We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and a convenient location”
Review of Hotel Le Maxime

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Maxime
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Auxerre
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The hotel has a convenient location by the river, from where it is a short uphill walk into the city centre. Our room faced the old city and was quiet and rather small, but those on the other side of the building face the river and suffer from traffic noise. The car park is safe and easier to use than some have suggested. The staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northern_fellwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Maxime
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

Located across the street from the waterfront, with a bar that has seating on the water, this is a good place to view the beauty of Auxerre at night. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and comfortable speaking English. Our room was pleasant and clean. We did not
select the breakfast, as we preferred walking to the city centre for a coffee and pastry.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retiredcanadian_wpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Spent one night here prior to picking a boat to cruise canals for 4 days. Older hotel but recently refurbished & overlooking the Yonne river. Spacious room with 2 seperate bedrooms & seperate living room. Ideal for families and/or couples sharing. Balcony overlooking the river. Clean & comfortable. Very helpful staff. Free Wi-Fi & parking (limited number of stalls at rear). Did not have breakfast at hotel as pricey.

Room Tip: Parking is limited.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The staff at Le Maxime are one of the friendliest hotel staff's I have encountered in a while. A special thank you goes to Corinne. I had a question after I came home and she took the time to email. I arrived at the hotel before check-in, she took my bag, showed me the bathroom to freshen up and gave me a map and other information before I set out. The hotel is located across from the water about a 5-10 minute walk into the old town. There are a few restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. The rooms are very spacious and clean with a comfortable bed. What else can you ask for?

On the day I was leaving, the hotel called a cab to meet me at the car rental drop off. I was running late and the hotel made sure the cab would be still waiting for me. Given I had a car this was a great location as you could park your car at the hotel as soon as you drove into town and just leave it there. I would stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Auxerre. Parking was 8 euros.

Room Tip: Your choices are either overlooking the parking lot or the water. The street in front is busy, howe...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tikkadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Le Maxime is a traditional hotel in the best sense of the word. The staff knows the meaning of the word "hospitality"--they did their best to make our stay delightful (Merci, Nadege!) We had different rooms for stays a week apart, and both were very clean and quiet, well equipped and comfortable. The bar/salon was welcoming, with a computer readily available; the parking facilities are excellent; the breakfast room is charming and the breakfast very satisfactory. Auxerre was so charming, as was the hotel, that we cut short a stay elsewhere to come back. We'll definitely go back to Le Maxime.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view, just because it's prettier than the courtyard view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesTexans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auxerre hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
Hotel Normandie Auxerre
#1 of 21 in Auxerre
346 reviews
0.9 km away
Le Parc des Marechaux
Le Parc des Marechaux
#4 of 21 in Auxerre
254 reviews
0.4 km away
Ibis Auxerre Centre
Ibis Auxerre Centre
#3 of 21 in Auxerre
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Mercure Auxerre
Mercure Auxerre
#1 of 3 in Appoigny
394 reviews
0.5 km away
Le Seignelay
Le Seignelay
#18 of 21 in Auxerre
82 reviews
2.0 km away
Ibis Styles Auxerre Nord
Ibis Styles Auxerre Nord
#5 of 21 in Auxerre
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Auxerre

Been to Hotel Le Maxime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Maxime

Address: 2 quai de la Marine, 89000, Auxerre, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Auxerre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Auxerre
Price Range: $127 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Maxime 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Maxime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Maxime Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing