We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel turned off air conditioning during heat wave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel
Ranked #50 of 177 Hotels in Bordeaux
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Dated mediocre hotel. Didn't get bed we requested and were promised in
Advance. In midst of heat wave manager turned air conditioning off because some guests complained air was too cold instead of adjusting air or having complaining guests turn their room air off...most ridiculous thing ever encountered in a hotel! Despite hotel pledge to satisfy hotel staff was indifferent and unhelpful. Manager should be fired tout suite!

Room Tip: Skip this place waste of money and downer in a wonderful city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drras54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angélique C, Responsable réception at Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear drras54
I would like to thank you for taking time to write your comment after your stay at Mercure Bordeaux Centre and I am really sorry to read that you did not like entirely your stay with us.
Regarding the bed you get, has your booking was with a leisure tour group, we have contract with them and regarding this contract you had the right type of room booked. However, our team is always taking care abour your feedback and they could not gave you a privilege room with double bed even with your loyalty card, only because we were full for this date.
For the air conditioning, because of environmental norms we can not have it with heater on the same time. That is why as the weather is changing alot actually, we decided to put the air conditioningduring the day but we switch it off for the night at 22.00pm.

However, I really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you later in a Mercure hotel in order to better meet your expectations,

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

Hotel caters for large tour groups at the expense of the individual left our room 10am returned at 5pm room not serviced excuse given that a large group of 90 arriving.we had put in notes at time of booking that it was our 44th wedding anniversary which happened to be on that day no recognition given .We had to wIait 45 mins for housekeeping we had hoped to relax and shower before leaving the hotel fir a restaurant booking at 7pm in the event it was all a rush, very disappointing

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank denis i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angélique C, Responsable réception at Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017


Dear Mr Ireland,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a a comment after your stay at Mercure Bordeaux Centre. And we apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us.
We’ve had a business group arriving at the hotel, quite a large group, but in no way is prioritised over our other guests. You also warned us to an arrival at 10pm, and as such, everything was ready for that arrival, as the demands you leave on your bookings are taken very seriously.
Regarding the group, as I stated, was a business group, with a seminar at the hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience caused during their stay, however, our housekeeping were instructed to have their rooms ready for 15h00, which delayed housekeeping for that day. However this was a rare occasion.
In order to statisfy all our guests we also prioritised guests which requested housekeeping by placing the « please make my room » card on their doors.

We truly apologize and understand the inconvenince, but thank you for your comments, as they help us better ourselves in order to better meet your expectations. We hope that on your next visit will be more to your satisfaction.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Pleasant stay in a centrally located hotel close to city attractions, a hypermarket and tram network. Rooms look to have been recently refurbished and are spacious, comfortable and well equipped (ours had a Nespresso coffee machine!) I'd guess the building is a 1960s construction like much of the Meriadeck area. It won't be to everyone's liking but it was quiet and well connected. Staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful. My only gripe was that the room was cool at night and when I switched on the air conditioning, it blew out cold air. I called reception only to be told the heating wasn't yet on. Bit disappointing in a hotel of this standard. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cabin8032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angélique C, Responsable réception at Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear ,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hôtel Mercure Bordeaux Centre.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

I'm guessing there are better places to stay in Bordeaux. We were put here by a travel company and while it functions as somewhere to sleep it is a bit tired. I'd expect more of this type of hotel. Breakfast was good.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Siobhán W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angélique C, Responsable réception at Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Siobhán W

I would like to thank you for taking time to write a comment after your stay at Mercure Bordeaux Centre and I am really pleased to read that you liked the breakfast we propose.

Regarding the location, we are not in the heart of the antigual city center however at only 5 minutes from place Gambetta. I really hope you liked the city of Bordeaux and that you will come back soon.

Regarding the decoration we already renoved the privilege rooms and we will have all the others one as the commun areas next year. If you have the opportunity to welcome later, we will be really pleased to show you the diference.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank sle_jcdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Angélique C, Responsable réception at Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bordeaux hotels
0.4 km away
Novotel Bordeaux Centre
Novotel Bordeaux Centre
#42 of 177 in Bordeaux
1,088 reviews
1 km away
Quality Hotel Bordeaux Centre
2.4 km away
Hotel Mercure Bordeaux Centre Gare Saint Jean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
Adagio Bordeaux Gambetta
#12 of 177 in Bordeaux
1,028 reviews
1.7 km away
Mercure Bordeaux Cite Mondiale Centre Ville
0.9 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel Bayonne Etche-Ona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel

Address: 5 rue Robert Lateulade, 33000, Bordeaux, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bordeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bordeaux
Price Range: $149 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center, the Mercure Bordeaux Centre hotel is just 10 minutes away from the Meriadeck business district and the historic center. Chosen as "European Best Destination 2015" and "Best City 2016," discover the fascinating Cité du Vin museum and exhibition center and other famous attractions. The hotel has 10 modular meeting rooms and the "K'fé Lounge" restaurant, which offers a modern, seasonal menu. Paid public car park and access for guests with reduced mobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Bordeaux Centre Hotel Bordeaux
Accor Bordeaux Centre Meriadeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing