We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
La Petite Pierre, Bas-Rhin, Grand Est

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
olleee
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

What a fantastic place for our family reunion. We were looking for a place with character, secluded and embedded by nature. And this is exactly what we found. The picture tell it all. But what the picture can't show is how friendly and helpful the tenants, Hélène & Francis Michel are. They made sure every wish was fulfilled (and even had a nice welcome gift prepared for us). When my mother forgot her favorite pillow in the mill, Francis shipped it to her right away. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2017
Hello,
It was a pleasure for us to welcome a friendly group, you have fully respected the places, we would be happy to see again you.
Best Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickbell2...
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Extended family holiday.”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Fantastic beautiful Location. Surrounding area beautiful as well. The house finished to high standard, yet homely and relaxing. Young kids throughly enjoyed themselves, as well as us adults.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2017
Nous avons eu beaucoup de plaisir à accueillir une grande famille très sympathique et attentionnée. Il ont parfaitement respecté les lieux, ce sera un plaisir pour nous de les accueillir à nouveau.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEL-TX
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Idyllic getaway”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a fantastic place in a super location. We were an extended family of 6 that stayed for 6 days using it as a base to explore nearby Alsace sights. The house is a bit off from the main track, nicely secluded but is close enough to "town" if desired.

The house itself is massive and well appointed with a nice mix of historic feel with modern amenities. The deck is great for catching the sunlight entering the glade and the sound of water and the mill wheel is very soothing. We also enjoyed cooking outdoor in the fire pit. Inside, the bedrooms are all comfy and a couple that have deck access. While we didn't use it, the loft bedroom would be perfect for a big family group with a number of kids. The common areas (kitchen, dining, living and TV rooms) are also well done. Playing ping pong in basement and having access to a mountain bike was a nice option as well.

We took a number of walks as the forest area offers a variety of terrain from back roads to forest trails..they are pretty well marked as well. I took out a mtb on a couple of 20-25 mile mixed surface rides (road/gravel/trail) and the routes and scenery was fantastic.

Great for a large group with the 6 bedrooms and lots of common space. Getting in/out is ok although on back roads...the location does show up onGoogle maps though! Lohr, Graufthal and particularly La Petit Pierre are nice places for a lunch/dinner.

Francis and Helene were great hosts, met us at the property at the start and showed us how things worked and were very easy to interact with. There was local info available that was helpful as a resource.

Loved the place...only downside was that we couldn't stay longer!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Fantastic location and well appointed with all needed amenities
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
It was a pleasure to host a nice and respectful group like the family of Diana and Greg. They'll welcome at the Saint Moulin next time in Alsace.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKCarlow
Carlow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heiligenmuhle was great”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We are just back from our annual sibling holiday - four couples, ages ranging from 57 to 73. The mill was ideal, set in the heart of the forest where the Autumn colours were magnificent and the forest floor thick with fungi. One of the group is an expert on fungi, and led several foraging expeditions which produced edible additions to our meals.

The accommodation was as described, though with five bedrooms on one floor (we only used four of them) a larger group could find the single bathroom and separate toilet on that floor a bit restrictive. There was another bathroom with toilet, and a separate toilet, on the ground floor.

Outside there was the gentle background noise of the waterwheel and fountain, though the description "river" for the stream flowing through the property was a bit of an exaggeration.

Of course, being in the heart of the forest, you really need a car, but there are several excellent restaurants and shops within a few kilometres.

The owner had the wonderful stove lit when we arrived, and we kept it going from the large woodpile all the week we were there, so the house was very warm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annelies...
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Feels like Downton Abbey”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in Le Saint Moulin last July. We rented the house with another family, so our company consisted of 4 adults, 4 adolescents and 1 ight year old boy. We all had a wonderful time. The owners, Hélène and Francis, are very friendly and helpful. They only stay in their part of the house in their holidays, so you have the whole valley just for yourselves! It is amazing to have so much space and beauty around you. We went for walks and biking trips, but also stayed in and around the house a lot, just to enjoy the feeling of being part of some noble family: it really feels like living in some grand estate.The only thing that was missing to fit this picture, was a bunch of servants ;-) This place is probably also perfect for Christmas holidays. Or autumn, or early spring. Oh well, it's just great. If you get the change: go here!

Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing