We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very disappointing return...remove the GaultMillau and Tripadvisor signs please”
Review of Le Bateau Ivre - CLOSED

Le Bateau Ivre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 15 - USD 34
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 November 2017

As enthusiastic as we were last year how very very disappointed we (4 persons) were this weekend.
Lousy service with a waitress who clearly didn't like working there at all and who put our dirty forks (full of sauce) after our starter back to use for them the main dish. Ravialo starter clearly heated in the microwave, a main course with overcooked fish and vegetables and another with a cold wagyu steak.... really everything this time was awful.
The owner only said afterwards 'désolé' when he was confronted whit the cold steak and that was it.
Last year the restaurant was full and this year half full... we now know why.
Get the Tripadvisor and Gault Millau plates off that wall now.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hans T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

This restaurant is faultless. The food is simple but done exceptionally well.

The manager / owner is beyond friendly to non English speakers.

A very good sign for any restaurant, it was full of locals.

Faultless meal and the price was exceptionally reasonable.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank MXKBrisbane75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Small restaurant, not many seats but very relaxed, we came here for lunch with quite a lot of daily special. Taste is great, simple and comfortable. Will definitely come again, may be for dinner next time

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Candy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

No nonsense restaurant with a very friendly service and good quality food. Very good value for money.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hans T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

We've just spent a wonderful evening at Le Bateau Ivre. The food was exceptional, with bonus of discussing the menu with the chef, as his small kitchen was open to the back section of the restaurant. It's a small restaurant, with lots of charm and character, staffed only by chef and host. Do visit, but check the times at the restaurant - Trip Advisor, the restaurant's website and restaurant said different things. Would visit again if we were to return to Reims.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank McKBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bateau Ivre also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing