We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Chinon, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
bristolst...
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We got lost on our way from Paris and ended up arriving two hours later than we had told our host. Despite the fact that she too was trying to go on a trip she was very gracious and understanding. We absolutely loved staying here. The house is amazing and ended up being the most memorable part of our trip. Thank you so much for a great experience. We really hope to be able to return one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
thanks a lot for your kindness. Allways welcome at th Maison Rouge!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AussieinA...
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in Chinon”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week at Christmas and it was wonderful! The host was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The house itself just beautiful; it was warm and comfortable, we really enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toilettdu...
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Four of us (two couples) stayed in this utterly charming holiday rental apartment for a week, while visiting the Loire Valley. It's in a genuinely historical fourteenth century building, above a wine bar in a picturesque Old Chinon street. Just across from the entrance, on the side of the building, is an ancient well where Joan of Arc allegedly descended from her horse, on her way to meet with the Dauphin of France. (The site of that meeting is in the Chinon chateau, overlooking the town.)

The gite is very spacious, and has been outfitted very comfortably, with ample linens, a compact but complete kitchen, television, Wifi, anything you might need during your stay. For other needs, there's a small Carrefour store within easy walking distance. There is an immense master bedroom, a good sized second bedroom with twin beds, and a day bed in the (large) living room. There is also a well organized book filled with information about the gite and the community, plus books and brochures covering the many places of interest within easy walking and driving distance.

There is no parking lot at the site, but Mme Richard provides a map showing where guests can park for free. She requested a deposit on reservation; then the balance was due on or before arrival, either in cash or through Paypal. This is the first time I've reserved a gite, and the process was simple and well organized.

The only caveat: This is a very old and historic building, and therefore has no elevator. Access to the gite is via a small, winding stairway (33 steps). Not the best choice for those with limited mobility, but, if you're able to climb stairs, it's well worth the extra effort!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting at the window of this beautiful old building, looking out on the medieval village.
Liked least: I can't think of a single thing I didn't love about this place.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carries52
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow - Charming, historical, beautiful, spotless”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Can't say enough about La Maison Rouge. The place is spectacular. Nathalie and Vincent are most gracious, kind and helpful. It is very much larger then the photos appear. Easily accessible and truly in the heart of Chinon. Would go back in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything, history of the house, the actual building, location, amenities
Liked least: there is a restaurant below, so if the windows are open, you can hear the noise and smell the food - not bad at all but if I had to pick a least like item, this is it
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2016
It was a real pleasure to meet you both! Thank you Carrie!
"I'm happy you enjoyed your stay! You're always welcome again ! Nathalie"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 24 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We really enjoyed our three nights in this property. The owners are very thoughtful and have furnished the property with everything you might need for a comfortable stay.
The property is beautiful and it really is a nice experience to say in such an old building.
Lots of nice eating and drinking options close by and an interesting chateau to visit.
We would recommend this accommodation to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beautiful old building
Liked least: no complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay in Chinon in the House Rouge.Thanks for your kindness and great care taken to the apartment.
Always welcome!
Kind regards
Nathalie and Vincent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing