We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Stay, Recommend.........”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Chateaufort

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Tours, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
JOanne_P1...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay, Recommend.........”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We recently stayed at Chateaufort and had a wonderful, relaxing experience. The accommodations and the grounds were top notch. The chateau is gorgeous and conveniently located near other chateaus and villages. The chateau has been updated with all of the modern comforts and conveniences. Our en-suite room was spacious and beautifully decorated. We especially loved the plush cozy robes. Located at the outskirts of Langeais, just a short walk takes you to the center of town where there are many quaint shops and restaurants. John and Caroline, our hosts, were very attentive and accommodating. They prepared several delicious meals for us. They definitely know their way around the kitchen. Being Americans, the fact that they spoke English, was a big plus. Anyone visiting the Loire Valley should definitely consider Chateaufort.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelbug...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“managers ruined our trip!!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

It saddens me to post this review, but I feel that if this review can help others it's worth the trouble. To begin with, the chateau is lovely. The rooms are spacious, elegant and nicely furnished. The grounds are simply glorious. But unfortunately, the gentleman managing this property is rude, inexperienced and downright unpleasant. His wife is pleasant enough, but obviously not experienced in the hospitality industry. To begin with, we were shown to our room upstairs with no assistance whatsoever with our heavy luggage. Odd, but acceptable!! As we were the only guests, we were told we could use the kitchen facilities which at the time, seemed very convenient. At any rate, at no time did either of these managers explain to us which public rooms we could or could not use. Later that evening my husband and I decided to watch some television in a room adjacent to the kitchen, as there were no television facilities in the rooms. Whilst we were watching a program on T.V. the gentleman stormed in, told us off in a very abrupt and aggressive tone, informing us that we had no right to watch the television. Then to add insult to injury, he proceeded "to tell us off" about the type of plates we had used in the kitchen. Mon dieu!!!!! At any rate, we were so shaken about this event, we had a sleepness night worrying about having to stay in this hostile environment for the next 3 days. The following morning I confronted the manager in question, who did in all fairness offer his apologies. Hmm..it did not stop there, as each time my husband or I saw this gentleman, he ignored both of us, making us feel most uncomfortable and unwelcome. The other oddity was that the hot water was turned off every night, so one could not shower or bathe. Once again, we were not warned of this occurrence!! These managers successfully ruined our 3 day vacation with their unpleasant manner. If you decide to stay here, you have been warned!!!!!!!!!!

Rooms Location
Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor and we would like to apologise if your stay at Châteaufort B&B was less than you expected.

We did everything we could to meet your requests prior to arrival, which were a complimentary room upgrade (we allocated you a turret suite instead of a double room) and an early arrival at 2.30pm instead of the usual 5pm. John would have happily helped with your luggage when you arrived around 4pm, but he had had to go out shopping for breakfast things by then; although he did offer to help with luggage when you departed. As we are a B&B and not a hotel, we do not have a porter and my husband being out and the luggage seeming heavy, I did not feel able to assist. I'm very sorry about this.

There wasn't a problem with the white crockery being put in the dishwasher and we did indicate you should use this. It was just the antique blue/white plates, that you used instead from the display shelves, could not go in the dishwasher and we had to tell you this. We're sorry you felt you were being told off, but we needed to mention it to you and said not to worry that we would wash them by hand for you in the morning.

The hot water is never turned off when we have guests. We're concerned that you thought there was a problem but did not mention it as it would have been rectified immediately. It is working perfectly as we have been round and tested it in all the rooms and in fact recently upgraded the boilers and hot water systems throughout the chateau. We do wish you had mentioned it if you thought there was a problem at the time.

Commercial television licensing laws in France are very strict and we also have a deliberate policy of not having televisions for the peace and quiet of guests; however, rather than leave notices lying around about what can and can't be used, we switch off lights and close doors to non-public rooms. When we noticed you had opened up one of the rooms and were watching tv, we unfortunately by law had to ask you to stop, although we said you may keep using the room. We regret you thought you were being told off, but we are sadly at the mercy of sometimes unpalatable rules which we must raise from time to time. As a B&B and not a hotel, we are sorry that these rules came as a surprise to you.

All being said, we did enjoy chatting to you about your trip, various chateaux and restaurants and we are very glad you appreciated our beautiful chateau and grounds during your stay with us.

Best regards

John & Caroline Fox
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NealeMeag...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Chateaufort was a wonderful place to stay. The property itself is beautiful, situated just on the edge of the charming French village of Langeais. The rooms were large and beautifully furnished, the food was excellent and the grounds were pristine. John and Caroline were wonderful hosts and it was just a shame we couldn't have stayed longer. We certainly hope to come back one day as the whole experience at Chateaufort is one we will remember very fondly. Neale, Meredith and Catherine.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pt999999
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing luxury and comfort”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have travelled extensively in France and I can't recommend Chateaufort highly enough. We spent a long weekend there in Mid-August and we were all so impressed that i felt compelled to write this review.
LOCATION
Not far from Tours (therefore more accessible from the UK than many places further south but also I imagine better weather than Normandy), it is very easy to find with many local places of interest to visit. Unlike many Chateaux, although it enjoys wonderful grounds and an outstanding pool, it is within ten minutes walk of the beautiful historic village of Langelais.
CHATEAU
The Chateau itself is very well laid out, comfortable and luxurious with many gorgeous rooms where I can imagine a larger group having cocktails or a wonderful (20 seat) dinner. The rooms are large, tastefully decorated in French Chateau style with modern bathrooms. Overall, I think Chateaufort would be ideal for a wedding or other large family celebration. I would love to return in a big group and there are plenty of activities apart from the wonderful pool to fill more than a few days (archery, boules, table tennis).
FOOD
Perhaps the most surprising and impressive part of our stay was the food. Breakfast was wonderful, continental style in the breakfast dining room, with home made yoghurt and wonderful fruits and of course French bread and eggs and charcuterie. However, it was the two dinners we had at the Chateau which were the surprise: unlike many French Chateaux, where the gardien and his wife are on hand to cook very traditional country French food, the food at Chateaufort is easily comparable to the best restaurants in London, with many of the ingredients sourced from the Chateau's own vegetable garden, cooked in a thoroughly modern and fresh manner. If you visit, I urge you to spend some evenings sitting outside eating John and Caroline's amazing cooking.

Overall, a wonderful trip for couples, a group of friends or family. Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmine B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“grandeur with a personal touch”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I visited chateaufort April, 2013 with our 4 young children. Upon first approaching, we were amazed at the grandeur of the property. It sits on 22 acres of beautiful landscape and the building design looks like something in a fairy tale. The bedrooms and reception rooms are impeccably decorated with a mix of modern and traditional decor that really suits. It is the ideal way to experience French living.

We like to keep the children busy during the days and there was plenty to do. On the sunny days, the children played on the trampoline, a little archery and mostly exploring the vast number of nooks on the vast property. A short drive away are the Villandry gardens and a wonderful zoo. On the rainy days (there can be in April), we visited the Aquarium and did walking tours in the nearby historic chateaus. There was something to do around town every day of our two weeks there!

In the evenings, we enjoyed a mix of some elegant, Michelin starred restaurants and some casual family style restaurants. There is a large selection of shops and restaurants within walking distance from the chateau and a few, more elegant ones just a short drive away.

Of course, eating out is not really necessary when you have John and Caroline looking after you. John's cooking was top quality. John is a trained chef in his own right and home cooked meals here take on a whole new meaning. Both of them took wonderful care of our entire family - preparing breakfast, lunch, dinner as needed, keeping the place clean and well stocked and providing ad hoc tours of the area. We felt well looked after.

Overall, our 2 weeks here flew by and we have such great memories. There was something for everyone and every kind of weather. This is holiday destination that can't go wrong. We recommend it highly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing