We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Look no further for a base in a fantastic area”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jim B
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Look no further for a base in a fantastic area”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Les Plantous for 2 weeks and loved every minute of it. From our arrival to the day we left everything was fantastic. The property is extremely well presented and offered everything we needed, the hot tub being an added bonus!!
The pool was a welcome sight after a day out sightseeing or by the river. The charcoal BBQ also sat in an area next to the pool along with a seating area which was perfect for eating in the evening. The grounds that the house is set in were stunning and superbly well looked after. We really appreciated the lovely touch of the welcome wine and cheese platter. The sunbeds by the pool were probably the most comfortable we have experienced! The small touches were also taken care of like plenty of towels and Wi-Fi. There was more than enough room for us all. The house is perfectly situated in a very peaceful area but only 5 - 10 mins drive from the local patisserie and small supermarket.

From our experience, in August, we would recommend going early to the place being visited as nearly all the towns in the area got very busy from midday onwards. Our personal favourites were La Roque Gageac (15 mins drive) where we found a great swimming spot and the town of Domme (10 min drive) which offers fantastic views of the river. We would recommend a day canoeing on the river - we used Copeyre Canoes in Vitrac on recommendation of Bob and were not disappointed, so much so that we went again during our second week.

Our hosts Bob and Di couldn't have been any better. We honestly felt that we were staying with friends. They were always on hand if we needed advice on the area and where to visit as well as recommending some quieter swimming spots, or just for a general chat about things but at no time did we feel they were intrusive. We all felt that they thoroughly enhanced our holiday. Our kids loved their 2 dogs Bailey and Suzi.

We thoroughly recommend Les Plantous as a perfect base to explore this fantastic area of France. Thank you Bob and Di, we can't wait to stay with you again as soon as we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2013
We are so happy that a family with two teenage children simply love this beautiful area. (Music to our ears). We would welcome you back anytime.
Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it was right in the middle of all the best places to visit.
Liked least: Leaving at the end of the fortnight.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Aug 2013
It makes it all worth while for us when we have guests who embrace and explore this lovely area that we call home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JamesHerd...
Doonan, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best choice in the best part of the Dordogne.”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had made a booking for one week but stayed for two weeks because we enjoyed Les Plantous and the surrounding area so much. Bob and Diane are marvellous hosts. They are never intrusive but always available when help or advice is needed. Nothing is ever too much trouble to them. We enjoyed every element of our holiday, from visiting the lovely towns and villages which are quite close by to the beautiful scenery of this magnificent part of France - not to mention the fabulous food and wine. The Saturday market at Sarlat is a must.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Reviewed 5 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed 3 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bob and Diane were very willing to give advice and local information
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing