We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Retreat in the Heart of Burgundy”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cuverie de Citeaux

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Beaune, Cote d'Or, Bourgogne-Franche-Comte

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
GrammyB99
Wailea, Hawaii
1 review
“Beautiful Retreat in the Heart of Burgundy”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Cuverie is located just outside of Beaune in the beautiful countryside of Burgundy. The location is private and peaceful even though there are shops and restaurants nearby in the village. We were excited at the prospect of staying at the Cuverie but the reality exceed our expectations. This spacious property has been fitted with all modern conveniences but the historic character has been left intact. The swimming pool and grounds have been meticulously maintained. The four bedrooms and bathrooms have high-end linens and the kitchen is well-equipped for self-catering. The owner was very helpful in suggesting local points-of-interest, restaurants and helped us hire a professional chef who cooked for us twice during our stay (5-star meals!). With the Cuverie as our base, we were able to explore Beaune (just minutes away), sample wines at local tasting rooms and chateaux, and pretend we were living like natives in the French countryside.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Merci . Nous sommes heureux que vous ayiez passé de bonnes vacances.
À bientôt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl n
2 reviews
“Terrific House in Burgundy”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a terrific house--lots of space, very well-maintained, lovely pool, and great character. We loved being in Savigny, which is a very small and quaint village less than ten minutes from Beaune. We only wished we had longer to stay (we stayed for only 2 nights), and certainly hope to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great home for the value
Liked least: It's slightly out of the way, but that was what we were looking for
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh19572...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing in Luxury”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Make no mistake - this property will not disappoint. Conveniently located within the charming village of Savigny-les-Beaune, the magnificently appointed 18th century villa boasts everything that the discerning traveller could require - including an expansive authentic subterrainian cellar amply provisioned with premium local wines available to guests. Not only is the villa spacious and impeccably presented, it hosts state-of-art facilities including every imaginable electronic kitchen, audio and television devices. There is even a double-sided wood fire evoking the home's more ancient history when demanded by the season. All creature comforts are attended to, largely as a result of the welcoming attentiveness of the mansion's owners for whom nothing is too much trouble. If you happen to be looking for some luxury accommodation deep in heart of the most prestigious wine-producing region in the world, Cuverie de Citeaux should be your choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
thank you for your review.
we hope to wellcome you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alkm68
Dothan, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top-notch stay in charming Savigny-les-Beaune”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Cuverie de Citeaux was the perfect accommodation for our group of four couples. We each had our own bedroom and bathroom. All of the bedrooms and bathrooms were spacious, as were the common areas. Each bathroom has a shower, which is a must for us when traveling.

The house is situated in the middle of the village. Within steps of the front gate, there is a bakery to the left, a small market to the right and a butcher across the street. There was also a wine shop around the corner. You could get anything you needed within minutes.

A local lady named Josette cooked for us two nights. We especially enjoyed having dinner down in the cellar, which was lit with beautiful candelabras, and made for a romantic and special evening. She doesn't speak English, but we were able to communicate well enough. It was nice to have authentic French food prepared for us without leaving the house. There is also a selection of local wines in the cellar, which was very convenient if we needed another bottle!

Our only regret is that we didn't get to spend more time in the village itself. It is quiet and charming. There are quite a few winemakers in the village, though we didn't do any tastings there because we had others planned in the surrounding area. The Chateau de Savigny is a must-see - such a beautiful home and property, which also has a nice selection of old planes and cars for viewing. It is a five-minute walk from the house.

We very much enjoyed visiting Beaune. We did the tour and tasting at Joseph Drouhin, which I highly recommend. Wonderful wine and history here! There are so many charming shops and restaurants, plus the Hospices de Beaune and beautiful churches.

Another recommendation is taking a bike ride through the vineyards. We used Bourgogne Randonnees and Cedric was our guide. We rode from Beaune to Puligny and back, with a couple of tastings and lunch along the way. A wonderful way to experience the beautiful French countryside!

Whether traveling with friends or family, the Cuverie de Citeaux is ideal. Jean Pierre (the proprietor's brother) is just down the street if you need anything. The wi-fi also worked very well, which is nice when you need to contact family back home. All in all, we would highly recommend staying here when visiting Burgundy. Tres belle! Merci, Marie Anne et Jean Pierre!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Thank you very much for your review.
WE hope sincerly to Wellcome you again.
See you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Sep 2015
Concerning the swimming pool, we agree and we thought that the sun would warm it more. So We decided to settle in October, 2015 a HEAT PUMP.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing