We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Domaine Borgnat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Domaine Borgnat
Ranked #4 of 20 Auxerre B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

I would really like to hate or love this place but neither is possible because of the experience made. I booked it because of some positive reviews and due to a lack of choice in the area.
Good things first: Really nice rural location at an ancient farmhouse. Very friendly welcome and a tasting of the produced wines. Excellent dinner at reasonable cost.
Not so good: The owners do the B&B on the side which results in missing keys and waiting time for almost every question/issue you have and leaves an unproffessional impression. The bed sheets seemed to be fresh but still had lots of hair (animal hair?) on it and didn't seem to as fresh as I would have like them to be. At 2am people started moving in and this went on for 1,5hrs. LUckily for us we planned a very early departure anyway and just took the opportunity to leave even earlier. But paying a room for 4 hours of sleep?
It took me a while to make my mind up but it appears to me that the B&B is just a side business to get more buyers in for their wine. This is a brilliant idea but the execution leaves room for improvement.
Am I too fussy? Probably, that's why I will recommend this place as I like the idea but if you're also a bit fussy go somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    49
    17
    12
    9
See reviews for
27
81
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

This guest house is gorgeous. The Borgnat family are very friendly and all the rooms are named after different female family members. We stayed in Chambre Eglatine. The rooms are individually decorated and every room in the house is bursting with character. There's a car park at the back entrance. There is also a pool which is a little tired looking but very clean.

Having recently taken an interest in Wine, this was the perfect place to stay. You're free to walk around the many vineyards (if you can find them), I say that because there are 700 hectares which are spread over the hills surrounding the guest house. You also have the option of driving to Chablis which was a 25 minute drive. The location of this place is very remote, but if like me you live in a city it's the perfect escape

There's a daily tour of the wine cellar, which is located directly beneath the guest house. Afterwards you get to taste the many wines the Borgnat family produce, this is also your chance to purchase some of the wine all of which is very reasonable.
They are one of the only vineyards in the region that produce White, Rose and Red wine.

The borgnat family have been running this vineyard for 8 generations and the story of how the family came to own it is very interesting, and something you find out on the tour on the cellar.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jullesheld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

Great welcome, nice room, great food.
The b&b is inside a working winery.
And very affordable.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeromedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimswerd
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

We were 'chez Borgnat' several times now and always love to come back. The familiy is very friendly. Last time we arrived late in the evening. Mrs Borgnat gave us a warm welcome with a glass of wine and a piece of homemade plumcake to take to our room. The meals are always good and it is nice to meet people from all over the world at the (big) dinnertable.
The B&B stands in the middle of a small village in Bourgondy, surrounded by vinyards. The nearby town Auxerre is great, especially the restaurant in the former cinema 'chez Joseph'.

Don't miss the winetasting at the end of the afternoon when you visit Domaine Borgnat!

  • Liked — The food, wine, rooms, surroundings, atmosphere: Everything!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ElineHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2006

my husband and his friend were visiting the area to watch a football game, not taking into consideration the weather (which was appalling; torrential rain) and return public transport to return to paris after game was played. i telephoned the properietor and secured them a night's accommodation. the hotelier kindly gave instructions on how to get to his hotel over the phone, did not take credit card details and was very accommodating with their arrival (left instructions on how to get to their room). my only complaint is that my husband did not purchase bottle wine for me from the area. the room was clean and ideal for them.

  • Liked — trust of the proprietor
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — n/a
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluejohncharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auxerre hotels
11.3 km away
Mercure Auxerre
Mercure Auxerre
#1 of 4 in Appoigny
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
#1 of 22 in Auxerre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
4.9 km away
Le Parc des Marechaux
Le Parc des Marechaux
#4 of 22 in Auxerre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Ibis Auxerre Centre
Ibis Auxerre Centre
#2 of 22 in Auxerre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
7.4 km away
Moulin de la Coudre
Moulin de la Coudre
#1 of 3 in Venoy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
6.9 km away
Ibis Styles Auxerre Nord
Ibis Styles Auxerre Nord
#9 of 22 in Auxerre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Borgnat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Borgnat

Property: Domaine Borgnat
Address: 1 Rue de L'Eglise, 89290, Auxerre, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Auxerre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Auxerre
Price range (per night): $97 - $224
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Domaine Borgnat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing