We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect holiday.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Avallon, Yonne, Bourgogne-Franche-Comte

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Louise M
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect holiday.”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I are expecting our first child later this year and wanted a peaceful secluded holiday in France for a week, and we are so lucky we came across this little piece of heaven! The pool and large gardens are absolutely beautiful, with everything you could need in the local area. Right in the heart of the French countryside, you couldn't ask for a better location. The house itself is gorgeous, the perfect place to relax, cook and eat! The hosts David & Claude were wonderful and couldn't do enough for us. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone looking for a getaway in France and we will 100% be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gem_Tom_0...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate, just book...”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

...before somebody else does! This property has only recently been opened to guests, but no doubt it will become very popular. Everything has been renovated to a very high standard. The owner, David, has carried out all of the work himself, and it is clear that a lot of care and passion has gone into it.

The house is situated at the back of the owners' property, so they are around to help with any problems, but otherwise will leave you in peace to enjoy the large gardens, which include an unheated swimming pool and a large pond full of koi carp and frogs. The fields next to the cottage are full of cows, owned by the farmer next door. The owners' friendly labrador, Max, will occasionally come and say hi, and we had great fun playing with him. David and his wife Claude are the perfect hosts, extremely generous and charming, even inviting us for an aperitif one evening.

Inside the property, the kitchen in particular is very tastefully decorated, with a good oven, coffee machine, dishwasher, etc – pretty much all you might need. The cutlery and crockery are of a high standard and in excellent condition. When it's too cold to eat outside, the antique oak table is a delightful setting for meals. We particularly enjoyed the small window out to the front of the property, with picturesque views across a long distance – we even spotted the TGV speeding past a few miles away!

The other rooms in the house are also lovely, furnished mostly with antique pieces and with an abundance of lamps and mirrors. There is WiFi and a television in the lounge.

The Little Charm is in a great location, a tiny hamlet in the countryside. However, it's only a few minutes' drive from the charming village of Rouvray, which has an excellent boulangerie that we visited most mornings, and Epoisses, home of the very smelly, but delicious local cheese of the same name – we bought it straight from the fromagerie! The vineyards of Burgundy and Chablis are not too far away, and the property is situated on the edge of the gorgeous and wild Morvan national park.

It’s hard to find any negatives with our experience – we can’t recommend The Little Charm highly enough, and would even consider returning, something that we never normally do with holiday properties!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrett14
1 review
“Charming rental & charming people”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were delighted with our week's stay at The Little Charm. The welcome was very friendly, the house adorable, very comfortable, fully equipped and the grounds absolutely beautiful. We were able to enjoy a private pool a few meters from our doorstep, fresh croissants & baguette brought to us by the hosts in the morning upon request and a lovely and calm setting where we could relax as a family. The hosts were extremely helpful and did a remarkeable job on this property. Everything went beautifully well and the children were very sorry to have to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: La maison, la piscine, le jardin, les hôtes
Liked least: Pas grand chose, tout etait bien
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Passenger...
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2018
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melmoth79
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: l'originalité de la décoration intérieure comme extérieure
Travelling group: Avec mes amis
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing