We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enchanting Home Away From Home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of LA MAISON MARISSOU

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Des livres au cas ou....
Un autre regard sur la Touraine
Le Barbecue pour profiter des beaux jours et de la boucherie du village...
Château d'Azay le Rideau entre autre
La Loire à Vélo ou à pieds !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chinon, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
DeirdreD1...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enchanting Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

La Maison Marissou was for us a little bit of paradise! Francoise, Martine, and Laurent (the only owner we did not have the pleasure to meet!) thought of everything we would need or want to make our stay a perfectly lovely time! From the delicious jams, the milk, butter, and bottle of wine in the fridge when we arrived to the very comfortable beds, the always hot water, the reliable internet, the beautiful yet comfortable decor, everything was marvelous!! The location is perfect - close to so many incredible sights - and yet is peaceful and quiet to return to every night. The boulangerie just down the road had delicious breads - and the best croissants ever! We also enjoyed grilling meats purchased from the boucherie down the road on the BBQ out back. The covered terrasse out back was a magical place to eat and view the stars. We felt so welcomed and comfortable here! Our only complaint was that our stay was much too short. ( Merci a Francoise et Martine pour votre assistance avec "mon francais" !! I wish I lived closer so I could practice more with you two - it was so much fun! )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: meeting the owners
Liked least: our stay was too short!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Dear Deirdre,
Thank you for your elogious comments. It was a pleasure to welcome you and we do hope to see you again for a longer stay in the Loire Valley. What can I say ? Your comment describes what we are yearning to achieve and what makes us tick day after day... we are pleased to know that you have fond memories of your stay in our cottage and the desire to come back to our gite La Maison Marissou.
We look forward to seeing you again and at this moment we will speak more french together !!! for this you HAVE to come back ! A bientot et merci encore pour votre gentillesse et votre confiance ! Amitiés de Chinon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The Perfect Holiday”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

La Maison Marrisou was the perfect place to spend our holiday. Situated in a sleepy village near the large, historical town of Chinon, the gîte proved to be an ideal jumping off point for our tour of the many attractions this part of the Loire Valley offers. A drive of only 15–30 minutes in any direction took us to enough activities and attractions to fill an entire week; our only regret was that we couldn’t visit for two. There is plenty to see and do within walking or cycling distance too, and just a little farther (a drive of under 2 hours) is the superb historical theme park, Puy Du Fou, which is unmatched by anything in the UK, and well worth a visit with or without children in tow.

Françoise and Martine provided a very friendly welcome and had provided for our every need. The three-floor gîte is extremely spacious; our party consisted of two adults and one child, but there would have been ample sleeping room for more. The living area, kitchen and two bathrooms are all are large, modern and well-appointed with every appliance or utensil we could possibly have needed. We visited during a heatwave, yet at no point was the temperature inside the gîte unbearable; indeed, walking into the ground-floor kitchen from the blistering heat of the outside felt like walking into an air-conditioned room.

Outside, the large, tiered garden afforded absolute privacy on all sides, and more than enough space for any activity we wanted to do. A separate structure connected to the rear of the gîte proved a necessary refuge from the heat, and—with electric lighting, a dining table and chairs alongside the structure’s built-in barbeque and chimney—was the ideal place to spend late evenings drinking the very good local wines and playing games.

Overall, a stunning visit, and one which we hope to repeat at some point in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every convenience of home had been provided for, in clean, spacious surroundings
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Bonjour from rainy Loire Valley !merci for your nice comment. We really appreciate the fact that you took the time to post about your stay, and in such a positive manner. We do hope to see you again in the near futur as we are certain that you did not see everything there is to see in and around Chinon! We will be waiting for your return and more than happy to welcome you again in the Loire Valley ! Françoise, Martine and Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPost75
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
1 review
“Excellent place to stay!”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were warmly welcomed by the owners to their very elegant holiday house where we enjoyed a lovely hot week in the Loire Valley. A nice garden to start and finish the day. All great tourist places in good driving distances. The village is a little sleepy, however enough on offer. Enjoying to see the locals play jeu de boules.

A great place to stay, thank you!

Fam. Post, Oosterhout, NL

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All was just good. Owners, rooms, garden, hot weather! Great week!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Bonjour dear family ! we really appreciate your comment regarding our cottage and the village of Huismes. We were very pleased to meet you after all our contacts via internet : we were not disappointed at all ! you and your family are very nice and maybe we will meet again next time...
Please take care and all the best for you and your family
Françoise, Martine et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacquelin...
cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage and gorgeous area”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is a lovely cottage set on 3 floors. It is tastefully furnished, comfortable and has everything you could want. The kitchen is well equipped with full sized utilities and a useful laundry area. There is plenty of cooking utensils and lovely crockery. It has big rooms with plenty of storage

The area is beautiful. Chinon is a lovely old town, with a lot of history. We visited all the local chateau's and we're all worth the visit as they all had their own unique stories and vistas.

We nearly didn't go to chateau de-Azey-le-Rideau as I had read that it had scaffolding around it. It mostly is but you still see what it is like as part of it isn't covered and the grounds are lovely. The town is well worth going to and very picturesque. We went on a Friday and a market set up in the afternoon. We had a lovely meal at the Relais de la salamandre which is a restaurant grill

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Bonsoir Jacqueline,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice comment. We are pleased to have answered your expectations, and even more! Maybe we will have the pleasure to welcome you on your next visit to the Loire Valley? thank you very much and please, give my regards to England
Your hosts
Françoise, Martine et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne D
Gosford, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely gite, a quaint village and a lovely part of the world.”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This lovely little house had everything we needed. It accommodated four of us very comfortably and had lovely outdoor spaces. The village has a great butcher and baker, bar and restaurant. The location is very central to many lovely chateaux and vineyards and Chinon is closeby (10 minutes drive) for more choice of restaurants and bars. Francoise could not have been more helpful and charming and we were only sorry that we didn't book to stay 2 weeks and not just one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, size and beautiful and tasteful decor.
Liked least: Stairs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to post about your stay at the La Maison Marissou. Your high rating and positive comments mean a lot to us. And you are right about Huismes ant its surroundings : it definitely deserves an extended stay. In which case, we will be more than happy to welcome you again at La Maison Marissou ! Merci encore !
Françoise, Martine et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing