, linen in cotton percale comes from "Bergan" and decoration from "Mise en Demeure" (Paris).

You can park free all around the hotel, or at 200 meters you have an underground public and secured parking and for oversized vehicles we have a private parking on the property (limited places).
Animals are welcome to the hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you for a next stay to Troyes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2014

We stayed in Troyes on a stop over while driving through France. La Maison de Rhodes is a lovely hotel - no surprising it has a five star rating. It's a lovely old building that has been beautifully restored and maintained. The hotel is situated on a narrow cobbled street and the adjoining buildings also evoke the medieval era.

Our room was lovely - it was at the top of the hotel and the ceiling was made of original wooden beams. The bed was very comfortable and finished with high quality linen that had a crisp feel to it.

The hotel has a lovely reception area, and a garden and pool. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

This is a wonderful hotel and staying there was a great experience. It's next to the cathedral and we could hear the chiming of the bells.

We paid €190 for a night and were given a bottle of champagne when we left. Breakfast was expensive (€40 for two) - worth it just for once as it was nice. But if we stayed again we would probably go out to one of the many nearby cafes for breakfast.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travellingfrogs2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
champdesoiseaux, Gérant at La Maison de Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2014

We thank you for taking time to leave your feedback.
The hotel is located in the historical center of the town, close to the cathedral. "Les Compagnons du Devoir" have totally restored the buildings. This is an old possession of Order of Malta who date of XV and XVI centuries.
Rooms from 30m² to 50m² are highlighted by furnitures of "Mise en Demeure" (Paris). Bedding is a "Treca Pullman 5 clefs" and the linen in percale cotton comes from "Bergan".
You can enjoy our courtyards, our private garden or our pool to relax you or to have a drink.
Breakfast is served in the breakfast room or in your room. It is made of 18 local or organic products (bread, croissant, butter, jam, dry and fresh fruits, home-made cake, yahourt, eggs, cheese,...).
The staff thanks you for your compliments and hopes to welcome you again for a next stay in Troyes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2014

We stayed here for a night on our way down to the south of France. Troyes is a charming town and Le Maison de Rhodes a delightful hotel in a historic building, conveniently located close to the city centre. Our room, in the eves was spacious and comfortable and the only noise was from the Abbey chimes. In common with the previous comment, the room was up several floors and was a climb with our suitcase! We ate dinner in the hotel and as the weather was good we ate outside - a superb meal with excellent service and the chef came to our table to discuss the cooking and offer free glass of wine with our cheese. We will certainly stay here again on our next trip. WiFi was free but struggled to reach our room.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nr0ger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonderhodes, Propriétaire at La Maison de Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

We thank you for have taking time to leave your feedback.
Hotel is ideally located in the historical center of the town, close to the cathedral.
Buildings date of 15th and 16th centuries.
This old possession of knights of the Order of Malta was totally refurbished by "Les Compagnons du Devoir".
Our chief welcomes you to the restaurant "La Commanderie" from Tuesday to Saturday for the dinner only.
He prepares the whole menu himself with organic and fresh products from the Market.
Dinner is served in our lovely restaurant room or in the courtyard when the weather is nice.
Looking forward to welcoming you for a next stay to Troyes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The astonishing city of Troyes is definitely worth visiting and the hotel is well placed for walking around the town. We had one night at the Maison de Rhodes and ate in the tiny restaurant.
The room was clean, charming with a very comfortable bed. Beautiful linen and a good pile of towels. We could hear the people above us walking around which was a shame.
The beautiful ancient buildings have been wonderfully renovated with well planted courtyard areas and a tiny pool area. Listed as two hotels (why do they use two names two when there is only one reception and breakfast room?) but functioning as one.
The restaurant served excellent classic french cooking, served simply but with style. Very good service in the restaurant and also at breakfast, which was also delicious.
The only reason I have not given the full 'excellent' in my review was the lack of assistance when we arrived. I have walking difficulties and we arrived with bags and a dog after a long drive. No one came to open the door nor to help us to our room. The woman who showed us our room did not offer to carry a bag and then stood as if waiting for a tip while we struggled along.
Despite this I would recommend the hotel and restaurant and would return on another occasion.

Room Tip: Choose upstairs so there won't be anyone above you!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LCram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonderhodes, Propriétaire at La Maison de Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

We thank you for have taking time to leave your feedback.
This old possession of knights of the Order of Malta is ideally located in the historical center of the town, close to the cathedral.
Buildings listed date of 15th and 16th centuries and were completely restored by "Les Compagnons du Devoir".
Rooms from 30 to 70 m² are equipped with a confortable "Tréca Pullman 5 clefs" bedding and linen in cotton percale comes from "Bergan".
Breakfast is composed of 18 organic or home-made products (bread, jam, dry and fresh fruits, stewed apples, eggs...) and you can take it in your room, in our breakfast room, or in the courtyard depending the weather.
Our Chief welcomes you from Tuesday to Saturday in our restaurant "La Commanderie" for the dinner only. He prepares the whole menu himself with organic and fresh products from the market.
You can enjoy our courtyards, lounge part or our pool to relax you or have a drink.

Looking forward to welcoming you for a next stay to Troyes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Troyes was meant as a first stop over on our trip to the South of France. How we enjoyed to stay at the Maison de Rhodes!... Our room was splendid: large, spacious, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was a delight. We took it al fresco on the patio. Everything was fresh. Scrambled eggs were made specifically for us. The swimming pool was a bit tiny (2 x 6m) for two large boys of 1,90m, but it was good to freshen up.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite and it was GREAT! A staircase that went specifically to our room made it even more special.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hemelvaarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonderhodes, Propriétaire at La Maison de Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

We thank you for have taking time to leave your feedback.
Hotel is ideally located in the historical center of the town, close to the cathedral.
Buildings of this old possession of the Order of Malta are listed and date of 15th and 16th centuries, and were totally restored by "Les Compagnons du Devoir".
Rooms from 30 to 70m² are confortable equipped with "Tréca Pullman 5 clefs" beddings and furnitures comes from "Mis en demeure" (Paris).
Breakfast is composed of 18 organic or home-made products (bread, jam, eggs, dry and fresh fruits, stewed apples...)
You can enjoy our courtayrds, lounge part or our pool to relax you or to have a drink.
Looking forward to welcoming you for a next stay to Troyes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews