We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
106
119
31
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
119
31
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel george fantastic location old port cycling trip busy street boutique hotel bars and restaurants quiet room clean rooms air conditioning small hotel car parking a great stay grand plage stopover proximity bordeaux
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Welcoming and relaxing two day stay at the end of our six day cycling trip from Bordeaux to Biarritz - great location in the old town and well placed for the beach and restaurants - recommend. We had a quiet room over looking the rear courtyard so peaceful - room 207 was small but tastefully furnished and bed very comfortable. Breakfast good too.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dawn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel G, Responsable réception at Georges VI, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear Dawn,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive comments.

We are very happy that you have had a memorable stay with us.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Biarritz.

Best Regards,
Georges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed in Georges hotel at short notice as we were staying about 45 minutes away for a surfing trip that did not go to plan. I booked the hotel and we turned up 15 minutes later our room was ready straight away. The gentleman at reception was really helpful and understanding. The room was lovely on the 3rd floor with lovely large bath room. Bed was a comfy and the air con was very welcome during the stuffy nights! All in all we had a lovely stay in Hotel Georges VI and is very accessible to the city centre. We would stay here again. Thanks Hotel Georges!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel G, Responsable réception at Georges VI, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Lauen,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments.

We are very happy that you have appreciated our hospitality and our rooms.
We do hope that the next time you will be visiting Biarritz, our hotel will be your destination.

Best Regards,
Georges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

Four of us stayed at the Georges VI and we had a pretty good time.

Its a little bit of a time warp place, maybe reminiscent of A certain Mr Hulot, if you are a fan of classic French cinema. The staff are all very pleasant and as I said the location is fantastic.

Just be aware that there is no parking (and I mean none!) and if you're arriving as we did at a popular time or on a festival day, you can struggle to find a nearby spot. So be prepared to drop off near by assuming you can navigate the oneway system and then put the car in one of the many commercial car parks. We were just there a couple of days and to me the parking cast was very modest, but then I live in London......!

The hotel is a very short walk from the beach, surrounded by bars and restaurants, so is ideal for exploring Biarritz old town.

I'd like to give it a fourth star but the price and the slightly poor rooms mean it loses a star for value. Having said that I would not be sorry to stay again!!

Thank you for a nice stay.

Room Tip: Plan your parking ahead of time!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 171,959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELGEORGES6, Propriétaire at Georges VI, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Thank you for those kind words. Im really sensitive to your words.
You are right, it is very difficult to find a spot near the hotel specially for the hollyday's. That's why we offer place ina private parking place for 15€ 24h.

We will be very happy to welcome you and we will do our best to make your vacantaion greater!!!

Sincerely

Thomas LAMBERT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

Great hotel this, fantastic location for beaches and cliff top walks. Staff very pleasant and willing to go that extra to make your stay trouble free. Arrived at rail station which is about 2km away on a rainy evening....no taxis to be seen! But after a quick phone call to hotel one came along in ten minutes....that’s service! Julie on reception spoke perfect English, as did all the reception staff, recommended cafes and restaurants not too far away....it was raining for all my stay! Helped me with my onward journey, this time by bus right to the train station for €1! Good choice for breakfast and will always make you a drink if you return from a wet outing! Well done Hotel George’s...you deserve my five star rating!

Room Tip: Got some “light pollution” in my front room (109) if this aspect bothers you ask for rear rooms
Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank SilverNomad04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELGEORGES6, Gérant at Georges VI, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Thank you Martin,

It was a real pleasure to host you. I can assure that all the staff was really happy to read your kind message.

We will be very happy to welcome you again and untill that we wish you all the best

Sincerely

Thomas
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Georges VI is a great property in a really great location for exploring Biarritz. You are a block from a cove beach where you can swim and sunbathe. There are tons of restaurants, bars and shops within a few minutes walk.

The room was very small for 2 people and we were disappointed there was only one window that didn't really open. I also hate when hotels have a separate room for the toilet. This happens a lot in Europe but this one was especially small. Breakfast was decent enough. Eggs, pastries, cheeses etc. People were very friendly.

It's a good value for the location but not a luxury property! Just a place to lay your head at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairytale2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELGEORGES6, Responsable réception at Georges VI, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments concerning our property.
It is true that our location is very much appreciated by all our guests. Once you are here, everything is in walking distance.
I am really sorry if the size of the room has not met your expectations. For your information we have bigger rooms available, with in-the-bathroom toilet.
Please let us know about your preferences on your next visit to Biarritz.
We hope to see you again very soon.

Best Regards,
Georges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews