We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (763)
Filter reviews
763 results
Traveller rating
417
267
58
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
267
58
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews direct access car park old town well stocked bar underground passage pedestrian area pedestrianised street comfort room hotel is located medieval city eggs and bacon half timbered buildings hotel reception junior suite perfect location an excellent choice fantastic hotel
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 763 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2015

The hotel is an ancient building right in the centre of the old town, within easy walking distance of all the interesting sights of this fascinating place. We hovered outside the hotel on our arrival, wondering where the car park was. Within seconds a charming young man appeared, speaking perfect English, who directed us to the car park entrance. One of the public car parks has a section reserved for hotel guests, and there is a short underground passage that is part of the hotel, leading into the hotel reception - couldn't be more convenient!

The exterior of the hotel is centuries old, but it has been beautifully modernised inside, losing none of its character as many of the old beams have been used as features throughout. Our room was very small but very cleverly and beautifully designed, so that there was room for everything. The rooms are of necessity all different as when the place was built the architects did not take into account that centuries later it might be used for a hotel! The colour scheme of grey, red and white was very attractive and we could see from our window that there was a conservatory further down. We went exploring and found that it was double height and among other things had a number of wonderful orchids. There is no restaurant but the hotel serves a modest breakfast.

The hotel could not be more conveniently situated. There is a huge choice of restaurants immediately around, and a ten minute walk takes you to an even greater selection. We walked everywhere and saw many of the major sights. We chose Troyes as a stopover en route to a skiing holiday in the Alps so we were only there for an afternoon and the following morning. We will definitely return for another visit and of course we will stay at the same charming hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GirdleTheEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2015

Dear Guests,
Thank you for the very pleasant and comprehensive review that you have made on Tripadvisor about our hotel and the city of Troyes.
We were delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff very helpful and welcoming.
As you mentioned the hotel is situated in the heart of the old middle-age city center and is surrounded by old wooden and historical buildings. Nevertheless it has an underground car park which offers a direct access into the hotel and has a car space reserved for each room.
The location of the hotel is ideal for visiting the city and almost all the tourist points are within walking distance.
You choose a standard room, which is small in size, but we're glad that you liked it and found it cleverly and beautifully decorated.
Effectively we don't have a restaurant in the hotel but being surrounded by a large selection of restaurants, ranging from the simple Creperie to the three Michelin recommended restaurants beside the hotel,there is a very large choice which generally meet the tastes of all our guests.
We're glad that you enjoyed your stopover on your way south to the Alps and we do look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015

We had a night's stay at the Saint Jean's and everything went smooth and nice. Staff were friendly, room was cosy and clean and the prices are rather decent + the receptionist gave us a little discount on a room upgrade. The position of the hotel is right in the middle of the old pedestrian passages of Troyes and you get a hotel parking spot in a public parking close by which has an underground access to the hotel. It is paying however and it costs 10 euros a night. As for the rooms, our was pretty clean and decent with good light, nothing extraordinary but considering the price (140 euros for a deluxe room) we were happy with it. Minus for me were that the bed wasn't very comfy...and the breakfast area didn't look all that tempting...

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moss4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Dear Guests,
Thank you for the commentary that you have made on tripadvisor. We were pleased to read that you,made the right choice and stayed with us here in Troyes. Its nice to know that you enjoyed your stay, that you found our staff friendly, the price correct, the rooms clean, decent and your's was well exposed to the daylight.
The position of the hotel, as you wrote,in the heart of the middle age pedestrain center of Troyes is indeed ideal for touring the city.
The parking, with its direct underground access to the hotel does belong to the Public Treasury and effectively costs 10€ per 24H.
The mattresses were all changed and the breakfast area recently renovated so don't hesitate to try breakfast next time, i'm sure that you'll appreciate the fresh fruit salad, the choice of fried eggs, omelettes, bacon and cheeses etc.
Looking forward to seeing you again,
kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2015

We stayed here on a stopover on a trip back from the Alps. It was too expensive for a stopover. We arrived late and left early the next day, so it was not a good decision on our part to book this place. We had two rooms for our family, so it seemed like a waste of EUR 200. They upgraded us to a "comfort" room -- I honestly cannot imagine how small the standard room must be because the comfort room was small. The staff was very very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatMcN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2015

Dear Guests,
Thank you for the commentary that you made on tripadvisor.
It's a pity that you couldn't have stayed longer with us in order to discover the city of Troyes and our location in the city center is ideal for that.
Your very quick "stopover" with a late arrival and early morning departure effectively didn't allow such time.
We're glad that you found our staff very very nice but unfortunately we can't increase the size of the rooms as being situated in the historical medieval city center does mean respecting certain architectural conditions.
However there are five types of rooms in the hotel from the "standard" room (small in size) to the "Junior Suite Prestige".
Hopefully on your next stop in Troyes you'll have more time and we'll be glad to have you visit the other rooms so that you can choose a suitable one.

kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015

We really liked this hotel. We managed to find the parking. There was a lovely welcome from the staff. The staff were very helpful throughout in all respects. We liked the room and it was in good condition and very clean. There is a lift so luggage was no problem. The position in the middle of the medieval town was superb and the staff were very helpful recommending restaurants. There are three good restaurants within of few yards of the hotel. The breakfast was OK. The only problem that we had with the hotel was the heat in the bedroom that hit us as we opened the bedroom door. We tried turning the thermostat down which was broken. Eventually we turned off all heating, as told to do by the staff, and opened all windows. So we coped with this problem as it was a very cold night outside. Do all the rooms have the same problem, or should we ask for a different room next time? It has not put us off the hotel. We will return soon on one of our regular trips down or back through France to the Alps. The hotel itself, staff, parking and position are superb.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PippaTrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2015

Dear Guests,
Thank you for the commentary that you have made on tripadvisor. We were pleased to read that you liked the hotel, that you found your room clean, in good condition and that you had no difficulty in finding the underground car park.
We also appreciated the fact that you found our staff welcoming, very helpful and that they were able to provide you with recommendations for a number of restaurants around the hotel, that you could choose from and thereby enjoy a pleasant meal.
We're sorry that you had a problem with the heat in your room, we do prefer to have the rooms heated before our guests arrive, especially when its really cold outside so that they arrive into a warm and pleasant room.
A number of the rooms have individual air-conditioning units and more are due to be fitted in the near future and this should take care of the problem and enable our guests to choose the temperature they wish.
We're glad that you enjoyed the hotel, its location in the heart of the medieval city center, the underground parking facility, our staff, and we do look forward to seeing you again,
kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2015

The Saint Jean offers a quiet, lovely hotel in the middle of historic Troyes. I was there on a Monday in the winter, so I can't say whether it would be louder in livelier times. I would guess not, given its locale. The hotel sits in a renovated centuries-old building. I was on the 3rd floor, in an oddly configured room, with its own short staircase. I deduct a quarter of a star for the less-than-ideal bathtub and for the price of the breakfast (which was, I admit, quite good). Staff are uniformly helpful and pleasant; the room and public spaces were clean and comfortable. If you have mobility issues - like stepping over a very high bathtub to get into the shower - you might want to contact the hotel, to see that the room has a suitable configuration. I have stayed in other hotels in Troyes and I can state unequivocally that the Saint Jean is the best one I have found in the city. Nearby, around the corner, do make time to visit the Madeleine church: fabulous stained glass and altar. For those coming to Troyes by train, the hotel is only a 10-minute walk from the train station: great day trip from Paris.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bayarddc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kardar, Directeur général at Hotel Le Relais Saint Jean, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guests,
Thank you for the very pleasant and comprehensive commentary that you have made on tripadvisor.
We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel, as you mentioned, is in the heart of the historical center of Troyes, surrounded by a large number of restaurants, brasseries, bars, and points of interest i.e churches, museums, and within walking distance.
The rooms are all different and tend from the smaller Standard size rooms to the larger Junior Suite Prestige rooms. For customers with mobility issues we do recommend the larger rooms.
Your recommendation and statement concerning the quality of the hotel in Troyes (No 1) its emplacement and professionalism of our staff will be passed onto them.
The breakfast is at 15 euros but we do try and offer one of quality before our customers leave and continue their trip.
We do look forward to seeing you again,
kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews