We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Considering the Dordogne? Book Le Maine!”
other travellers have booked this property
Path of Roses of the vegetable garden in June
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Path of Roses of the vegetable garden in June
La Chartreuse du Maine Facade of Chez Colette et Mimi, holiday house in La Chartreuse du Maine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Path of Roses of the vegetable garden in June
La Chartreuse du Maine
Facade of Chez Colette et Mimi, holiday house in La Chartreuse du Maine
Ground-floor Master bedroom Chez Colette et Mimi au Maine
Warm and stylish sitting room overlooking La Chartreuse du Maine vegetable garden
The kitchen ready for a cooking class!
Enjoy your diner!
Upstairs Master bedroom (the king size bed can be separate into 2 single)
Ensuite bathroom
Ensuite shower room
Away from it all swimming pool (to the song of cicadas)
Private patio to enjoy delightful diners al fresco
La Chartreuse du Maine vegetable garden in June
General view of La Chartreuse du Maine estate
Wonderful weather for a bike ride this morning! Bicycles are waiting for you in the courtyard.
View of La Chartreuse du Maine from the pool in fall
The typical stone village of Cubjac en Perigord
Market day in Périgueux in front of the 4th-17th C. cathedral
Beynac Fortress like in a fairy tale!
In Dordogne every bends of the roads has got a wonderful surprise for you!
La Roque-Gageac: here enjoy a boat trip on the Dordogne
Strolling in Beynac, one of the countless outstanding stone villages of the Dordogne
Wandering around Saint-Amand-de-Coly Abbey at sunset
Majestic Renaissance style Chateau de Losse overlooking the Vezere River
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Perigueux, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
BarriMinn...
minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Considering the Dordogne? Book Le Maine!”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We’ve fallen in love with the Dordogne. We love the prehistoric caves, the vibrant village markets, and the magnificent river valley. We just returned from our third stay at Le Maine.
We find Le Maine is a destination itself – each of the cottages is spectacular; the glowing reviews are all true.
What do we love about Le Maine and the cottages Chez Collette et Mimi, Cuisine D’Alice, and Maison de Marc? We love that each cottage is your own; the spaces are so private, you will feel like you are in your own pied- a-terre in the country. The grounds are expansive – there is room to stretch . We love that the interiors are as stunning as the countryside because Catherine and Maxence’s haute- concept is designed to surprise and delight… after all, this part of the country is called, “La France Profonde”!
We love that Le Maine creates a “diamond-standard” for quality and the cottages are immaculate. You will find modern appliances, luxurious linens, great furniture and cookware. Everything sparkles with cleanliness at Le Maine.
Le Maine is a short walk from the center of Cubjac, a village named for the goat cheese of the region. Cubjac is home to the second best boulangerie in the Périgord and the market foie gras paté is extraordinary. Did we mention the wine selections at LeClerc in nearby Trellisac or Auchan in Perigueux? You will have no trouble finding wine, local produce, cheeses, or handmade confit du canard here. After a full day and evening, you’ll slip into a soul- satisfying sleep.
Sightseeing: At Le Maine, you are short drives from adventures in every direction. To the southeast to Montignac and the newly opened Lascaux IV, Font de Gaume, Les Combarelles, Tourtoirac, the Dordogne River towns of Les Eyzies, Sarlat-la-Canéda… to the southwest, the roman town of Perigueux, the port cities of Bergerac and Bordeaux. Wine tastings in Pécharmant, St Emilion, and Bordeaux are a day excursion. This trip we explored the Corrèze to the northeast, and made a grand ronde of medieval mills and forges in the L’Auvérzère river gorge.
From the Heart: Your hosts, Catherine and Maxence are the vacation curators every traveler hopes for. They will help chart your adventures, offer off the beaten path experiences, or simply allow you the pleasure of a very private holiday. You will not want to leave.
Getting There: Fly into Bordeaux, Bergerac, or Toulouse. Or take the TGV from Paris to Bordeaux or Angoulême. Renting a car is easy in any of these locations.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellanor01
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at Chez Collette in May, so we are a little late with our review. Catherine was the most gracious hostess upon our arrival. The "cottage " we stayed in was beautifully decorated and catered to every need, particularly the kitchen which was well outfitted. The location could not have been better in that you had the tranquility and beauty of the countryside, but amenities were a short drive away. We would certainly recommend...

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faintprai...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In this heart of French countryside and castles is a jewel being maintained by two exceptional people.”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was our third visit to stay at Chartreuse Le Maine, and our first stay in Chez Colette et Mimi, one of the three gites on the property. As in our two previous visits, we loved every moment of our stay. The beauty of the property and our home for the week was a sensual delight. Catherine and Maxence are extraordinary hosts. Their attention to detail in planning and preparing for your arrival is a balm to weary travelers. Throughout our week we enjoyed their companionship and advice on treasures to discover on the backroads of the Dordogne. When we stay at the Chartreuse, our only problem is leaving. To walk the land, to sit on the beautiful private patio, stroll the garden, make a dinner in the charming kitchen, read by the fireplace.....all these things make our stay so perfectly suited to us that though there are dozens of places we have yet to visit in the area, we are equally content to stay home. We will return and soon. When we leave, a piece of our heart is left behind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: As beautiful as the property is, Catherine and Maxence are exceptional hosts.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C
Aurora, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perigord Paradise”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have stayed in several rental homes in France and I have to say that this was the most comfortable, relaxing one we have found. Catherine and Maxence have created a wonderful place for anyone looking to discover this part of France in a very peaceful manner. The home itself is the old barn which has been converted into a two bedroom, two bath unit. It retains all the old charm one could hope for (limestone walls, large fireplace, exposed wood beams) with all the modern conveniences (air conditioning, dishwasher, washer, dryer, etc.) The kitchen is very well equipped.
The property has to be seen to be appreciated. Over 60 acres, much of it forested, is really beautiful. The rose gardens, the lavender garden, and the herb gardens are outstanding. Our outdoor eating area was really nice with table and chairs as well as two chaise lounges. The pool area is very comfortable and private with lots of chaise lounges. It was a welcome diversion after a day of touring around this beautiful part of France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful property
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NigMag62
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A magical and restful retreat”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We returned to Le Maine following our holiday in 2014 - and we were not disappointed!
Catherine and Maxence greeted us like old friends and the gite was still as impeccable as we remembered - it felt like home from home.
The furnishings and kitchen appliances and equipment are truly outstanding- the finish is of a very high standard - and the pool and area are truly relaxing - it was hard work to tear ourselves away from the property to explore again the Dordogne region.
Le Maine is so peaceful and relaxing, an excellent place to unwind and enjoy our family holiday.
It really was a sad time when the end of our holiday arrived, and we had to say goodbye - but we will always be grateful to both Catherine and Maxence for allowing us to "share" their home with us - including Zebulon (the donkey), Rothschild (the sheep) and their two cats - Bibi and Josephine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet, excellent facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing