We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Such a fabulous place”
other travellers have booked this property
The living space of la Cuisine de Alice au Maine seen from the bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The living space of la Cuisine de Alice au Maine seen from the bedroom
View of La Chartreuse du Maine from the pool in Fall La Cuisine d'Alice, holiday home in la Chartreuse du Maine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The living space of la Cuisine de Alice au Maine seen from the bedroom
View of La Chartreuse du Maine from the pool in Fall
La Cuisine d'Alice, holiday home in la Chartreuse du Maine
La Chartreuse du Maine near Sarlat
La Cuisine d'Alice living space
The kitchen area
View of the bedroom from the living room
Romantic master bedroom: from your bed you can see the burning fire in the living area!
Romantic en suite full bathroom
Ensuite bathroom
Paths of Roses in La Chartreuse du Maine vegetable garden in June
Please help yourself with herbs in Le Maine vegetable garden
Away from it all swimming pool
View from the terrace of the Chartreuse
What about a bike ride this morning? Bicycles are waiting for you in the courtyard
General view of La Chartreuse du Maine
Cubjac, typical stone village near Sarlat in Dordogne
The Perigueux market of local produce in front of the 4th-17th C. cathedral
The Fortress of Beynac like in a fairy tale
Majestic Renaissance style Chateau de Losse overlooking the Vezere River
La Roque-Gageac: here enjoy a boat trip on the Dordogne River
Wandering around Saint-Amand-de-Coly abbey at sunset
Strolling in Beynac, one of the countless stone villages of Dordogne
In Dordogne, every turn of the roads has got a wonderful surprise for you!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Perigueux, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Susan M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Such a fabulous place”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is our second stay, it delighted us first time around and I'm pleased to say it really has not lost its charm. It is a beautiful location, this time we made more of the the facilities in the barn, especially the large open log fire in the evenings, with locally bought extremely good red wine, heaven. There is a good choice of restaurants but this time we tried utilising the supermarket which stocked an excellent selection of food, so we ate mainly in the barn which didn't seem like hard work- all in all if you are looking for a a holiday location where you can really relax and unwide then we would recommend La Cuisine d'Alice au Maine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Previuosly we had commented about the pillows - these have been changed. So fab
Liked least: There is absolutely nothing we would change
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
Thank you so much, Susan, for this “fabulous place”!
We are more than happy you enjoyed your second visit in Spring so much, as much as in Summer when you first stayed. At La Chartreuse du Maine, all seasons are equally delightful to unwind in one of our three holiday homes, visit the Dordogne area and enjoy “Perigordine Joie de Vivre!”
We look forward to welcoming you again soon, we miss our chats…
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodieeann...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

After spending my 20th birthday at this beautiful cottage last year, I just had to go back and spend my 21st, and am most definitely looking forward to many more birthdays spent here!

Absolutely stunning cottage. Very French, but up-to-date and modern. Local shopkeepers extremely friendly including the bakery and the grocery. Pet cats very fussy and loveable!

Catherine and Maxence have created something special with this cottage and the others at this estate, and to top it off provide outstanding service before, during and after your stay. Very friendly, generous and kind! Maxence was lovely enough to take us along to Perigueux and show us the markets!

I feel more than lucky to have found this perfect cottage and now want to introduce this beautiful residence to family and friends.

Honestly, no faults found. Perfect, peaceful break-away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stunning and stylishly decorated in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A car is required but location is so central to explore the local countryside and further a field. Stylish accommodation with everything you could possibly want for an enjoyable holiday. Award winning bakery an absolute must to try in the village and small shop provides the essentials. Larger supermarket 20 mins away with a very wide variety of food and drink. The owners are only too happy to recommend good restaurants locally that provide locally sourced produce and are excellent value and of a good standard.
Exceeded our expectations, will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Style of accommodation
Liked least: Pillows
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert S
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful and peaceful home”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have now stayed twice in La Cuisine d'Alice au Maine, part of La Chartreuse du Maine, and on both occasions could not have had a more enjoyable time in this beautiful and peaceful home. Catherine and Maxence could not have been kinder or more welcoming and we would recommend La Chartreuse du Maine without hestitation to any of our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty and the peace of the home, and the kindenss of our hosts
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACDCSpean...
Spean Bridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect French Idyll”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just had a lovely restful week's holiday at 'La Cuisine D'Alice' au Maine. The June weather was perfect. The accommodation was excellent and beautifully decorated with all amenities provided. The self catering facilities are of an exceptionally high standard.

Our hosts, Catherine and Maxence are lovely people who made us most welcome. We had the use of all the grounds, including the swimming pool. The estate is beautiful and tranquil and we were made to feel at home from the very beginning. Catherine and Maxence were very informative about the area, and Maxence provided a marked-up map of interesting places to visit. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

There are so many lovely towns and villages to visit in the area and there was plenty to see and do, including visiting the local markets. The local people are very friendly.

We would definitely go back to 'La Cuisine D'Alice' without a moment's hesitation.

A great big thank you to Catherine and Maxence for giving us the opportunity to stay at their beautiful estate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing