We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restaurant”
Review of The Alchemist

The Alchemist
Ranked #137 of 2,482 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A modern bar/restaurant: A celebration of the unconventional, dark and controversial! Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Fab staff, very helpful, food excellent and hot and cocktails smoking as usual thanks for a great time

Thank Kev J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Alchemist N, Manager at The Alchemist, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us.

We’re glad you had such a great time!

Thank You

The Alchemist New York Street Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 183 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We visited as a family for a celebration of good exam results, a new job etc.
It was great. Yes the cocktails are a bit expensive but it goes with the territory. The Mojitos were excellent.
The food was great and the menu had something for everyone. We had a really good evening and I would recommend it for a special occasion or just as a nice place to start an evening out.

Thank youdsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Alchemist N, Manager at The Alchemist, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. We’re glad you had such a great time and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank You

The Alchemist New York Street Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Visited here with my wife and we wish we hadn't!

Waited 30 minutes at the bar to get served then gave up and walked out. It wasn't even busy it's just very badly managed and organised.

The experience nearly ruined our night but then we went to lots of other bars in Manchester that were run properly and we were served immediately and had a great time.

Give this place a massive swerve as this is second time we have tried here and had same experience both times.

Thank MrGJ2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Alchemist N, Manager at The Alchemist, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit.

Please can you provide us with your contact details so we can get more information about your visit. We would like to investigate in to this further.

Our contact email is newyorkstbdm@thealchemist.uk.com.

Thank You

The Alchemist New York Street Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

No surprise if your looking for amazing cocktails then the Alchemist should be you first port of call.Amazing menu huge choice both to satisfy your eyes and taste buds and if by some amazing bad luck your cocktail of choice is not on the menu the bar staff will make any off menu drinks without a problem .....great knowledgeable and friendly staff with a five star service

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank georgetaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Alchemist N, Manager at The Alchemist, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us.

We’re glad you had such a great time and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank You

The Alchemist New York Street Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Don’t let your expectations get the better of you else you could be a little bit disappointed when you visit.

Myself and my friend aren’t from the Manchester area but we had heard lots of great things about The Alchemist so on a weekend visit to Manchester we chose to visit The Alchemist as a treat.

Upon arrival, it appeared to be busy around the bar area and it took a short while for us to get served. I wouldn’t say the service was anything special, the bar staff seemed to concerned with working their way around to serving all the customers than speaking on a one to one basis.

Picking a cocktail is a hard decision to make as there are so many to choose from. We picked 3 different cocktails and it’s safe to say the hype comes from the novelty of the cocktails more so than the taste. Although they tasted ok, I personally wouldn’t have said they are value for more.

We chose to sit at a table with the drinks which the staff seemed to pull their faces at a bit. It was as though we would be putting them out if we sat down. They did offer a table service whereby they came over to the table to take drinks orders which was good and the lady who was our waitress was really friendly. She was all too happy to help us find suitable drinks and nothing was too much trouble for her.

The atmosphere was ok, again, nothing to special. The noise level was acceptable and we were able to sit and talk over the table without being forced to shout at one another. It did feel a little bit stuffy though with the tables being so close together.
Rather than pay for each round of drinks, we had a tab open which we paid at the end. This was good as it meant there was nothing to worry about until we were about to leave and our waitress brought the bill to our table.

I’m not sure I’d return in a hurry as there are far nicer bars in and around Manchester that offer better drinks. As mentioned previously, it’s a place with a novelty value and very little more. Dependent upon the drink you chose, it can become very costly but the majority fall below £15.00.

For anyone thinking of visiting, maybe pre-booking a table would be a better idea especially if it is on a Friday or Saturday night as it can get very busy.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank zoesian101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Alchemist N, Manager at The Alchemist, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us.

Both positive and negative feedback is greatly appreciated and taken on board.

We will pass on all comments to the management team, have a great day.

Thank You

The Alchemist New York Street Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alchemist also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Alchemist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing