We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment. Great location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Nature & Chateaux

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Chinon, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
JandFEsse...
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment. Great location. ”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed here two nights (Sept 2017.) We parked right outside and were met by Agnes who made us very welcome and settled is in.

The apartments are very secure - a main locked door and then separate locked doors inside. They were also very quiet and clean.

The location is fantastic - right in the heart of Chinon. A short stroll to bars and restaurants. Right on the river. Lovely.

The apartments are very clean, modern and well equipped. Kitchen area had new oven, microwave, toaster, coffee machine and large fridge.

There were clothes washing facilities in the building (not in our apartment) but we didn't use these.

The room had a lovely power shower and very comfy bed. Nice size too. We stayed with our young baby and didn't feel cramped at all.

Carrefour is a short stroll away, as are caves for wine tasting!

We will definitely come back here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to someone else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catharine...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Close to all the action”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Chinon was the perfect base for touring the western portion of the Loire valley. We were two couples travelling together and sent four nights here. This building offers several apartments renovated to a high standard, we stayed in Gite Chenonceau.
When booking, I assumed I would be getting a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment as advertised; however, there was only one toilet. I would not recommend booking this apartment if there are more than four people in your party. We were also looking forward to doing some laundry after being on the road for some time – but the washing machine was not in the unit, but in the basement 4 flights down in a very dirty, dingy area. Wifi was available and worked fine, but the first thing my husband noticed was that there was no TV - which was fine for the rest of our party.
Discounting the above, the apartment was clean, comfortable, and well equipped. There was a small grocery store nearby where we picked up our breakfast supplies, as well as several bakeries (amazing pastries – calorie free as anything consumed outside of your home country has no calories!).
The apartment is located in a small quiet square within walking distance to all the major sites – use the free elevator to get to the castle, and apply online, with the tourist bureau for a Free tour with Chinon Greeters.
Parking was at a premium and difficult to find, we used the free lot at the Joan d’Arc square, an 8-10 minute walk away. On our first day, we took advantage of a free guided walk offered by Chinon Greeters – just book ahead, Sue accompanied us for 1.5hrs providing advice about restaurants and wine tasting venues. La Cave Voltaire is just down the street!
Lastly, the apartment is located on the third floor of the building and there is no elevator, so pack light – but think of all the exercise you will get – more room for all those pasteries.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron A
Level 2 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Modern apartment in a lovely old property”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed in Gite Chambord, a two roomed apartment in this refurbished old property. It combines an old-fashioned look (fireplaces and large windows) with a modern interior, cooker, dishwasher and sink in a central island, opposite a large fridge and cupboards and a very nice modern shower in the bedroom. There was plenty of room for two of us. There are laundry facilities in the basement. The Wifi was a bit intermittent. Also although there's free parking, the space is limited only allowing parking for about 6 cars, but we always found a space. We really enjoyed our stay in Chinon, the property is in the medieval part of town at the bottom of the castle next to a church. Chinon is a scenic old town, medieval streets, houses and churches, surrounded by vinyards and next to the beautiful River Vienne. I would recommend the wine tasting offered in the various wine caves around the town.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisC599...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Well equipped apartment in the heart of the old town. Surrounded by good restaurants and plenty of good sightseeing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny D
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet abode”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What a lovely quiet abode this was after Paris! We caught up on washing, made our own dinners and generally relaxed. Everything is walking distance, parking available close by.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing