We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home From Home in the Loire”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Azay-le-Rideau, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Bench101
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home From Home in the Loire”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We loved the location; tranquil, but easy to get to the local shops and sights. We loved the house; lovingly restored, comfortable, grand, and oozing with character. It was brilliantly equipped with everything we could have asked for and more. In particular, the kids loved the pool and the huge garden.

Christine, the owner, was helpful, but discrete. Her attention to detail was second to none, making our stay easy and enjoyable.

Even better than the photos look.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucyandWi...
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Magical place, spectacular holiday”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had an unforgettable stay at La Grande Loge with its beautiful chestnut-shaded drive and huge well-tended garden. The weather was perfect all week and we made full use of the pool, which was a very good temperature.

The house is cool and spacious, well furnished and beautifully decorated. The kitchen had everything we needed, including two coffee machines (percolator and espresso), baking equipment, a 4-piece toaster, a wine cooler, a large electric oven with gas hob, fridge-freezer and dishwasher. Plenty of fridge/freezer space and lots of cupboards, cutlery, glasses and crockery. We ate outside on the long table every night, and watched the red squirrel scamper around the garden. It felt completely private, but Mme Touze was next door and always extremely helpful and charming, fixing a problem with the pool cover right away (on a Sunday morning!), encouraging us to use the fruit on the trees (cherry, walnut, quince and plum) and full of helpful advice when asked.

The house is laid out in a long line: loo, kitchen, sitting room, double bedroom with en-suite shower, double bedroom with an adjoining double through a connecting door, and a 3-bedded dormitory room on the end with an en-suite shower. There is a second small loo in the entrance hall and a large bathroom with two sinks, a shower, a deep bath, a washing-machine and a tumble dryer. For us - 2 families with 3 boys (14, 11 and 11) and a girl (13) - the arrangement worked perfectly. The beds were all very comfortable. There is a loo in the old chapel, which is used as a pool house with plenty of pool toys, loungers and towels. I understand for some people that the lack of en-suite loos was a problem, but it was fine for us.

Azay (20-minute walk or 5-minute drive) is extremely pretty and well placed. The supermarket was between the house and the town, so super-quick if you needed food. We went to markets in Langeais (Sunday) and Chinon (Thursday). We ate at the excellent Relais de Chateau in Azay one evening: the food was family-friendly and delicious. Visiting Azay le Rideau chateau at night was particularly magical (open until 11pm over the summer). We kayaked around the chateau as well, which was great fun.

But the thing we'll treasure most about our stay was the house itself. We only wish we could have stayed two weeks. Thank you Madame Touze for looking after us so beautifully, and for welcoming us with that delicious bottle of Cremant de Loire from the next-door vineyard. We hope to be able to return one day!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgp371
Shifnal
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming and well appointed house for the central Loire”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

An excellent location from which to explore the central Loire area and in particular the beautiful Chateaux, towns and villages, La Grande Loge delivers a great balance between charming historic character and modern convenience.
The house is nicely presented and provided everything we wanted, and the kind and friendly owner is close by if needed (and speaks good English). There is plenty of safe outdoor space and a lovely pool with toys, towels etc.
There are nearby shops for day to day needs and a walk/short drive into Azay provides an excellent range of restaurants and individual shops, as well as cycling and canoeing, and of course, a gorgeous chateau.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee G
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Dream house for anyone who wants to experience life in the heart of the gorgeous Loire Valley.”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My husband and I, along with our son, daughter-in-law and their two little girls spent a week at this wonderful home. We expected it to be nice, but were unprepared for it's charm, it's gorgeous park-like grounds, how perfectly comfortable it was for our family and the fabulous pool that's even nicer than the photos show it to be. Also, you can walk into town (the beautiful Azay-Le-Rideau) or stop by the local vintner to pick up a bottle of wine. We ate in most evenings, and appreciated the well-equipped kitchen and the lovely table in the back yard, set among fruit trees and flowers. There's an endless amount of things to do in the area, from visiting the local chateaux, to bike-riding on the beautifully flat roads. In addition, you can take the train to Paris--it takes about 2 hours.
I can't recommend this house strongly enough. It's a total treasure.
P.S. The house is also extremely well-priced. There are no extras to pay and the owner, Christine Touze, is generous and helpful in every possible way.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Thank you Renee, it was a very great pleasure to meet a so delicious family as yours.
Yes this house, having himself an history, as a great chance of being near to many castles of the Loire Valley. .and vineyards too !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camper574...
1 review
“Charming French country house in chateau country”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Magnificent combination of historic and modern, and perfect for families, this country house with its large grounds is bounded by the beautiful village of Azay-le-Rideau and its amazing chateau on one side and a fine winery on the other side of the property. Madame Touze could not be more gracious and made three generations of our family feel very welcome. Everything was at hand, from a fully equipped modern kitchen (with wine cooler!) to the delightful private pool to a playhouse and toys for our grandchildren. And so many things for all ages to see within a half-hour's drive. Memories were created here that will last a lifetime!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for this very nice review !
It was a real pleasure to receive a so kind family ... I am always very happy when adults and children feel good in my home !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing