We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to Celebrate Something Really Special”
Review of Royal Champagne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Champagne
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Celebrate Something Really Special”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in June, and used it as a base to explore the Epernay area during our driving holiday of the Champagne area. We wished we had stayed a day longer.

We were duly impressed even before we got out of the car.

The hotel and restaurant are expensive, however they should be! Let’s put it in perspective, we are in one of the most famous regions in Champagne at a hotel that has a truly magnificent history.

The rooms were very large and spacious, top notch bathroom, free WIFI and plenty of parking. Breathtaking views can be had from the rooms and restaurant.

We experienced nothing but second to none service in every aspect our entire stay. The restaurant was excellent. Definitely in our top 5 meals in France.

We felt it was a truly unique and authentic experience. A great place to celebrate something really special. In every aspect – amazing!

We booked through thier website - www.royalchampagne.com

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    60
    26
    28
    7
See reviews for
18
134
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grimentz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed for one night on the Thursday before Easter, so the hotel was quite quiet. We booked a half-board package which included a 4-course dinner and champagne breakfast. We received a warm welcome with complimentary champagne and our room was upgraded, which was beautifully decorated with a lovely view over the vineyards. Dinner was superb with friendly and attentive service and the breakfast buffet equally good. The hotel overall is of a high standard and ideally situated for exploring the champagne region.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the vineyards
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We were very disappointed by Royal Champagne and are unable to recommend it to anyone. We were staying in one of the rooms overlooking the valley which was lovely. It was spacious with a generous sized bed and a large shower and bath. Sadly the room was the only good part of our stay.
We felt that breakfast was very expensive for what it was and be warned to check your bill - we were charged for a champagne breakfast despite not drinking the champagne!
The main disappointment was however dinner. We booked a table for 7.30 and arrived 5 minutes before. The lounge was very busy and we were seated with a glass of champagne and a menu - so far so good. Unfortunately we were then forgotten. Everyone was seated and after 40 minutes we went to find someone to then be seated. We were the last to be seated in the main restaurant and were given the smallest table. We were then ignored again. No-one offered us water, bread, wine or took our order for another 20 minutes. When a waiter finally came over we ordered the tasting menu. It was about 5 courses which seemed about right. Sadly what we were given was approximately 10 courses and all were full size! It was a complete ordeal. The only highlights were the wine that was matched to each course and the pudding - a champagne souffle. We eventually finished our meal at 11.30 which was far too late after a long day sightseeing. All in all a very long, large and expensive meal.
When we next stay in Champagne we will choose a much smaller and friendlier hotel in either Epernay or Reims where we are not a captive audience for a ridiculous chef.
p.s. we reviewed this hotel through the hotel website and they promised the reivew would be placed on tripadvisor - no such luck!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CityBreak84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian in Paris
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Perched on a hillside in the minuscule village of Champillon, an hour and a half's drive from Paris, the Royal Champagne, with a spectacular view of the vineyards and the valley,was once a favorite halt for Napoleon and his entourage.Absorb the fascination for the medieval in the rich furnishings, ornamental woodwork, antique candlesticks and carved tables. The designers have imbued the hotel's 25 rooms with the nuances of an opulent French home. The entire property can even be rented out for special occasions. There's a guest car park and a cellar that stocks more than 200 wines. You need at least a weekend here to lose yourself on canopied, cushioned beds and bronze sunsets from private balconies.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the vineyards with private balconies are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

For travelers who want to experience the quintessential French "art de vivre" this is perhaps the place to be. It boasts a cozy atmosphere with individually decorated hotel rooms. Its lobby and restaurant are decorated with fabulous tapisteries of Arabesque motif. You are nestled right at the middle of the French gentry life. Staff at the hotel were very friendly, and helpful, and offered good advice on restaurants and sights around champagne. Out breakfast was a full feast.

This hotel is conveniently situated at Epernay which is less than 1/2 hour if drive from major houses and head quarter of Moet Chandons!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Epicurius_at_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epernay
5.7 km away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
5.4 km away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
5.7 km away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 km away
Chateau Les Crayeres
Chateau Les Crayeres
#1 of 69 in Reims
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
5.9 km away
La Villa Saint Pierre
La Villa Saint Pierre
#6 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
25.0 km away
Chateau D'Etoges
Chateau D'Etoges
#1 of 1 in Etoges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Champagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Champagne

Property: Royal Champagne
Address: Hameau | Hameau de Bellevue, 51160, Epernay, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Epernay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Epernay
Price range (per night): $271 - $349
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Champagne 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Land of Champagne and of the king of France has given its name to our Hotel, a historical and authentic house, surrounded by some of the most prestigious French vineyards. Your stay among us will be full of a thousand and one daily delights:champagne tasting, dinner in our gastronomic restaurant, visits to local champagne cellars, excursions to Reims and Epernay... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Champagne Hotel Epernay
Royal Champagne Épernay
Royal Champagne Hotel Épernay
Royal Champagne Epernay, France - Champagne-Ardenne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing