We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful rustic cottage, with fantastic hosts.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Bergerie

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Loches, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
humpyhemp
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful rustic cottage, with fantastic hosts.”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a wonderful stay in the Loire in this wonderful little cottage, in no small part due to Stephanie, who was a wonderful host. We had a slight problem in the cottage when we arrived, due to a mouse dying and causing a bit of a smell (it is the countryside, what can you do!). As soon as we mentioned it Stephanie fixed the problem the very same day.

Highly recommend the cottage too, comfy beds, lots to do in the area, and amazingly peaceful surroundings.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben P
Walsall
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect relaxing stay”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My wife and I stayed at the La Bergerie with our 3 year old daughter and we had the most wonderful time.
The property is relaxing overlooking open fields and is set back enough so that you wouldn't even know the property was adjacent to the owners house. Modern inside but with a rustic feel this is the perfect way to relax. The garden was very large and our daughter loved to run and play on the swing set that is also on site.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ken W
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“French countryside and Stone Cottage - Beautiful and Restful”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Three of us stayed in the 3 bedrooms La Bergerie and loved the tranquility and character of the cottage and surroundings. The cottage facilities were good and was just 11km from Loches which is a very historic and interesting town (Royal Cite is a great visit - Dungeon a must see!).
The locals were most helpful, despite the language difference, and the location rural. Took us a while to get there - read the instructions carefully!
Unfortunately we had a change of schedule which meant only 2 nights instead of three and we were most disappointed in that.
Can recommend the facilities (WiFi was erratic) and the ambience of the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, facilities, character of cottage, relaxation
Liked least: Poor WiFi and only french speaking admittance to cottage (not host)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann F
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just the right place!”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This accommodation was, for me, just the right place. I was alone so could stay in the bedroom on the ground level with the kitchen and bathroom. The photos are just how I found it and was really clean. I liked that it was in the country southwest of Loches, the view out the door was wonderful,l and the privacy and quiet welcome. I found it easy to travel back roads to see the countryside but also get to sites in the Loire valley. I would stay again. Stephanie offers the option of using her bed and bath linens if you do not wish to bring your own and either cleaning or having her do it after you leave.. I wih it had a stove, but the cook top and microwave was all I really needed. Stephanie left me alne, but living down the hill was always available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The good size of the living, dining and kitchen area as well as the larger shower.
Liked least: I have difficulty walking and had to be careful on the stone floor when I walked. It just meant I had to be careful.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing