We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location with sea view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Central location with sea view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

professional and were happy to recommend restaurants and planned a self drive sightseeing tour when we asked. The hotel had a large lobby, the rooms were not big but very luxurious and comfortable (bed was amazing) with a lovely bathroom. We paid extra for a sea view terrace that was big enough to relax on and worth the extra. Even in October the weather was good enough to use the outside pool and the pool staff ensured everything was set up as we wanted and drinks/lunch could be brought to you from the restaurant bar.

Breakfast was delicious but it was an easy walk into Biarritz town if you preferred a simpler and cheaper option.


I booked via a 3 for 2 deal and this made the stay

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    335
    113
    49
    32
See reviews for
231
583
60
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

I stayed here for a Thalassa Spa getaway, as part of a weeklong trip to the Basque Coast. As many have already stated, the location is perfect. It’s situated right off of a town thoroughfare, and just along a pathway that runs along the beaches. Also, Biarritz is a great base to explore the Basque countryside, and to reiterate a previous reviewer’s sentiments; the people of Biarritz are classy, but not snooty.

The hotel was very clean, quiet, but didn’t exactly have that that Sofitel ‘feel’, in terms of luxury and refinement. The hotel could use a renovation, given the price they charge, I think the rooms and furnishings could be a *little* bit nicer. The hotel staff was efficient and well taught in their duties, as well as being cordial, and accommodating. When I arrived, I had a little welcome gift, chocolates, and letter wishing me a pleasant stay. A few minutes later, the front desk called to make sure I was all right and getting settled in my room.

Restaurant is good, but not great. However, I did enjoy the meals. However, there are plenty of great places to eat and drink around town, which is about a 10-minute walk from the hotel. During the weekdays the bar area is quiet and dull, but come the weekend, there are special events (musical performances, etc.), and it seems like the place to be. Spectacular views are to be had from the bar/restaurant and the outdoor heated pool are worth sitting down for an appetizer or drink. Particularly sunset.

The rooms are large, clean, quiet, and comfortable. Supplied in the bathroom were Hermes toiletries, Bose sound system with an iPod/iPhone dock, and Wi-Fi is free. Also, the pools, gym, sauna are available for all hotel patrons.

If you are going for the Thalassa treatments primarily, do at least 5 days, preferable seven to derive the full benefit of Thalassa. I found the spa staff charming and very warm. The treatments were scheduled at intervals that allowed you to enjoy your sessions without being rushed or overwhelmed, but not so far apart that you were idly waiting for your next appointment and missing out on other activities. The treatment program schedule alternates morning and afternoon sessions don’t consume your entire day, so you can balance your spa time and vacation time seamlessly.

Room Tip: Select a Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank queenices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

The Sofitel Thalassa has a lovely situation by and overlooking the sandy beach. It has an excellent heated (28 degrees C.) 25 metre outdoor seawater pool as well as an indoor heated seawater pool. The rooms are all well-appointed with balconies overlooking the sea.
The buffet breakfast has a wide selection of dishes but is expensive at 28 euros. For around 6 - 9 euros one can have coffee and croissants at a nearby cafe - La Ferme St. Charles in Rue du Lycee, less than 10 minutes' walk away - and watch the world go by and the interesting parking! For the evening meal the restaurant had a small choice of expensive dishes which lacked inspiration - there are several restaurants in the centre of Biarritz which offer cheaper and tastier meals.
The hotel is supposed to have a policy re towel washing - for every 5 used towels one tree will be planted - but the towels were changed unnecessarily TWICE a day. The maids who clean the rooms do not replenish the tea, coffee, bottles of water etc. in the bedrooms - there are separate staff for this!
The only English newspaper in the shop in the reception was the Financial Times - on Saturday only Friday's F.T. was available; then the shop is closed on Sundays and Mondays.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OastDartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GUILLEUX N, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear customer,

I thank you for your feedback. Indeed, Sofitel Thalassa Biarritz has partnered with the United Nations Environment Program, to support the Billion Tree Campaign. We encourage our guests to re-use their towels and bathrobes and support the project. For every five used towels, we will plant one tree, so it’s essential for our maid, to check well. Thank you very much for your notice.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Thalassa Biarritz.
With my best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

This hotel provides everything one expects from Sofitel or any 5* hotel.
As a prefferred guest we received an upgrade from our suite to one just above the beach, the hotel seems designed to give every room a beach view but our suite had a balcony overlooking directly onto the beach.

There has been a lot of negative reviews about the looks and condition of this hotel, and it is true that the 1970s design has not aged well, and the Alluminium cladding has fared even worse, some reviews suggest the hotel is in a poor state of maintenance, this is not true, the hotel is clean well maintained and everything works, the aircon units in our room worked perfectly and most importantly SILENTLY, as did everything else.

We did not use the restaurant as the menu did not suit my wife who is a vegetarian, there is a huge number of good restaurants in the old town or at the headland within 5mns walk, all doing a very good trade, we did visit the bar and used room servcice, both with polite and efficient service.
Our stay was in June but the bar did close a little early, too early for a nightcap when returning from Dinner.

Others have commented on the Spa which is excelent and does require a dedicated visit to enjoy properly, prices also seem reasonable, if your room is on the ground floor you will be advised to walk down from your room in your bathrobe, which involves waiting for a lift in the main lobby whilst standing in a bathrobe, if like myself you prefer to be dressed when standing in public lobbies use the lockers and changing rooms in the SPA.

Oh and do try the outdoor heated pool, the temperature is lovely and the salt water swim very enjoyable.

And yes... the indoor parking is expensive and limited, but no worse than most city hotels with Valet parking, yes Biarritz is a town not a city but if you can afford to stay there then you can afford the parking.

We will be back...

Room Tip: Near the beach at end of corridors is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed here in July with my 13 year old daughter and her dog. The hotel is right on the beach and has a heated outdoor pool overlooking the beach as well as an indoor pool. The bedrooms are modern and spacious and the beds amazingly comfortable however when we were allocated our bedrooms both smelt strongly of smoke although they were meant to be non smoking and it took alot of complaining to persuade them to give us another room . My daughter agreed to keep hers and was given a room spray but even after 3 days the smell had not gone from the room. We did not eat at the hotel as the prices were so expensive , 25 euros for breakfast and 50euros for lunch. There were many restaurants close by so it wasn't a problem

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelixstoweSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.4 km away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.2 km away
Hotel du Palais
Hotel du Palais
#2 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
1.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#15 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Karitza
BEST WESTERN PLUS Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel  Saint-Julien
Hotel Saint-Julien
#1 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa

Property: Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa
Address: 13 rue Louison Bobet, 64200 Biarritz, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Biarritz
#2 Business Hotel in Biarritz
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
#4 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
#4 Spa Hotel in Biarritz
#8 Family Hotel in Biarritz
#12 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
Price range (per night): $283 - $719
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel and its thalassotherapy institute are located in Biarritz on the Basque Coast, just a stone's throw from the golf course and near to the town center with its luxury boutiques, cosy tearooms, theaters and museums. The hotel's bedrooms boast a balcony and terrace that overlook the magnificent beach. A breathtaking view and truly enchanting setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, ACCOR, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Biarritz Le Miramar Thalassa sea & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Thalassa Biarritz Hotel Biarritz
Sofitel Biarritz
Biarritz Sofitel
Accor Thalassa Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing