We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Patisserie”
Review of Au Royal Chocolat

Au Royal Chocolat
Ranked #2 of 3 Dessert in Azay-le-Rideau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Reviewed 30 June 2018

A friend who lives locally recommended the Royal Chocolat to us so we had to try it. We were not disappointed. The staff were helpful and friendly; the hot chocolate was delicious and very generous in size and the coffee eclairs were fantastic. There was a good choice of cakes and home made chocolates beautifully displayed. We were disappointed to find the shop was closed when we went back for more prior to our return to the UK.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sunflower189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalchocolat, Propriétaire at Au Royal Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018
Google Translation

Nous sommes heureux que notre patisserie vous ait apporté du bonheur. Nous fermons régulièrement à cette époque de l'année, car nous avons du Personnel avec des enfants en bas âge, et il est ligitime qu'ils puissent prendre des vacances avec eux! (Nous sommes ouverts tout l'été 6 jours sur 7)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2018

wandered past by chance and the window display was stunning. Inside the staff were so friendly and accommodating even with minimal French input on our part. Cakes were delicious, even a simple croissant almonds. Macarons are .85Euro cents - makes Zumbo prices an even bigger joke than they already are. Each flavour better than the last. The sort of place you would love to be nearby and be able to pop into on a regular basis, because the staff are so lovely they would be sure to get to know you. Impressed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DuoRgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalchocolat, Propriétaire at Au Royal Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018
Google Translation

Merci, pour votre commentaire, et nous sommes ravis . Nous espérons vous laisser un bon souvenir d'Azay le rideau, dans l'attente d'une prochaine visite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

Lovely little Patesserie. Fantastic cakes and great chocolate. They also have a fantastic range of superb teas. Really nice.

Thank kenny385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We have been visiting this cake shop/tea room for many years now and the cakes never disappoint. This time we were there for lunch and had some very good quiche before the cakes. We also came back on another day for more to take away including some of their very good chocolates which we are enjoying after our return home. The window display is always stunning and the service is always friendly. I will look forward to next year's visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GaryW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalchocolat, Propriétaire at Au Royal Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017
Google Translation

Désolé de ne pouvoir répondre en Anglais, mais nos connaissances en Langues étrangères restent très succintes! Toutefois nous vous remercions de votre commentaire sur nos quiches, gateaux, chocolats. Nous espèrons vous revoir bientôt, et peut-être dans notre nouvelle boutique : Biscuithé afin d'y déguster des sablés, fondants...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

One of the great treats of our Azay visit. The shop window is a work of art, with a particularly appealing shelf of patisseries: we start at the left hand side and work our way across throughout the week. Nothing looks or tastes anything like this in England.
The staff are friendly and patient (it can take some time to decide) and always quietly amused by the English ladies who call in for their daily fix of 'cake'. And then they wrap it up for us in a delightful little box. Try this place, and join the cake junkies...

Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royalchocolat, Propriétaire at Au Royal Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016
Google Translation

Merci pour votre avis. Nous serons heureux de vous accueillir à nouveau dans notre patisserie, lors d'un prochain passage à Azay le Rideau.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Au Royal Chocolat also viewed

Azay-le-Rideau, Indre-et-Loire
Azay-le-Rideau, Indre-et-Loire
 
Azay-le-Rideau, Indre-et-Loire
Azay-le-Rideau, Indre-et-Loire
 
Azay-le-Rideau, Indre-et-Loire
Azay-le-Rideau, Indre-et-Loire
 

Been to Au Royal Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing