We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An Idyllic Holiday in a fabulous location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Tracey E
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“An Idyllic Holiday in a fabulous location”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I visited with my wife and 9 year old daughter. On our arrival at Gite St Martin we were greeted by the lovely owner Chantelle, she made us feel very welcome and gave us some great tips and advice on places to visit and eat.The location of the Gite is very pretty with great views and was really well equipped and comfy. Just like a home from home. It was also very quiet and tranquil. We absolutely loved the amazing salt water pool which we gladly plunged into every late afternoon. Les Eyzies de Tayac is a fabulous village with plenty of places to eat and drink along with Museums a market on a Monday and the beautiful river.
Canoes are available to hire on the river and we did a 13k trip the river and views were absolutely beautiful! There are so many places to visit which are all close to les Eyzies which make it an ideally located base. We hired a car which really is a must. Sarlat is a must visit and a drive along the Dordogne is fab with lots of amazing stop off points. There a caves and must see's everywhere. We did some many things there are too many to mention! One of the best holidays ever, can't wait to return.!!! :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: home from home
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cdthirion
Buderim, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most enchanting stay and caring hosts”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Even though I was ill at the time, the hosts, with their friendliness and helpfulness, made sure I had a wonderful stay; all I needed was in the lovely self contained cotage, including a warm fire place, complimentary bottle of wine, total privacy-trully maigc. Thanks again to Chantal and John.
Danijela

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHoward57
Lafayette, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Couldn't have stayed in a better place!”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in September 2014

My father and I chose to visit Les Eyzies de Tayac in the fall to visit the prehistoric caves and take the french lessons. The owner Chantal was the most wonderful teacher (french lessons) and landlord. My father is unable to go up and down stairs, and unfortunately the cottage has stairs with the 2 bedrooms on the second floor. She was so accomodating and created a space on the first floor for my father. He was very comfortable, and enjoyed himself thoroughly. We kept to a simple schedule each day with french lessons, driving the countryside, then sitting on the porch and enjoying our glass of wine & cheese each night. the cottage was quite cozy, a good kitchen & bath, and the extra bedrooms upstairs. Chantal was also very knowledgeable about what was around the area, and how to get around. We stayed for 2 1/2 weeks, and my father has told everyone it was his best vacation yet. Thank you Chantal! If you have the inability to do stairs, be sure to let Chantal know. The pool is gorgeous, and everything went as planned.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and coziness of the property.
Liked least: We found the steps to her lesson area difficult.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue B
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Becoming an annual trip!”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We returned to Tayac to stay with Chantal and John this year as we had had such a fabulous time last year! The accommodation is exceptional, whether you stay in the cottage or in the B & B. The cottage has everything you could need, including towels and bedding. The cottage is fully equipped and has so much character. Chantal and John are the perfect hosts, providing ideas for places to visit.
This year we visited different places from last year-there is so much to do in the area. Castles, caves and chateaux abound- we also enjoyed a leisurely trip on a gabarre.
We cannot recommend Gite St Martin too highly and plan to return again, perhaps to enjoy a French Spring!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Whole package!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis D
Sedgwick, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We return to his special place aways from home.”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

St. Martin is a wonderful accomodation in a beautiful area of France. If your desire is to learn French Chantal, the owner, is your answer but if it is just to relax she will guide you in the right direction. the accomodations are exceptional and if ones desire is self catering this is a perfect location. There are many local markets to buy fresh produce. The local hiking is extensive and the prehisotric sites are many. I am hesitant to be too over enthusiastic as we will continue to return year after year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just being here
Liked least: Nothing, The town is very touristy but we just do not go there.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing