We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,402)
Filter reviews
1,403 results
Traveller rating
693
423
173
70
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
693
423
173
70
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool direct access to the beach mineral water per day main town hotel is great large balcony ocean view turn down service an upgrade would stay again reception staff ten minutes superior room croissants modern hotel hammam
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 1,403 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights..the beds are the biggest we have ever slept on..so comfortable..the first morning we were woken by drilling coming from somewhere..I complained no the hotel couldn't have been more helpful.moving us to a better room..having already upgraded the original room...
My only negative , is how they can justify 8 euros for a bottle of 1 Ltr mineral water .. or 5 euros for half litre..when you can see the same bottle in supermarket for 58 cents..
Lunch around the pool was crazy expensive but we expected this from Biarritz..

Room Tip: Every room is great..they are all massive
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We enjoyed our stay here and were lucky enough to be upgraded to a partial sea view. The room was very large and the bed extremely comfortable. The staff were all excellent. Great location, with a back entrance straight out on to the beach. Just a 10 minute walk along the seafront to the casino part of the town. Yes, the balcony could do with a bit of TLC but the bedroom was faultless. We did not like the price of the food anywhere in Biarritz and this hotel was no exception. Two green salads and water was 37 euros. We had croissants and coffee for breakfast which were very good and we certainly did not need the 29 euro full breakfast. We would stay again if we were ever in Biarritz

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ObanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionSofitelB, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear ObanTraveller,
Thank you very much for sharing impressions following your recent stay at the Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa.
We very much appreciate your compliments about the room and its installations, the hotel location, food quality as well as the professionalism of our staff. We have communicated your feedback to all our Ambassadors who are dedicated to offer you Magnifique moments.
We will be very pleased to welcome you back if you travel again in Biarritz.
Best Regards,
Emmanuelle C., Communication & Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

The location and the design of the hotel is great. Large rooms with balcony. Nice swing pool. However, the hotel is not well maintained, rather not maintained at all the last few years! This is not acceptable at a five star hotel and under a Sofitel brand. The service and the breakfast is not five star.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank straume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Just had a fabulous stay in this trendy modern hotel. Brilliant location just a 5 min walk into the town centre for shopping, bars and restaurants and it is right on the beach. Our rooms in the 400's had lovely big balconies and looked over the small bay to the lighthouse. The beds were amazing, the decor was lovely. The shower at first seemed disappointing then the next day we discovered there is a button on-top of the tap you need to press and keep turning.
We only used the outdoor pool even when it was raining as it is heated, fabulous.
Nice boutique shop, lovely bar, live music, helpful friendly staff. Great toiletries. So what stopped me from giving it 5 stars...
breakfast although it was set out lovely and in a beautiful setting it was lacking for vegetarian hot food, but the egg on toast I had was very tasty. Only 3 English TV Channels all news. Nuts as your bedtime treat no good if your allergic.

Would definitely stay again for a weekend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stokes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Arrived 12.10; 4 hours wait for room. Firmly believe this was down to no proper allocation of resources as there was no clear pressure at check out or check in so must assume no one thought to prioritise rooms where guests were already waiting over those that would arrive later. Of course I can predict the hotel excuse already, but........
GOOD - superb bed. BAD - condition of balcony would shame a two star hotel.
GOOD - room service responded to a complaint with charm and intelligence. BAD - the pasta dish from room service would shame my cooking, which is terrible.
GOOD - some pool restaurant staff. BAD - some poolside staff clearly didn't want to be there, or at least not for work.
GOOD - pleasant gym. BAD - gym, spa, etc in an awful area with the charm of an underground car park.
Given the cost of a junior suite, I must consider value for money as poor, not somewhere to return to or recommend to friends.
Better management in some departments and refurbishment may be needed.

Stayed: August 2017
3  Thank SKBRUSSELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews