We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chateau de Ranton

Aerial photo of Chateau with ramparts and moat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aerial photo of Chateau with ramparts and moat
Bridge to main entrance to Chateau Inside the main entrance leading to central garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Aerial photo of Chateau with ramparts and moat
Bridge to main entrance to Chateau
Inside the main entrance leading to central garden
Central garden with fountain
The Chateau gardens at night
Spring wisteria
Pool on ramparts
One of many ancient statues in gardens
Double room with en-suite shower room (the Well Room)
Double room in Rampart Wing
Double room in Renaissance Apartment
Twin room in Renaissance Apartment
Twin room with en-suite shower room
Shower room in Rampart Wing
Shower room in Renaissance Apartment
Open plan diner/sitting room in Rampart Wing
Dining area in Renaissance Apartment
Open plan diner/sitting room in Rampart Wing
Upstairs sitting area for Well Room
Sitting area for Renaissance Apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Chinon, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Nick S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Chateau de Ranton is an amazing. It's a kids and adults dream come true to live in an authentic French castle. The castle itself is steeped in history, with so much of it is on show and there to explore.

The owners of chateau de Ranton Peter and Paola were wonderful hosts. From the simple booking process, directions to the warm welcome and hospitality throughout the holiday. They were an endless source of information, sharing their intimate knowledge of the area, where to eat and what to do. They were just so helpful and kind.

Peter showed us around the castle, including the dry moat and the entire underground village! It was an amazing glimpse into the past.

I cannot recommend this place enough. The accommodation was lovely, the place immaculate and incredibly helpful and courteous hosts top off what was a quite lovely holiday.

I fully intend visiting again in the summer to see the castle grounds in full bloom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The chateau, warm welcome and hospitality. Wonderful
Liked least: Leaving :( Also the mobile phone signal isn't the best
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fjg22camb...
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful chateau in a lovely part of France”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely chateau, well appointed apartments with every care taken to meet all our needs. Very warm and thoughtful hosts who could not do enough to make our stay special. We were greeted with drinks and nibbles in the chateau garden and it all just kept getting better.
The chateau is very peaceful and we both could have just spent our time relaxing there however the teenagers needed exercising once in awhile (despite the pool, moat for football and a table tennis table.
There was plenty to do within a 40 minute drive. Can't wait to return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwicall
Surrey, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My special place to take special friends”
Reviewed 8 May 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I have stayed with Peter and Paola at Chateau de Ranton on several occasions now and am already looking forward to the next time. Their welcome on arrival is so warm and friendly. I feel like family. The tranquility of the chateau envelopes you so a few days feels like a week. Their ideas for where to go when you want to lift yourself out of relaxation mode are always on the mark - be it a wander around the nearby Fontevraud Abbey, exploring towns like Chinon or Saumur,a walk in the park at Richlieu, taking in the grand chateau as well as the lesser ones, marvelling at Leonardo Da Vinci's inventions, wine and cheese tasting, golf, ballooning.... I booked the beautiful, but homely, apartments at the Chateau for a Big Birthday and invited my closest friends to what is now my absolute favourite restaurant. Paola helped with all the bookings and made the week a stunning success. My friends were bathed in warm hospitality so the birthday week was extra special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the feeling of homeliness, the welcome, the tranquility, the hospitality
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iris B
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Heaven on earth"”
Reviewed 4 May 2013 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

….. that's what thought we'd found the first time we visited Ranton, and we think the same thing each time we return! And that basically says it all! With family and friends, in large groups or small, we always have a wonderful holiday, whatever the season or weather and for however long we stay. The beautiful surroundings, elegant yet comfortable accommodation, and the charming owners have made us slightly addicted to the place so we simply keep going back for more! Everyone enjoys themselves in Ranton - whether they spend the day "at home" or going out and about to discover the wonders of the Loire Valley, the châteaux, charming market towns, beautiful countryside, local wines and gastronomic delights. One thing we know for certain when we leave is that we'll be back - and from past experience Peter and Paola know it too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Difficult to say - we just liked it all!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 24 April 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving!!
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing