We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, nice charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Chartres
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I was impressed with the hotel the moment we walked in. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the bar and breakfast area was comfortable and clean, and our suite was perfect. The hotel is in a great location, they have nice meeting rooms and I just can't say enough about the great staff. When I inquired about laundry service the kindly informed me that they didn't offer that service, but one of the staff members did my laundry anyway... at no charge! (I left a very good tip). FYI - We selected the Hotel Chatelet for our group tour with 45 people, and everyone loved it. We're going back in April with another group of 45.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gahoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 129 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

This hotel is well located, clean, peaceful and has secured private parking. The price is OK and the staff very helpful. Thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank au1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We wanted to make a stop in Chartres to see the cathedral on our way back to a departure from CDG. The Chatelet is within sight of the cathedral and has secured parking in a rather gritty neighborhood near the Chartres train station. The hotel is clean but dingy and bed linens are quite shabby. There are no toiletries or in-room clock. There seem to be only non-functioning in-room safes in the Chatelet. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, yogurt, a selection of carbs - fresh breads and croissants and some very commercial cheese.

Re the cathedral - must see the fabulous windows!! The stone of the cathedral and the spectacular windows are in the process of being cleaned. Breathtaking!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shi Hu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

First off, there was a terrible photo that came up when I used Google maps street view. Please ignore it, this place has obviously had a complete makeover quite recently.
It is now very smart and comfortable. The location is great, right in the centre of Chartres. A short walk from the station and easy to navigate to by road. They have their own, locked parking, chargeable but not expensive and very welcome in a city centre.
Staff very helpful and knowledgeable, excellent ciy centre map proferred immediately on booking in.
Only complaint perhaps, the breakfast could be better. It stated 12 euros each when we booked but we were only charged 10, fortunately, because it was still a bit expensive for what it was. Campanile charge only 8 euros for all you can eat and a massive choice.
The room rate is not cheap but you are paying a bit for the location and if you are in the middle of a long drive and only have one or two nights you don't want to be stuck out in the 'burbs. Chartres is easy to get in and out of and well worth a stopover. They are in the middle of cleaning the cathedral, which will make it even more impressive, all that stained glass, wonderful!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view over the cathedral. Main road at the front but never seemed to get too busy o...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CESLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The Good: We ugraded to a Cathedral view, which was well worth the extra expense. How many times in your life do you get to see Chartres Cathedral from your room? The view of Chatres Cathedral from room 314 (and some other rooms) was incredible. We could watch the light show on the Cathedral from our bed. We could not have asked for a better view, even though the hotel is actually a few blocks away from the Cathedral. The view was stunning. The young woman who runs the hotel, Nathalie, was very helpful. The room itself was very average, but so was the cost of the room. This is not a fancy hotel, but quite nice.
The Bad: The room lights all went on and off at the same time. If you turned a light on, they all went on. If you turned a light off, they all went off. It was impossible to get low lighting. There were 2 little spotlights at the bed that did not work on the same switch, but they were very bright.
Also, the room safe did not work.

Room Tip: Ask for a good view of the Cathedral (room 314)
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mydogrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chartres hotels
0.4 km away
Best Western Grand Monarque
0.1 km away
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
Hotel Jehan de Beauce
#5 of 27 in Chartres
266 reviews
0.8 km away
Ibis Chartres Centre Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Mercure Chartres Centre Cathedrale
0.1 km away
Hotel des Poemes de Chartres
3.6 km away
Novotel Chartres
Novotel Chartres
#8 of 27 in Chartres
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale

Address: 6 & 8 Avenue Jehan de Beauce, 28000, Chartres, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chartres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chartres
Price Range: $116 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Timhotel Chartres Cathedrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatelet Hotel Chartres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing