We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Time and Space”
other travellers have booked this property
The living space of la Cuisine de Alice au Maine seen from the bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The living space of la Cuisine de Alice au Maine seen from the bedroom
View of La Chartreuse du Maine from the pool in Fall La Cuisine d'Alice, holiday home in la Chartreuse du Maine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The living space of la Cuisine de Alice au Maine seen from the bedroom
View of La Chartreuse du Maine from the pool in Fall
La Cuisine d'Alice, holiday home in la Chartreuse du Maine
La Chartreuse du Maine near Sarlat
La Cuisine d'Alice living space
The kitchen area
View of the bedroom from the living room
Romantic master bedroom: from your bed you can see the burning fire in the living area!
Romantic en suite full bathroom
Ensuite bathroom
Paths of Roses in La Chartreuse du Maine vegetable garden in June
Please help yourself with herbs in Le Maine vegetable garden
Away from it all swimming pool
View from the terrace of the Chartreuse
What about a bike ride this morning? Bicycles are waiting for you in the courtyard
General view of La Chartreuse du Maine
Cubjac, typical stone village near Sarlat in Dordogne
The Perigueux market of local produce in front of the 4th-17th C. cathedral
The Fortress of Beynac like in a fairy tale
Majestic Renaissance style Chateau de Losse overlooking the Vezere River
La Roque-Gageac: here enjoy a boat trip on the Dordogne River
Wandering around Saint-Amand-de-Coly abbey at sunset
Strolling in Beynac, one of the countless stone villages of Dordogne
In Dordogne, every turn of the roads has got a wonderful surprise for you!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Perigueux, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Annik B
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great Time and Space”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Great Time and Space

This is a wonderful place to be and to relax both inside the Cuisine d’Alice (beautiful comfortable accomodation) and outside on the grounds (swimming pool and walks). It is also a wonderful place to use as a base to visit the Dordogne with the help of Catherine and Maxence the 2 very warm, helpful and knowledgeable owners. I will be back, This is the best “Gite” I have ever been in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jslmont
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect peace and quiet”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We spent a wonderful relaxed week in La Cuisine d'Alice. It was ideal for my wife and I with just the right facilities we needed for our time. Despite the extreme heat for the first few days (up to 38C according to our car) the rooms were cool and refreshing when we got home. We really enjoyed the pool, and walking in the extensive oak woodlands surrounding the house. Zubellon the donkey and his companion sheep were always welcoming and we had a lot of fun feeding them both. Walking into the centre of the village for food and bread was easy. Despite a thoroughly indecent ability to communicate in French (I blame growing up in Africa) Catherine and Maxense were kindness personified in speaking to us in English and letting us know where the best places to go were. We loved Maxense's magic map he lent us.

Love the place, would really like to try it in winter so we could make very good use of the large open fire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility of the whole place.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna L
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect setting for a romantic Dodogne holiday”
Reviewed 16 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This delightful cottage is the perfect setting for a romantic Dordogne holiday. As an Australian couple travelling to Cubjac for five days, we couldn't have been happier with our choice of accommodation. La Cuisine d'Alice is beautifully furbished with tasteful finishes and great attention to detail... luxurious bed linens, hand painted bathroom tiles, well-equipped stylish kitchen, ipod dock private garden and inviting fire place. Le Maine is a beautiful property and Catherine and Maxence are the perfect hosts, from the first email communication to the fond farewell. They provide a warm welcome, helpful local advice for day trips and restaurants, as well as the sense that you have made friends (a highly desired thing but rarely achieved on holidays). Thank you for a wonderful stay. We look forward to our return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: home like feel of cottage and friendly hosts
Liked least: Cubjac itself is a pretty but small village with only a few shops
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The impressive restoration and the tranquil setting.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kristina...
Cologne, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our home away from home”
Reviewed 11 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We have stayed at Le Maine 5 times during the past 2 years. As a couple, with children, parents and friends. We plan to come back over and over again and share this experience with our loved ones.

From the first time we have visited Le Maine we have been captured by the magic of this place and the hospitality of the owners, Catherine and Maxence. What makes this place unique is the combination of a beautiful countryside where mankind has chosen to live since the dawn of time and the passion with which Catherine and Maxence have shaped their dream.

We have been privileged to travel and visit many places in the world. However very few places give us this level of sheer enjoyment and perhaps even inner peace.

Dear Catherine, you have set out to create the most beautiful place in Dordogne. It may well be that you have exceeded your goal.
Look forward to seeing you guys again as soon as we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing