We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect French getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chez Charrier

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Iain L
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect French getaway”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled to Chez Charrier for two weeks in mid-July 2015 with our two young children (7 & 4) and had a wonderful time!
This is a lovely, large house in a beautiful, quiet location, surrounded by open countryside and fields of corn and sunflowers. There are many great places to visit locally, including freshwater beaches and, further afield (90-minute drive), the fantastic prehistoric sites of Les Eyzies.
The heated swimming pool was a welcome addition for cooling off after a day's excursion with the children! The large gardens with hammock, sun loungers and table tennis equipment add to the enjoyment.
The village of Saint-Séverin is only a mile away and has two bars serving food. The village also has a post office, a butcher, a baker and candlesticks are available at the SPAR supermarket.
The house is well equipped with all conveniences needed for a fabulous, relaxing holiday.
Robin (the owner) is very friendly and made the booking process very simple through excellent communication.
We heartily recommend a stay at Chez Charrier!
Thank you very much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large swimming pool
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa F
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant home from home with a lovely private pool”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed for a fortnight at the end of July/beginning of August and had a fabulous time. We are a family of five (mum, dad and three kids - 16, 13 and 10). The house was lovely and clean with everything you could hope for. We all loved the heated pool - father and son had many exciting table tennis matches in the open barn during the rain. The local area was stunning and there were plenty of places to go. But be warned; if you want French culture don't go to the big touristy places in August as you can't move for British tourists talking loudly and demanding chips and sliced white bread because "how am I supposed to make sandwiches with this?" The local village is pretty and the Clown bar very friendly with particularly nice pancakes appreciated by locals and tourist alike.

A brilliant holiday cottage, in a lovely part of the world made even better by the very friendly and helpful owners who phoned on our arrival to check everything was great.
Due to open tread, steep stairs to bedrooms, probably not ideal for disabled or small children but plenty of room for large families - could easily take 6

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: house/pool/garden
Liked least: very limited wifi range - only in main bedroom and dining room ( common issue in France)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeStron...
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was our 1st time renting a place abroad. We were a little worried that things lived up to the literature and pictures.

No need to worry, Robin is a great host, considerate and accessible as were his on site team.

This was a great holiday. Location was no more than 5 mins from shops & 30 from Riberac. Can not think of a single bad thing about Chez Carrier.

Would we go again, absolutely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ease of communication was brilliant
Liked least: It rained twice!!!!! ;^).
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerrywcar...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Knowing the area ,we knew what to expect in that regard....peace,tranquility,great local restaurants,sunflowers etc etc.
We have been let down in the past with accommodation...French standards aren't always up to scratch and one tends to put up with it ...you can't have everything you want!
Oh but you can now! Chez Charrier exceeded our expectations,beautiful location,beautiful house,with every facility/amenity, and to top it all everything worked!
If we needed something we knew it would be there, U.K. TV,wifi,corkscrews,barbecue etc etc.
The heated swimming pool was fabulous, yes heated! WOW!
5 minutes to the best restaurant ( La Vielle Maison) and 10 mins max to Aubeterre...if you've not been there you're missing out.
To sum it up ,we hope to return to Chez Charrier,it ticked all the boxes.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing