We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome vegetarian food”
Review of L'Ame des Poetes

L'Ame des Poetes
Ranked #11 of 141 Restaurants in Le Puy-en-Velay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 14 - USD 32
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We were able to have great vegetarian food in a very nice ambience. The servings were good amount and the food was of excellent quality. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dj3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

We are here on a freezing evening so enjoyed the cosy interior rather than the garden. While small, the inside had a good vibe and the service was great. The food was even better. I am not a vegetarian but didn't miss my steak one iota. A great meal and would return any time.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We went there because we had a vegetarian guest, but we seem to bother the staff from their smoking in the back of the garden. It was expensive for small portions. The food was okay but nothing exceptional.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

We were going to visit the cathedral at Le Puy en Velay, and we wanted a light, slightly late, lunch.

Right next to the cathedral steps, tucked away in a neat and quite picturesque courtyard, was this restaurant.

It was completely empty, and had a very short list of vegetarian dishes, two entrées, two mains and two desserts. We almost walked out, but we were hungry, so we stayed.

Just as well we did, as our two entrées and two desserts (we skipped the mains) were just excellent.

We both had the Salade Gourmet (€10) which featured pan fried sliced of eggplant topped with blue cheese, on a fresh and zingy salad with champignons and small tomatoes. It was was a taste sensation.

We each had different desserts (€7 each). I won't bore you with the details, they were too complex, but they were beautifully presented on the plate, and were sensational - fantastic value for money.

If you are visiting Le Puy on Velay, search this place out, you won't be disappointed

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Right at the base of the Notre-Dame-du-Puy Cathedral sits this beautiful restaurant where eating outdoors is a feast on a warm summer evening.
They are famous for their lentils recipes. I had the lentil lasagne as main course which was excellent. The housewine Rose matched very well. The service was very friendly and timely. Price / quality very good.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark-Almere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Ame des Poetes also viewed

Le Puy-en-Velay, Haute-Loire
Le Puy-en-Velay, Haute-Loire
 
Le Puy-en-Velay, Haute-Loire
Le Puy-en-Velay, Haute-Loire
 
Le Puy-en-Velay, Haute-Loire
Le Puy-en-Velay, Haute-Loire
 

Been to L'Ame des Poetes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing