We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and quiet hotel”
Review of Hotel Le Thurot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Thurot
Ranked #32 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
Umina Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Friendly and quiet hotel”
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We booked the hotel based on TA reviews and were not disappointed. We stayed for 3 nights and found the room to be very comfortable and most importantly, very quiet. we had a room right next to reception at the back of the hotel -it was blissful for a great night's sleep!

The staff were friendly although we did have 1 young lady at Recpetion who struggled with English although she was ever so polite and friendly and tried her best to help us wheerever possible. You have to remmeber too that this is a very reasonably priced hotel and we believe it was very good value for money and most importantly, the bed very comfortable and the room always very clean.

We also enjoyed their European style cold breakfast buffet and felt that it was good value for money. Whilst it is 10 minutes from city centre it is an easy and pleasant walk. I don't believe that such a short walk is an issue as you tend to spend hours every day walking around the city toursist sites. In fact, being just a short walk away from the city centre and going back to a very quiet and peaceful local hotel every evening, was a real pleasure.

If arriving at Dijon by train then hotel is also very close to the train and bus station being only a 5minute walk up the hill from station.

There is an excellent quality Creperie cafe down the road only 2 minutes walk from the hotel heading towards the train station. You can be assured whether its a savoury or sweet crepe, you will leave the cafe a very contented person.The cafe atmosphere is also very French local as it was full on both Friday and Saturday evenings with local patrons which is also good recommendation as its off the beaten track from tourists.

Whenever visiting any city we head straight for the local tourist office which is located at the station. Another office is in the heart of the old town in the city centre. Wherever you go in Dijon CBD, it is a very easy and close walk to an attraction. We also took a local bus trip to Baune(recommedned by toursit office!). It was a wonderful day trip both from a scenic viewpoint(Baune is 45 minutes by a wandering local bus through villages etc.) and Baune itself is a lovely small town with a visit to the Hospice Museum/building worth the trip alone. And also ensure you use the local buse service from Dijon station as it is an incredibly cheap $1.20 Euro for the journey -amazing!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tigers2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    45
    25
    7
    1
See reviews for
22
36
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

This is a cute little and affordable hotel. It is only 10 min walking distance from the train station which was our priority when we chose this hotel but we did not realize it was quite far from the city center where all the attractions are. But it made up for it by having a bus stop very close to the hotel and right next to the bus station, is an automated bike rental station. During our stay we saw three different people at the reception desk and none of them spoke English.

Bed was comfy and the room was clean. There is even a safe in the room. The breakfast salon looked nice but we did not get the breakfast because it was a little expensive for us: 11 Euros per person.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neslicik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

This quiet little B&B is well-situated in Dijon with free parking. We were driving through Dijon on the way to the Riviera and stayed here. The place was clean and the people were friendly. The breakfast was good. It is a no frills B&B that is clean and comfortable at a great price.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasMom2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montesson, France
Level Contributor
350 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We booked the hotel on the basis of the recommendations on this site and we weren't disappointed. It's in a quiet area about 10 minutes walk from both the main train station and the city centre. The rooms are basic but clean. Breakfast is sufficient (at 7.5 euros a go don't expect a lavish buffet). The staff are attentive and welcoming. As somewhere for a great night's sleep and close to all the sites of Dijon, for a good price, this hotel takes some beating.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

What a fantastic hotel to lay one's weary head for the night. Quiet & clean.
Receptionist (Clarise) was superb...nothing was too much trouble & her English was excellent. Reasonable price with cheap breakfast ... what more do you want for one night ? Would stay again & recommend.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathybeeMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dijon hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Le Jacquemart
Hotel Le Jacquemart
#23 of 59 in Dijon
282 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Montigny
Hotel Montigny
#20 of 59 in Dijon
186 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Montchapet
Hotel Montchapet
#22 of 59 in Dijon
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Victor Hugo
Hotel Victor Hugo
#19 of 59 in Dijon
198 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Le Chambellan
Hotel Le Chambellan
#39 of 59 in Dijon
149 reviews
0.8 km away
B&B Hotel Dijon Centre
B&B Hotel Dijon Centre
#26 of 59 in Dijon
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Thurot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Thurot

Property: Hotel Le Thurot
Address: 4 Passage Thurot, 21000, Dijon, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Dijon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 59 Hotels in Dijon
Price range (per night): $79 - $114
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Thurot 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel Le Thurot, situated 10 minutes from the city-center and 5 from the train station on foot, is your ideal starting point to visit Dijon and the villages around. To assure you a pleasant stay, this 2-stars hotel propose you comfortables and air-conditioned guest rooms with a privative bathroom, the telephone as well as a flat-screen television with Canal+ and BeIN Sport. You can also leave your car in the secured hotel’s parking lot (5€/day) to explore the historic center, the museums and the churches without any difficulties. If you want to go farther, you will find public transport stop not far from the hotel which will lead you around Dijon, to villages next to Dijon and in tourist places of Côte d’Or. If you have a question or need some advice don’t hesitate, we will be pleased to answer you (we speak french and englsh) ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Thurot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurot Hotel Dijon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing