We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very very Special”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees, Bearn-Basque Country, Pyrenees-Atlantiques, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Rupert141...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very very Special”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Eight of us enjoyed dinner bed and breakfast for four nights whilst visiting the Pau 4* Horse Trials.
What a find !!! Lovely house and surroundings, BRILLIANT home cooked food with wine and hosts for whom nothing was too much trouble. Gillian even pilotted us to the Horse Trials venue ( 20km distant) on the busy Saturday via back roads to avoid the traffic- a great help.
Unreservedly recommend this accommodation, book and enjoy......

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gillian's fab French cooking
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clivec959
Eagle, Idaho
2 reviews
“If you are looking for a REAL French experience that is top notch, this is it!”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in May 2013

This is not the easiest place to find, but WOW! When you do!!
What a fantastic home, amazing grounds, and wonderful location. Gillian and her husband made us feel very welcome and were the perfect hosts. We traveled around the beautiful countryside and villages around the area and the home made a great base. Nicely appointed, great sized rooms, and very comfortable. My wife and Daughter and I always like to stay somewhere different each time we visit Europe, but if we were traveling to this area again, there is no question where we would stay.
Well Done Gillian!
Clive C. Boise Idaho USA.

Date of stay: May 2013
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ihart7
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Outstanding accommodation and wonderful host”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My wife, teenage son and I had a wonderful fortnight's holiday at Les Vieux Chenes. The property is located in a lovely, tranquil setting, but is in easy reach of two sizable towns for the morning baguette and croissants run. It provides very good quality accommodation, including a larger pool than usual for a rental property. There was plenty for us to do, and the owner, Gillian, was particularly helpful in advising us about hiring a bike for my son (a keen road cyclist) and suggesting routes for him. The meal that Gillian provided on our day of arrival was excellent.

Date of stay: August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MichaelCh...
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant visit.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I booked Les Vieux Chenes for a week for our family of 6 plus our 11 month old grand daughter. We had asked Gillian to arrange a meal on our arrival which due to traffic congestion was a hour behind our agreed time. No problem, Gillian had organized a lovely meal for the family plus a package of local produce as a welcome pack. Gillian was most welcoming and the rooms, bathrooms and shower rooms were first rate. A beautiful comfortable house with more than enough room for the family and which, as we mentioned to Gillian, was not done full justice by the web photographs.
At our request, Gillian also laid on a meal for us which was absolutely excellent with superb food and wines.
The pool was too cool at the time we were there ( May ) but the stunning views around from the pool area and towards the snow capped mountains more than made up for this loss and we enjoyed 2 bar-b-cues at the outside table and adjacent facilities.
In short, Gillian is a fine hostess, the accommodation superb and the entire family enjoyed there stay without exception. To be recommended to all.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing!
Liked least: The drive down the road to get the early morning croissants.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
USDUSD
Australia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.