We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checked in and checked out”
Review of Le Medicis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Medicis Hotel
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Blois
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Low tech and unplanned vacation. Arrived in Bloise, this hotel and restaurant highly recommended by locals. Found it, checked in. The room for $120E plus tax for one person, was musty, tiny, worn bedding and overall appearance, so not worth the money. Checked out immediately. Restaurant menu looks very gourmet, did not stay to find out.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sfeiten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed here last year as a stopover on route further south. We were originally going to stay 2 nights but our plans unavoidably changed so we had to cut short our stay which we had paid for in advance when we booked. The hotel reception assured us that a refund would not be a problem, but after countless phone calls (I speak fluent French) and emails for months we got absolutely nowhere. Our credit card company also failed spectacularly to get anything out of them either, to the point where it dragged on so long that eventually they said they could no longer pursue our case as it was time barred!!
We also got the lousy attic room. Utterly unimpressed.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MetalPixies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We were travelling through France and looking for an overnight stop and Michelin meal. This hotel seemed to tick the box, and from their web site looks rather luxurious. On arrival it looked a bit more Little Chef! The staff were friendly enough and despite arriving 2 hours late were more than happy to serve us in their restaurant. And wow, I am grateful they did.

The hotel room itself was functional, a good size bed, chair, desk all the normal things. The jacuzzi took a bit of experimentation to make it work, but there was some devent soap. The only small issue was a tiny loo in it's own little room. Very little room to turn around let alone swing the cat.

As for the food, we did arrive 2 hours late, they had a large party filling one whole room and we were in the second room. Yet the service was amazing and the food even better. A little worried we were to be presented with lots of microscopically enhanced science food, instead we received proper well made and presented grub. Whilst the menu was 'simple' it was perfectly made and immaculately served. The cheese 'board' contained more types that your average cheese shop. The pudding 'selection' extended to three plates, with 3 or 5 dishes on each plate, absolutely out of this world.

Whilst the hotel is fine, the food is amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We were relegated to the hot, cramped, attic 4-person chamber that I think is reserved for people that the hotel staff did not like very much - and the senior manager was quite noticeably rude to my husband who was being polite and friendly, while he enquired about dinner reservations for two that night, thus causing my two daughters to be very upset. We called ahead to our hotel in Chartres and asked to arrive a day early, cutting short our stay in Blois. Overall, we were unimpressed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna-of-vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

The location is a pleasant 10 minute walk from the center of town, and about 5 minutes walk from the train station. Parking is free (if you are using a GPS go one additional exit on the roundabout and the parking will be just on your right). The room we had reminded me of a cross between a generic European hotel room and a generic US motel/hotel room. It was clean and comfortable. There is no elevator, so plan to carry your luggage up the stairs if you are on the first floor (Europeans call the ground floor "0").
The restaurant was absolutely fantastic and very reasonably priced for the kind of meal served. They had no issues adjusting to the fact that I'm a vegetarian.
The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The Wi-Fi internet was free. Breakfast, like most French hotels, was severely overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dhikeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blois hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Blois Centre
0.6 km away
Best Western Blois Chateau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ibis Blois Centre Chateau
1.2 km away
Hotel Le Monarque
Hotel Le Monarque
#10 of 29 in Blois
198 reviews
1.8 km away
Mercure Blois Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Medicis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Medicis Hotel

Address: 2 allee Francois 1er | Route d'Angers, 41000, Blois, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Blois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Blois
Price Range: $113 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Medicis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Le Medicis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Medicis Blois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing