We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent shortstay hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aquitain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aquitain Hotel
Ranked #89 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Certificate of Excellence
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent shortstay hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

If you are travelling to Bordeaux by train, this is a small hotel you should consider. It is only a two mintue walk from Gare St. Jean yet it is very quiet and private. The staff are efficient and helpful, and the hotel seems very well managed. The upper room where we stayed was spacious with a good view out over the city, though the stairs going up were a bit steep. The front desk offered to carry our bags, however. Breakfast was generous and well laid out, and the experience overall was very positive. The excellent Bordeaux tram service runs from just outside the station if you don't want to bother with a car.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_MLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    50
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
39
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean. We booked it to be near the station but otherwise can't see much to recommend it as it wasn't particularly good value or particularly nice in any other way.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksUK_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

This is an older property that has been updated. Good two star place located very near Gare St-Jean Train Station. Not many restaurants nearby but it's quiet. While it's not in the "City Center", (where the restaurants are) it's easy to hop on the Tram (E1.40) to access the city "hot spots". We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameslclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

My trip to Bordeaux was specifically to visit vineyards. This hotel served the purpose as it provided me with a "sanctuary" at the end of the day. The interactions I had with the staff were pleasant. Most important for me was the supply of clean towels and linens and the fact that the room was odor free and very clean. No room service and telephone but I did not need it! Wifi worked like a breeze, AC was not necessary but I was able to turn on the heat when needed. Could hear another couple's excited chatter but they got quiet as they settled in. This hotel is an ideal choice if you are not a fuss box or if the bigger picture is about scheduled activities as opposed to fluffy pillows, room service, bell hops, and thick bathrobes. I also traveled light so had no problem walking from the nearby St. Jean train station and taking my bag upstairs. A different experience but it worked for me.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peaudusoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

i chose the Aquitain Hotel because i wanted to be near the station and the hotel had good reviews in Tripadvisor. The Aquitain is a simple but adequate hotel built around a very pretty flowered courtyard. The rooms are small but spotlessly clean and comfortably furnished. The staff is charming and the brekafast is good. There is a tramway which takes you from the staion to the city center in 15 minutes. This is not a luxury hotel but if you want a comfortable night near the station I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ttcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.1 km away
Ibis Budget Bordeaux Gare Saint Jean
0.2 km away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#99 of 173 in Bordeaux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.2 km away
Ibis Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint-Jean Euratlantique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Campanile Bordeaux Centre - Gare Saint-Jean
0.3 km away
Ibis Styles Bordeaux Gare Saint-Jean
0.2 km away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#113 of 173 in Bordeaux
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquitain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquitain Hotel

Property: Aquitain Hotel
Address: 47 rue Eugene le Roy, 33800, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 173 Hotels in Bordeaux
Price range (per night): $116 - $226
Hotel Class:2 star — Aquitain Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aquitain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing