We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb gite 5 minutes drive from Chinon”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bienvenue à la Genestine Cottage La Luzège the shared heated pool from the privat patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Bienvenue à la Genestine
Cottage La Luzège the shared heated pool from the privat patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chinon, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Mandy H
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb gite 5 minutes drive from Chinon”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The gites are beautiful, exceptionally clean and superbly equipped. The hosts are lovely and are make sure all is well. At the time we stayed, there was wide spread flooding in the area and the hosts arrived at the gite to check we were OK and that my 84yr old mother was coping. The area is quiet and beautiful, the gardens would be lovely to just relax in on a sunny day! The gites are very comfortable and have everything you may want on a holiday, there was good information on the local area. The welcome pack was great and included a bottle of wine and some delicious jam. Thank you Francoise, Martine and Laurent we hope to visit again soon and bring some sun with us!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and quietness
Liked least: Nothing, except the rain and that wasn't the hosts fault! The stairs in the one bedroom gite are very steep if anyone has a mobility problem.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Bonjour and thank you for your positive review ! sorry again for this bad weather during all your stay... but you had a unique environment with a "natural" swimming pool with water from the Vienne River ! Merci for your humour and your kindness and we hope to see you again in the future with your sweet mother.
Amitiés
Françoise, Martine et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Marvellous Genestine - a great Gite in the Loire”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in La Genestine, a delightful, comfortable cottage in Beaumont-en-Veron. Quiet, peaceful and extremely well appointed, the cottage has easy access to the charming village of Chinon, historic Chateaux and vineyards of the Loire. Bikes are provided and they are a definite bonus. Owners Françoise, Martine and Laurent are friendly, warm and very helpful. Stay here, you will not be disappointed!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
Bonjour dear Cate and David and merci for your report regarding our cottage la Genestine. We look forward to seeing you again and share another good moment with you. Amitiés from the Loire Valley
Françoise, Martine and Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryHonol...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Five star comfort in gorgeous, tranquil setting.”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Two weeks ago, my husband and I and another couple spent a most enjoyable week in the cottage Genestine just a five minute drive from the historic town of Chinon. I have rented other gites in France and must say, the Genestine exceeded the other gites in every way imaginable. First of all, the owners met us at the cottage with a basket of goodies that gave us a perfect beginning to our week. Imagine being welcomed with a fresh baguette, butter, home made artisinale jams, a bottle of delicious local wine, etc (I'm salivating at the memory of these culinary delights!) The thoughtful welcome basket negated the need for an immediate trip to the local market for provisions. As well as being very thoroughly- equipped, the cottage was absolutely immaculately clean. Our week there flew by with day trips to visit historic sites, then a return to our warm, comfortable home for a relaxing evening. It was a pleasure to enjoy the Spring flowers in the courtyard, watch the birds begin their family in their house in the front of the cottage, and have leisurely bike rides in the countryside.....bikes being part of the Genestine's amenities! We're already planning to make a return visit to this idyllic home and look forward to enjoying the warm, caring hospitality of the owners. Thank you again, Francoise, Martine and Laurent for making our week in your charming part of France so perfect!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Bonjour Mary,
We thank you very much for your report. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our cottage la Genestine and we are so glad we made you feel at home during your stay ! And you are right : it is really nice to discover the region in April. And, despite all the places that you have already visited, you still have things to discover around here, so we do hope to see you again in the future !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob L
Maidenhead
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful gite in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 26 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is an excellent gite with everything we needed for a very relaxing week, including bicycles, which are a great addition as the Loire a Velo path is only 100m away. The surrounding area is great to explore and there are two wonderful bakeries within a short cycle ride so fresh bread and pastries for breakfast was not a problem. The shared pool was a lovely distraction after a day exploring.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Bonjour to you
Thanks for your comment regarding la Genestine
It was a great pleasure to welcome you and we are happy to know that you still remember your holidays after 3 months ! We also remember you and your kindness !
Kind regards
Fran�oise Martine and Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rovers09
Preston
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just fabulous”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

On staying here previously we had felt that it was somewhere we'd like to revisit and that we'd like to go with my brother and sister-in-law as we thought they'd like it too. I confess I was slightly concerned when I found that it had changed hands - how wrong could I be. The previous owners had set high standards - the new owners have surpassed those. It has been an absolute delight to correspond with Francoise regarding arrangements and together with Laurent and Martine they could not have made us feel more welcome. It will be evident from reading other reviews that we are not alone in thinking that this was a lovely place to stay and with such thoughtful and charming hosts. My main worry is the number of people who are saying they're immediately re-booking - I can see that I had better start planning ahead! Thank you to the three Dutheils on behalf of all 4 of us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standards of everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Bonjour from sunny France and thank you so much for your nice report. Sorry to be so long in answering but the low season arrives and now we have more free time. Thank you too for you kindness and your confidence. We are pleased to know that the cottage suits you even if the cottage had changed hands ! I am sure and I hope that we will see you again !
Please take care and "salutations" and "amiti�" from the three Dutheils ! A bientot !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing