We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay”
other travellers have booked this property
The living space of la Cuisine de Alice au Maine seen from the bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The living space of la Cuisine de Alice au Maine seen from the bedroom
View of La Chartreuse du Maine from the pool in Fall La Cuisine d'Alice, holiday home in la Chartreuse du Maine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The living space of la Cuisine de Alice au Maine seen from the bedroom
View of La Chartreuse du Maine from the pool in Fall
La Cuisine d'Alice, holiday home in la Chartreuse du Maine
La Chartreuse du Maine near Sarlat
La Cuisine d'Alice living space
The kitchen area
View of the bedroom from the living room
Romantic master bedroom: from your bed you can see the burning fire in the living area!
Romantic en suite full bathroom
Ensuite bathroom
Paths of Roses in La Chartreuse du Maine vegetable garden in June
Please help yourself with herbs in Le Maine vegetable garden
Away from it all swimming pool
View from the terrace of the Chartreuse
What about a bike ride this morning? Bicycles are waiting for you in the courtyard
General view of La Chartreuse du Maine
Cubjac, typical stone village near Sarlat in Dordogne
The Perigueux market of local produce in front of the 4th-17th C. cathedral
The Fortress of Beynac like in a fairy tale
Majestic Renaissance style Chateau de Losse overlooking the Vezere River
La Roque-Gageac: here enjoy a boat trip on the Dordogne River
Wandering around Saint-Amand-de-Coly abbey at sunset
Strolling in Beynac, one of the countless stone villages of Dordogne
In Dordogne, every turn of the roads has got a wonderful surprise for you!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Perigueux, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Ulrike70
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2012 for a stay in January 2012

This was our third time in Le Maine and this time we decided to stay our winter holiday in La Cuisine d'Alice. It turned out to be the perfect decision for a perfect, relaxed and cosy one-week-trip. La Cuisine d'Alice is a beautifully furnished house with a great sense for color, wonderful chosen details and an impressive fireplace, which was in use every day. We fell in love with Le Maine, the picturesque Cubjac, les marchés, with the entire Dordogne. And again a huge thank you to Catherine and Maxence who are caring hosts and always gave us the feeling to be very welcome and at home. We will come back, that's for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn12...
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most delightful place we ever stayed - anywhere!”
Reviewed 1 April 2012 for a stay in October 2011

Le Maine, in the heart of what may be the most beautiful region in Europe, was more than we have ever hoped for in a vacation home. This exquisite estate is home to three idyllic vacation rentals that are surrounded by flower, herb and vegetable gardens, wooded paths, a pool, and sublime views in all directions. Every top-quality amenity has been provided, and no detail has been overlooked. The charm of the place is overwhelming and hard to describe.

Catherine and Max have created this paradise. They are the perfect hosts - happy to help plan day trips to the most beautiful French villages we have ever seen, suggest wonderful places to dine, and to join for a glass of wine and a chat at the end of another memorable day. Upon arrival, we found a fine bottle of wine, a local cheese, and a bowl overflowing with the amazing and delicious tomatoes from Catherine's gardens.

The region is gorgeous, a food and wine lover's dream. Romantic rolling countryside, lively and quiet villages that have flower-filled streets, interesting shops, and plazas all sited along the rivers. The rivers are wide, slow, and crystal clear. You can rent canoes in many places. The region is known for its pre-historic caves, but we will have to do that next time we return to Le Maine, we were so entranced by everything we found above ground...we just didn't have time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved it all
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This must be the best accommodation to be found in rural France.”
Reviewed 12 February 2012 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Le Maine and we specifically requested the apartment called Cuisine d'Alice again. It is perfect for two adults, wonderfully equipped and comfortable; so perfect that it is difficult to decide whether to stay home around by the pool and wander or bike into the village or to go on an excursion to one of the hundreds of villages, markets, chateaux, and prehistoric cave sites within a one hour drive. The photographs on the website are accurate - it actually is that pretty! The city of Perigueux is only about 20 minutes by car. It is a lovely small city, lively, but not crowded, in which to explore the cuisine of the region, a great market, Roman ruins and shops. The hosts of Le Maine are completely charming French people: they are regularly available for advice on sites to visit, restaurants, winery tours and directions. They both speak English very well and were willing to tolerate any attempts at French that we threw at them. Naturally, we were a bit apprehensive on our second visit but it turned out to be better than the first - and we will go back again. Recommendations: 1) a rental car is essential; 2) Both Bordeaux and Bergerac provide easy access to Le Maine. 3) Next time we would spend a bit more time in the Bordeaux area at the end of the trip to see that region in depth rather than travelling from Le Maine to the wine district - only an hour plus but there is too much to see (and taste) to pack into one day. There are other very nice regional wines to be discovered on day trips from Le Maine. We would like to try the spring season next.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rural accommodation with all of the amenities
Liked least: We would have liked to stay longer than 10 days
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelcor
Brasilia, DF
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing