We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Felt as if we were here in the fifties. Sort of mid century furniture in room. Upgraded to fabulous room nearly on top of the sea. Katherine took care of us with special requests.
Could not enjoy pool due to weather, but didn’t want to leave fabulous room. Otice that some exterior needs for refurbishment. But, this close to sea, probably needs clean up at end of season. Great spot to watch surfers.....hundreds all day.

We will return.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zforall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionSofitelB, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your impressions following your recent stay at the Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa.
Your comments regarding the hotel have been shared to the Management who will review them shortly.
It is with pleasure that we have read your complimnets on the hotel location and service quality. Your appreciations have been shared with all our Ambassadors, and more especially, Catherine who was really touched by your words.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon and let you watch surfers.
Best Regards,
Emmanuelle C., Communication and Guest Experience Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights..the beds are the biggest we have ever slept on..so comfortable..the first morning we were woken by drilling coming from somewhere..I complained no the hotel couldn't have been more helpful.moving us to a better room..having already upgraded the original room...
My only negative , is how they can justify 8 euros for a bottle of 1 Ltr mineral water .. or 5 euros for half litre..when you can see the same bottle in supermarket for 58 cents..
Lunch around the pool was crazy expensive but we expected this from Biarritz..

Room Tip: Every room is great..they are all massive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We enjoyed our stay here and were lucky enough to be upgraded to a partial sea view. The room was very large and the bed extremely comfortable. The staff were all excellent. Great location, with a back entrance straight out on to the beach. Just a 10 minute walk along the seafront to the casino part of the town. Yes, the balcony could do with a bit of TLC but the bedroom was faultless. We did not like the price of the food anywhere in Biarritz and this hotel was no exception. Two green salads and water was 37 euros. We had croissants and coffee for breakfast which were very good and we certainly did not need the 29 euro full breakfast. We would stay again if we were ever in Biarritz

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ObanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionSofitelB, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear ObanTraveller,
Thank you very much for sharing impressions following your recent stay at the Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa.
We very much appreciate your compliments about the room and its installations, the hotel location, food quality as well as the professionalism of our staff. We have communicated your feedback to all our Ambassadors who are dedicated to offer you Magnifique moments.
We will be very pleased to welcome you back if you travel again in Biarritz.
Best Regards,
Emmanuelle C., Communication & Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

The location and the design of the hotel is great. Large rooms with balcony. Nice swing pool. However, the hotel is not well maintained, rather not maintained at all the last few years! This is not acceptable at a five star hotel and under a Sofitel brand. The service and the breakfast is not five star.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank straume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Just had a fabulous stay in this trendy modern hotel. Brilliant location just a 5 min walk into the town centre for shopping, bars and restaurants and it is right on the beach. Our rooms in the 400's had lovely big balconies and looked over the small bay to the lighthouse. The beds were amazing, the decor was lovely. The shower at first seemed disappointing then the next day we discovered there is a button on-top of the tap you need to press and keep turning.
We only used the outdoor pool even when it was raining as it is heated, fabulous.
Nice boutique shop, lovely bar, live music, helpful friendly staff. Great toiletries. So what stopped me from giving it 5 stars...
breakfast although it was set out lovely and in a beautiful setting it was lacking for vegetarian hot food, but the egg on toast I had was very tasty. Only 3 English TV Channels all news. Nuts as your bedtime treat no good if your allergic.

Would definitely stay again for a weekend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stokes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.4 km away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.2 km away
Hotel du Palais
Hotel du Palais
#2 of 64 in Biarritz
1,151 reviews
1.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#14 of 64 in Biarritz
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
1.1 km away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
643 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa

Address: 13 rue Louison Bobet, 64200 Biarritz, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Biarritz
#2 Business Hotel in Biarritz
#4 Spa Hotel in Biarritz
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
#6 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
#6 Family Hotel in Biarritz
#12 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range: $285 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel and its thalassotherapy institute are located in Biarritz on the Basque Coast, just a stone's throw from the golf course and near to the town center with its luxury boutiques, cosy tearooms, theaters and museums. The hotel's bedrooms boast a balcony and terrace that overlook the magnificent beach. A breathtaking view and truly enchanting setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Thalassa Biarritz Hotel Biarritz
Sofitel Biarritz
Biarritz Sofitel
Accor Thalassa Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing