We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply stunning”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Stable

The Stable
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Stable
Heated swimming pool in terraced garden room Fully equipped Sienna oak kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The Stable
Heated swimming pool in terraced garden room
Fully equipped Sienna oak kitchen
Twin bedroom
Swimming pool and sun terrace
Swimming pool with view over countryside
Swimming pool
Sun terrace
The grounds
Table tennis under covered barn
Medieval Loches (twice weekly market)
Spacious dining room and kitchen
Dining room and wood burning stove
Lounge
Double bedroom
Downstairs shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Loches, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GooseDown
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

What a wonderful place! The cottage is clean and well equipped and the grounds are simply stunning. Angela and Derek are perfect hosts and made us feel completely at home. There is no shortage of nearby places to visit although it is very tempting to relax in or by the pool. Gites don't come any better than this.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catriona...
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful family retreat and base for exploring France”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were warmly welcomed and immmediately felt at home in our individually styled gîte which was equipped to a very high standard and had everything which we needed for our holiday. A nice touch was also having UK power points as well as French ones .The owners have invested years of labour and love into their gîte complex to create a stunning location for holidaying. Although we did not meet with the best of weather for July, there was no shortage of activities and destinations in the surrounding area to keep us entertained and we had a most enjoyable holiday. A godsend was the covered heated swimming pool which went down extremely well with the children and we were still able to enjoy outside BBQs. We would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charm and high standard of accommodation
Liked least: The weather- totally outwith anyone's control!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane F
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful cottage in lovely location”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is a beautiful, well equipped cottage in a lovely location. We had a warm welcome and wonderful hospitality from the owners. We have had many holidays in France but this was the best, there is so much to do and great places to visit yet the location is very peaceful and tranquil.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Perfect Paradise”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Yet another visit to a perfect paradise. Each time we have visited we think nothing could possibly have improved, but each time we are pleasantly surprised - the owners certainly do not rest on their laurels, they continually look for ways to enhance your holiday experience & succeed without fail.
As other guests commented during our visit 'the website photo's do not do them justice', they were overwhelmed by the welcome, facilities & cleanliness of the whole site - it seems like our little secret holiday destination is getting out to others!
No comments can speak highly enough of the job the owners have done & continue to do to make this a most enjoyable holiday destination.
As other reviews have mentioned this is an ideal location for either relaxing away from it all or using as a base for visiting local tourist destinations such as the areas châteaux, local markets & numerous pretty towns.
We will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
Thank you ~ we are so pleased that you, once again, enjoyed your holiday at La Vieille Ferme. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful hosts and excellent accomodation”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Stayed the last week in May with all my family. My son and his family had The Grange and my husband, daughter and I stayed in The Stable.Could not ask for a most wonderful peaceful week, as that is what was needed. Location was near a small town.
Our hosts, Derek and Angela were wonderful and kept the cottages and grounds beautiful, they gave us info on the local eateries -booking tables for us also, and French bank holiday details. Angela also let me keep the book I was reading, good supply of them and games..
All the cottages were very clean and fully equipted and loved the log-burners. The grandchildren and I used the pool every day.

Once again, thank you Derek & Angela for a lovey week, would definitly return.

Margaret & Tony Harris

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts & surroundings
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Thank you ~ we are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;