We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Priceline
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
19
20
8
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
19
20
8
0
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

This is an old fashioned, authentic Swiss chalet in the heart of the mountains of Stechelberg.

Minutes from the cable car that takes you to the top of the mountain, and surrounded by views that scream awesome.

Yes, this isn’t a five star resort, but it’s surrounded by five star mountain views with staff that works hard to give customers the best experience and all that this little chalet can offer.

I’m really happy with this place and would bring my kids here again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

We had Goulash soup and french fries. We ordered 3 soups. I think the tined soup had 2 portions so they watered it down and added more salt. It was the worst Goulash soup I have every tried to eat. At 9.50CHF each an absolute disgrace. The French Fries were so salty they were also awful.

Room tip: dont bother
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G8531BEstuarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Situated in a location replete with lovely vistas, the scenery here will not disappoint. Our room had mountain views and passing bovine views, both interesting. We shared a bath, which is not our particular cup of tea, but there are ensuite rooms available. The rooms are simple, but clean and relatively inexpensive. The dining ain't Paris, so don't expect it. The faire is hearty and abundant, but you didn't come to Switzerland for cuisine-- just like monsieur Rick didn't go to Casa Blanca for the waters. There is a local bus that runs through the valley on Swiss timing that is convenient, if not cheap. There is much to enjoy in nature nearby and in an expensive country a more economical hotel might appeal. Parking is available, English is spoken well here.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Omnibus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Initially unpromising as we walked in to a very dark interior, we were warmly greeted by one of the owners and she showed us our private room with our own bathroom. From reading other reviews I am glad we booked ahead for a bathroom, as our room was spacious and pleasant, if a little fusty.
The hotel is superbly located with many walks from the door, and the owner was pleased to recommend hikes. We particularly enjoyed the walk up the valley to Obersteinberg hut for lunch.
Staying for two nights, we ate two evening meals here. Both were traditional Swiss meals of a reasonable standard. Service on the first was night was friendly and efficient, and on the second night overstretched. Breakfasts were generous, with a welcome opportunity to boil your own eggs. The owners were welcoming, visible and active in ensuring customers' needs were met.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AmandaP726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Ridiculously expensive for a poor quality hostel- most expensive and worst place I have stayed in 3 weeks of touring Switzerland

Cheap conversion means that rooms very noisy.

Location is good but that does not excuse ripping off customers

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank GreatOryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews