We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A tale of two holidays”
Welcome to La Chartreuse du Maine in Dordogne near Sarlat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to La Chartreuse du Maine in Dordogne near Sarlat
The Paths of Roses in Le Maine vegetable garden Away from it all swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Welcome to La Chartreuse du Maine in Dordogne near Sarlat
The Paths of Roses in Le Maine vegetable garden
Away from it all swimming pool
The cosy sitting room of la Maison de Marc, holiday home in La Chartreuse du Maine
Master bedroom in Chez Colette et Mimi holiday home
Living space of La Cuisine d'Alice holiday home in Le Maine
La Maison de Marc master bedroom
Ensuite bathroom of Chez Colette et Mimi, holiday home in La Chartreuse du Maine
Ensuite shower room with rain shower head
The living room of 'Chez Colette et Mimi'
Chez Colette et Mimi's Kitchen
Twin bedroom of La Maison de Marc
La Maison de Marc in Le Maine
Please help yourself with herbs in the vegetable garden
View from the terrace of the Chartreuse
La Cuisine d'Alice in Le Maine
View of the Chartreuse from the pool
General view of La Chartreuse du Maine estate
Cubjac, typical village in Dordogne near Sarlat
The Perigueux market with local produce in front of the XII-XVI C. cathedral
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Perigueux, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Fiat500To...
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A tale of two holidays”
Reviewed 27 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

On our first visit in 2011 and for the first 2 days my daughter didn’t like where we had bought her on holiday. Previously we had been to Spain staying in modern complexes with lots to do and lots of facilities near by. Maison de Marc was so different to what she had previously experienced. At the end of the week she was in tears because we were leaving!
We so loved being at Le Maine, its sooooo peaceful, pretty, calm. The wine and food of the region is fresh and tasty with lots of markets to visit, Cubjac being the smallest and the best in my opinion with a cafe to have coffee in when you shopping is done. The pool is great with loungers and a lovely view. Maison de Marc is very well equipped, very clean and stylish, we spent loads of time in the garden which is enclosed by old trees, we ate our meals outside, played badminton and Uno, read books and had the best family time. My children loved the cats popping in during the day and the donkey and the sheep to feed out in the meadow. There are many places to visit which we did but we had squeeze it all in 2011. Hence our second holiday this year 2012. We have again had a brilliant holiday with more time just to enjoy the pleasure you get from being at Le Maine. The owners are excellent hosts, there if you want them but not if you don’t! We had bikes and table tennis. The local village has a good bakery and butcher and cafe/bar our 13year could cycle down in the morning to buy fresh croissants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & Quiet in beautiful surroundings
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent C
Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A marvellous place to spend your holidays”
Reviewed 31 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We stayed at Le Maine for the third time. Our stay at Le Maine is always in our best 3 places where we spent holidays in the last 10 years. Several reasons for that: the property itself is magnificent, the park is huge, the house (La Maison de Marc) is beautifully decorated and very clean, the swimming pool is perfect and last but not least, ours hosts, Catherine and Maxence are extremely nice. From the start, when you get there, you instantly feel at home, you feel that this superb property and park is yours. It is very quiet, you are really surrounded by just trees, grass etc...the region is one of the most beautiful of France, with a lot things to visit and the climate is just great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidands...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Highest Recommendation”
Reviewed 10 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Chartreuse du Maine, near the charming village of Cubjac in the Dordogne, for four weeks, one week in “La Cuisine d’Alice” and three weeks in “Chez Colette et Mimi”. And, it was hard to leave!

LeMaine is an excellent “base” for exploring the Dordogne. It is a pleasant one hour drive South by backroads to Montignac and the caves of the Vezere Valley (Lascaux, etc.) and about an hour twenty minutes to Sarlat and the Dordogne Valley (Beynac, Domme etc.). Others might be quicker, but we drove slowly, and never tired of the scenery.

Nearer to Cubjac is the elegant Chateau and gardens of Hautefort, the caves of Tourtoirac, and Perigueux, with its Roman and medieval ruins. And, to the North, gems such as Brantome, St. Jean de Cole, and the caves of Villars.

Maxence and Catherine are gracious, knowledgeable hosts who are eager to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. They have an excellent knowledge of the Dordogne, and are keen to help you plan your routes and to make your stay as pleasant as can be. Their English is excellent, but they are happy to let you practice your French.

But, our most pleasant days were at Le Maine itself. We enjoyed our walk into the village for our daily bread, and we made a point of attending the Friday market, to buy the local cheese, chicken, jams, and fresh strawberries. The locals were all very kind. We wandered down to Catherine’s herb garden to snip a few sprigs of rosemary and thyme. We were then able to prepare our own meals in the very well appointed kitchen, and enjoy them in the very elegantly decorated living and dining areas, or on the unit’s own terrace or garden.

We could always look forward to comfortable beds and bathrooms in these elegantly and thoughtfully furnished gites. There was excellent Wi Fi service for our iPad.

The property has its own delightful walking trails, and Maxence can help you find other nearby hikes and walks. And, of course, no discussion of Le Maine could be complete without mention of Zebulon the donkey and Rothschild the sheep, who are excellent hosts in their own ways.

So, by all means, come to Le Maine to enjoy the sights of the Perigord, but you will likely find that Le Maine itself is your most pleasant destination.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality of the hosts
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireMel...
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed 27 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This place is just a gem!

The house, the swimming pool, the park, our private garden, the quiet, everything was simply perfect. The very welcoming and friendly attitude from our hosts Maxence and Catherine made us feel at home instantly.

On our arrival, a bottle of Pecharmant was waiting for us in the kitchen, as well as strawberries from the garden and some delicious goat's cheese! This level of attention to detail and care is rare in the tourism industry!

The whole 'domaine' estate, is nestled in nature, near a wood, where you can go walking. With its enclosed garden, the privacy you get in La Maison de Marc is a real treat.

I would like this place to stay secret so that I can go there whenever I want! but I feel a duty to share how wonderful it is, as it would be crazily selfish from me to not encourage you to go. You will simply love it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor of the house, the swimming pool, nature nearby, Zebulon the donkey
Liked least: Nothing! It was just perfect!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joellefeu...
Dijon, France
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing