We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cute little restaurant”
Review of Le 2 rue des Dames

Le 2 rue des Dames
Ranked #4 of 843 Restaurants in Rennes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 15 - USD 29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Cathédrale
Description: At 12 o'clock, we have a menu of the day that changes every day. With to two starters, two main dishes and two desserts. Everything is fresh , local and seasonal. (13 ou 17 euros) In the evening we have a 25 euros menu with a choice of three starters, three dishes , three desserts. We have no freezer , everything is fresh !
Reviewed 20 April 2017

A cute restaurant in the old streets of Rennes. My wife and I went to try this restaurant for her birthday. It was very nice. The staff was kind, the food was good, fresh, and really good looking.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jurnalist2014, Directeur général at Le 2 rue des Dames, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017

Thank you very much William.
See you soon.

Julien & Gabriel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

On one of my regular visits to Rennes and a browse to see where I could eat on an evening led me to Le 2. Turns out that the friends I was arranging to meet for dinner had the same idea. So off we went. A new restaurant run by two brothers giving a new spin on quality French cooking - at what I would say are reasonable prices. Did not disappoint. Lovely simple venue with personal informed service. We choose from the Fixed Price Menu that offers an interesting selection of dishes. 3 courses at 25€, with 3 options per course including chef's specials. Interesting dishes with different takes on traditional options. I like interesting and would recommend you give it a go. May not always work but give the chef a chance. Two of dishes were ace while the starter took me by surprise and, for me, did not work. But I saw what the chef was trying to do and no regrets about the choice. My companions' choices were good too although we all had the same entree. With same view. Wine selection was spot on and nice ambience. Would have gone back the next day to sample the other dishes if a plane home had not beckoned. Will be back on my next visit to Rennes. Recommend that you visit too either to support the restaurant or get there early so you can you were there at the start. Destined to go upwards and onwards!!

1  Thank elrahd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jurnalist2014, Directeur général at Le 2 rue des Dames, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

A BIG thank you !
See you ;)

Julien.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

My wife and I went to this gem of a place in Rennes twice for dinner. It’s efficiently run by two young, energetic brothers. One manages the pots, the other the patrons. Both do an outstanding job, running an efficient, lean operation very successfully. The menu was prix fixe, with three choices each of appetizer, main dish, and dessert. It is based on fresh, local ingredients, and thus changes periodically. Dishes are creative and delicious, the ingredients fresh, and service is prompt and very courteous. It's a fairly small, cozy place, very clean, nicely decorated with vintage knick-knacks. Prices are very reasonable. Reservations are needed to ensure availability. Very highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SEDY2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jurnalist2014, Directeur général at Le 2 rue des Dames, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Thank you very much for your nice words.
If you are Sergio : "Muchisimas gracias a ustedes".

A bientôt lors de votre prochaine visite.

See u ;)

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Beautiful, small, intimate restaurant in the heart of Rennes! Very tastefully decorated, in a cosy shabby chic style. Came here with my family for dinner on Friday night, celebrating my sister's birthday in advance and we had a great time! For food, we picked the standard 25e menu which comes with starter, main and dessert. We sampled the mackerel paste/paste and the gazpacho. Both equally beautifully served and very tasty. The mackerel paste comes with small toasties, which unfortunately were very very hard and not that tasty. However, the restaurant offers a complimentary basket of breads which were perfect for the mackerel. For mains, we tried the beef, fish and chicken. Food envy all around the table, as everything was incredibly delicious and left us wanting more. Lastly, dessert came around and we tried the chocolate fondue and the chef's inspiration, with chocolate and strawberries. All in all, with a nice bottle of wine, water and pre-dinner drinks, our dinner came to 150e for 4 people.

Would definitely recommend booking a table in advance, especially since there are only about 9 tables in the restaurant and I saw people being turned away.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cristina213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jurnalist2014, Directeur général at Le 2 rue des Dames, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Thank you very much Cristina.
Hope to see you again ;)

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Creuse35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le 2 rue des Dames also viewed

Rennes, Ille-et-Vilaine
Rennes, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Rennes, Ille-et-Vilaine
Saint-Gregoire, Rennes
 
Rennes, Ille-et-Vilaine
Rennes, Ille-et-Vilaine
 

Been to Le 2 rue des Dames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing