We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food with Good friendly Service”

Hippo Bordeaux Gambetta
Ranked #1,879 of 2,811 Restaurants in Bordeaux
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had several meals, at this restaurant, whilst staying in Bordeaux for the week. The Salad Fruits are simply wonderful. They really looked after our Daughter who is Vegan, and my wife, who is vegetarian. They are a friendly bunch of people, who put a lot into the service that they give you.
You can reserve a table on week day nights, which is very helpful. We liked this place a lot, and would not hesitate in recommending it to others.
If you want to eat in a place, where you can do a spot of people watching whilst enjoying some good food, then give Hippo a try, you will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HappyTravellers222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stopped here for lunch. Thankfully we were early as the restaurant got very busy.

The basic fare is beefsteak, as big as you like it. We ate the basic lunch, a steak with a (large)jacket potato with optional sauces followed by crème brulée. Pleasantly surprised.

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hippo Bordeaux Gambetta also viewed

 
Bordeaux, Gironde
Le Haillan, Bordeaux
 

Been to Hippo Bordeaux Gambetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing