We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the charming places I have ever been in my...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees, Bearn-Basque Country, Pyrenees-Atlantiques, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

San Dimas
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hospitality and charm
Liked least: more towels would be great
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ginnyjuic...
Temecula, California
1 review
“Great Place to stay and a wonderful host.”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed in this lovely house for 9 days and we were treated with Great Food, beautiful views and a lot of advise on where to go and what to see. As we spoke no French, Gillian was a great help to us. The house was very comfortable with good beds and modern baths. and a small kitchen if you wanted to cook for yourself. I personally would just loved to have Gillian do all the cooking. A wonderful Chef that used local foods and wine talking about where they came from and how she used them in her cooking. A Great Place!

Date of stay: October 2013
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmyapplet...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A very comfortable stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Myself and my husband had a very relaxing stay here at the start of June. Unfortunately we didn't always have great weather to lounge by the pool, but we were very comfortable in the house on the days that the weather wasn't great. The kitchen was very well equipped and it was very handy to have a washing machine for our use also. Gillian made us feel very welcome and was happy to recommend some outings and was able to book restaurants on our behalf also. It was great to have fast wifi and UK tv channels also. We would definitely return in the future, hopefully to better weather so we can enjoy the beautiful pool area!

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The very comfortable bed
Liked least: The rain!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Reviewed 28 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The meal Gillian prepared
Liked least: Everything was very good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Jun 2013
We are very pleased that you and your wife had a good holiday despite being here when this area was on maximum weather warnings, battered by the worst storms for many, many years with so many local towns & villages being devastated by floods. Happily, the house is on a hilltop.

As a chef, I love finding the best local produce for our guests and serving it in the private dining room, adjacent to the rental house, so thank you for your kind words about our food.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CaFrancop...
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
434 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“How many wonderful things can we say about Les Vieux Chenes?”
Reviewed 6 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

The graceful house sits at the top of a lovely rolling hill and is surrounded by pleasant gardens. Furnished with polished antiques, the gîte is fully and beautifully equipped, right down to hair dryers in the bathrooms. Close to many charming villages, the location is ideal for an exploration of rural life. and then there is the fabulous host Gillian! Upon arrival she had prepared a fantastic multi-course Béarnaise dinner, and throughout our stay was always available with information to ensure a great vacation. We have stayed in many gîtes over the years, but this one is one in a million! Lucky those who get to stay at Les Vieux Chenes.

We'll definitely be back.

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquil setting, surounding villages, on-site chickens, and of course friendly, helpful hostess
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
USDUSD
Australia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.