We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Hotel Restaurant Le Moderne

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bergerac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bar Hotel Restaurant Le Moderne
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Bergerac
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Ate at the restaurant twice during our stay in the area. The first time was convenience ... arriving by train we had to wait for the car rental office to open after lunch break, so we walked across the street from the station to Le Moderne and had an excellent lunch. A few days later we returned for dinner. Good food and good service.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeInMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    7
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
15
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

I booked this hotel having read several excellent reviews about the standard of the food. It really is fantastic. We booked half board which was very reasonably priced considering the quality of food and service in the restaurant. Unfortunately we were there over the weekend, and didn't realise the restaurant is closed Friday and Sunday! (we were only charged one night half board so that was fine) just a little disappointed as we were looking forward to our 3 nights feasts!! Don't be put off by appearances as you walk through the corridor to your room, the room itself was fairly spacious and very clean. The staff were very friendly. It is right opposite the train station so very easy to find. Bergerac town is approx 5-10 mins walk, although we had a car and used it as a base to drive around the beautiful countryside and nearby towns. I would recommend this hotel, but do check restaurant opening times if you want to eat in the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojohorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Can't understand why this restaurant is not more featured on TripAdvisor. It's opposite the station, so not in the centre of town admittedly, but the food exceeded our expectations and was far better than many a more central venue. Lunch menu was 14 euros (all of which looked good and tasted even better said our friends), but we chose two dishes from the carte for 23 euros. My risotto entree was really tasty and generous and garnished with large asparagus spears. My main of ris de veau with ceps was delicious. The kidneys were halved and well sauteed (not always the way in France) and generously coated in a sauce that was rich and unctuous. Mashed potato - the perfect accompaniment - and a baked tomato were the veg. Mashes of bread was provided and the rose du maison was good, neither too dry nor too sweet. My partner's meal was amazing: filo pastry parcel with ceps and two small fillets of red mullet, all of which was delicious. Main course was another parcel - en papilotte - in a transparent baking paper so that the dish arrived still wrapped up on the plate and looked fantastic. Scallops with black pudding and ceps, in another delicious sauce. The hotel/restaurant looks unprepossessing but we certainly recommend the food and it will become a regular for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Popsical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Trip lists this as an hotel. List it as a restaurant in its own right because this is some of the best food we've eaten in Bergerac. We ate a la carte and were both rewarded with an entree and main course of imagination and refinement. It had to be good as there was a child there who made lots of noise and listened to music on an iPod. The food sang. This may be a little out of the town centre but it's a gem. We can't wait to go there again. It beat, hands down, a much more expensive restaurant we went to for my fiancee's birthday. The service is good though the waitress should have spoken to that badly behaved child. This was quality. Two dishes for €23. Thank you chef. You made a sunny day even sunnier. We didn't stay at the hotel which is why we can't rate this place properly. Over to you Trip. Sort out this anomaly.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergerac hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#5 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.4 km away
Europ'Hotel
Europ'Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
11.3 km away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
3.8 km away
Ibis Budget Bergerac
Ibis Budget Bergerac
#6 of 13 in Bergerac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Hotel Restaurant Le Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Hotel Restaurant Le Moderne

Property: Bar Hotel Restaurant Le Moderne
Address: 19 Ave. Du 108e R.I., 24100, Bergerac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Bergerac
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing