We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect getaway in Southern France”
other travellers have booked this property
The living space of la Cuisine de Alice au Maine seen from the bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The living space of la Cuisine de Alice au Maine seen from the bedroom
View of La Chartreuse du Maine from the pool in Fall La Cuisine d'Alice, holiday home in la Chartreuse du Maine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
The living space of la Cuisine de Alice au Maine seen from the bedroom
View of La Chartreuse du Maine from the pool in Fall
La Cuisine d'Alice, holiday home in la Chartreuse du Maine
La Chartreuse du Maine near Sarlat
La Cuisine d'Alice living space
The kitchen area
View of the bedroom from the living room
Romantic master bedroom: from your bed you can see the burning fire in the living area!
Romantic en suite full bathroom
Ensuite bathroom
Paths of Roses in La Chartreuse du Maine vegetable garden in June
Please help yourself with herbs in Le Maine vegetable garden
Away from it all swimming pool
View from the terrace of the Chartreuse
What about a bike ride this morning? Bicycles are waiting for you in the courtyard
General view of La Chartreuse du Maine
Cubjac, typical stone village near Sarlat in Dordogne
The Perigueux market of local produce in front of the 4th-17th C. cathedral
The Fortress of Beynac like in a fairy tale
Majestic Renaissance style Chateau de Losse overlooking the Vezere River
La Roque-Gageac: here enjoy a boat trip on the Dordogne River
Wandering around Saint-Amand-de-Coly abbey at sunset
Strolling in Beynac, one of the countless stone villages of Dordogne
In Dordogne, every turn of the roads has got a wonderful surprise for you!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Perigueux, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Iain L
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect getaway in Southern France”
Reviewed 3 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

What a great place to stay. From the moment we arrived we knew it was somewhere special.

We were greeted with huge smiles from the hosts Catherine and Maxence on arrival then was totally blown away by the Accomodation, It was like your own little barn conversion, spotless and delightful. Although there were three properties in total, you rarely see the other guests apart from at the shared pool, which was meticulously cleaned by Maxence every morning. Some people may find it strange that the hosts stay on the property, but don’t let it put you off, they stay out of your way but are always there if you need them always happy to help you with day trips or restaurant bookings. The only downside is that we only had one week there, another 7 days would have been perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was beautiful, the grounds where wonderful
Liked least: The only gripe would be the nearby town of Cubjac, not much was open.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy M
London
2 reviews
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 26 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

I really didn’t want to write a review as it’s such a special place I didn’t want other people booking it out so we couldn’t go again but it does deserve the highest possible rating. My husband and I spent a wonderful 5 days here in May/June and it did not disappoint on any level. The owners were incredibly helpful in advance with check in times, directions and help with local restaurants (I’m a caeliac so can’t eat any gluten and they were so kind in helping with this). When we arrived the place more than lived up to expectations which is rare and we had a great time using it as our base as we explored the area. I can’t recommend it highly enough for the lovely owners, the beautiful grounds and swimming pool, and ‘La Cuisine’ itself and it’s well thought out layout and décor. I can’t wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamia59...
Davenport, IA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect French countryside get-away”
Reviewed 24 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We stayed at La Cuisine d'Alice au Maine the last week of June. Everything about the gite was as we expected or better. It's a very quiet country property, with plenty of privacy even though there are three rentals at this location, we felt like we were the only ones there. We were able to relax by the pool, or enjoy our private garden area every evening. If you love rustic French charm, this is a winner!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The original features of the barn turned gite, stone walls, original beams
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidands...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Highest Recommenation”
Reviewed 10 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We stayed at Chartreuse du Maine, near the charming village of Cubjac in the Dordogne, for four weeks, one week in “La Cuisine d’Alice” and three weeks in “Chez Colette et Mimi”. And, it was hard to leave!

LeMaine is an excellent “base” for exploring the Dordogne. It is a pleasant one hour drive South by backroads to Montignac and the caves of the Vezere Valley (Lascaux, etc.) and about an hour twenty minutes to Sarlat and the Dordogne Valley (Beynac, Domme etc.). Others might be quicker, but we drove slowly, and never tired of the scenery.

Nearer to Cubjac is the elegant Chateau and gardens of Hautefort, the caves of Tourtoirac, and Perigueux, with its Roman and medieval ruins. And, to the North, gems such as Brantome, St. Jean de Cole, and the caves of Villars.

Maxence and Catherine are gracious, knowledgeable hosts who are eager to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. They have an excellent knowledge of the Dordogne, and are keen to help you plan your routes and to make your stay as pleasant as can be. Their English is excellent, but they are happy to let you practice your French.

But, our most pleasant days were at Le Maine itself. We enjoyed our walk into the village for our daily bread, and we made a point of attending the Friday market, to buy the local cheese, chicken, jams, and fresh strawberries. The locals were all very kind. We wandered down to Catherine’s herb garden to snip a few sprigs of rosemary and thyme. We were then able to prepare our own meals in the very well appointed kitchen, and enjoy them in the very elegantly decorated living and dining areas, or on the unit’s own terrace or garden.

We could always look forward to comfortable beds and bathrooms in these elegantly and thoughtfully furnished gites. There was excellent Wi Fi service for our iPad.

The property has its own delightful walking trails, and Maxence can help you find other nearby hikes and walks. And, of course, no discussion of Le Maine could be complete without mention of Zebulon the donkey and Rothschild the sheep, who are excellent hosts in their own ways.

So, by all means, come to Le Maine to enjoy the sights of the Perigord, but you will likely find that Le Maine itself is your most pleasant destination.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality of hosts
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane K
toronto
1 review
“A Lovely Place to Stay”
Reviewed 30 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We just spent a delightful two weeks in La Cuisine d'Alice. Catherine and Maxence clearly love what they do and it shows--the property is beautiful and well-maintained and the guest accommodations are really outstanding--aesthetically pleasing, exceedingly well-equipped (we especially appreciated the fully outfitted kitchen) and immaculate. Catherine and Maxence know the area well and their suggestions for activities and restaurants were "spot on". We look forward to a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing