We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castlefield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castlefield Hotel
Ranked #65 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Glos UK
Level Contributor
130 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Visited this hotel for 2 nts. Booking very efficient, got a good price and a free bottle of wine for booking hotel direct over the phone not thru and website.
Abit of a maze to find the hotel reception from the carpark, as carpark is shared with the healthclub attached to the hotel and is very busy, had to queue for a space on the 2nd night.
Room was great very clean and large,(room 316). Everything you could want and reasonably priced.
Food was lovely when we ate there in the evening, typical bar food, no expensive restaurant. Breakfast adequate, full english no continental choice.
All in all a hotel worth staying in, opposite the science museum and 10 mins walk from the main shops.
Staff were excellent, for the money couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enjoy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
'Enjoy33'- glad you did enjoy your stay. A tip when arriving from the car park is to use the 'Y Club' entrance and come up the internal stairs. Y club entrance is just 40 metres from car park pedestrian gate- by the canal towpath.
The BEST AVAILABLE RATE - and the best offers- are on our own website so always go there for the best deals
Glad you enjoyed the food, spacious. clean room, location and the staff attitude- we do aim to give value for money and delighted that you found this to be so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    236
    119
    50
    28
See reviews for
67
227
29
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed NYE 2011 room was large and clean beds were so comfy. The staff were very friendly, eficient and professional. Location is superb would advise stying around the hotel as the pubs are much better. Good breakfast small choice but all freshly cooked.

Read some of the reviews and cant believe some of the nonesense people complain about. That said the advice to ask for a room at the back of hotel facing canal is correct, as we had a front room over main road and being a light sleeper could hear the traffic. The leisure center was closed due to it being NYE when that is open it would make the hotel even better.

Only reccomendation is hotel gets better double glazing for rooms near the road. You willnot find a better value hotel in Manchester I am a mancunian so should know.

Room Tip: Eat and drink near hotel much better than city centre White horse great pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrainewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GD127, Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Lorraine, thanks for your feedback- good to know that someone with local knowledge chooses the Castlefield. Personally I prefer the Ox Noble for a pint- that said there's nothing wrong with the White Horse and, as you state, the area immediately around the hotel is well served with decent pubs & restaurants - just minutes from the heart of the city
Glad you found your rooclean and the bed comfy and the team friendly and professional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morley leeds
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

This hotel has it all, brilliant location with a carpark (but have to pay for parking) and initially on arrival you think it's very good. Our room was ok, but a bit run down and these days you expect more from a city hotel. The towels were brown, usually hotel towels are white and the heating pipes were all exposed. Havn't seen that in a while. Stayed one night and had to ask for extra coffee sachets as only got one each and the mattresses were terrible. You could see the springs just under the material let alone feel them. Luckily the heating was on enough for my husband to sleep on top of the duvet instead of under it for some comfort. I was dowsed up with cold medications so did manage to sleep. I booked this through a third party with my credit card which had taken payment before our visit, but the girl on the desk insisted we had not paid and charged us again. I had to sort it out via the phone when I got home and eventually she just said sorry her mistake. Not good enough.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MorleyLeedsCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GD127, Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Apologies for the problem re. payment- discussions have taken place!The building is over 21 years old so the heating pipes are here to stay at the moment.
Whole hotel controlled by remote thermostats so the temperaure has been adjusted downwards and the individual room radiators have their own thermostat.Mattress replaced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

the wife and me just spent 2 nights at the castlefield,we had a few probs finding it at first,but once we did,the allowed us to use the carpark,even though we got there at 10am,and couldnt book in till 2pm,the staff on reception were great,also the young barman,{didnt like the older,bald guy,found him abit rude},sorry we didnt get the names of anyone,but we were both happy with the staff.
breakfast was just ok,the scrambled egg was lovely and hot,but the rest of the breakfast was warm at best.
the location was perfect for wot we wanted,close to the main shops,and christmas market
the room was in need of decorating,{im a decorator by trade,and re-fresh coat all round could easily be done in a days work},the bath was too small,and the shower barly worked,but we coped,wot i struggled to cope with,was the tropical heat the radiators put out,i like a warm room,but it was so hot,i was struggling abit,we turned the rads down,but that didnt make a great deal of difference.
we would stay here again should we be in manchester,but mainly for the staff and location

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pitball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GD127, Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Glad to hear you would stay with us again and thanks for your constructive comments- as we speak the painter is going through all rooms to tidy up and improve appearance- it is just a matter of being able to get into the rooms and having someone available to do the job.Radiator valve has been checked and fixed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed at the Castlefield Hotel with my wife for two nights on 27th and 28th November. I must agree with most of the other reviewers, this is a good hotel in a good position if you want to do some site seeing, it is also good value for money.
Firstly it is right opposite one of the main attractions in Manchester, The Museum of Science and Industry. It is in easy walking distance form all the night life, pubs, restaurants and shops. A bus stop is almost opposite the hotel with a good service into the City Centre.
The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable. We only had breakfast in the hotel, as we were already booked out for meals for our anniversary and we spent a lot of time at the Christmas Market, but we found the breakfasts in the hotel to be O.K.
Put it this way, I have stayed in many hotels throughout the UK and in Europe on business.
I have paid a lot more for five star hotels which did not match the Castlefield.
Yes, it has its faults and anyone who makes a living out of complaining can find them.
Personally I would not think twice, I would stay there again, my wife agrees, (and she's fussy).

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the Castlefield Basin, its a good view and may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keyboardCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnCastlefield, Manager at Castlefield Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Many thanks for adding your comprehensive & perceptive response- as you say we could all complain about everything- and yes we do get things wrong- but, if we do, we try to put them right and learn from them.
As a 'one off', not part of a chain, and without a formula to work to, our aim is to ensure the most important person in the hotel-the guest- is warmly welcomed, well treated and comfortable in a clean, attractive environment.
Delighted you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
1.8 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
0.3 km away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#66 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 km away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#9 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlefield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlefield Hotel

Property: Castlefield Hotel
Address: Castlefield Hotel Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#46 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price range (per night): $99 - $226
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castlefield Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Manchester for business or pleasure, for a short break or a longer holiday, we are sure we can make your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. This 3 Star Manchester city centre hotel is proud to offer a warm Northern welcome to all guests, providing a relaxing haven away from the hustle and bustle of City life. We are opposite the Museum of Science and Industry and located in a beautiful corner of the city, only 400 metres from Manchester city centre by foot. The Castlefield Hotel has a valued waterside setting adjacent to the Castlefield canal basin & Arena, and we are proud to be welcoming back happy guests for over 20 years. Free wifi and free use of our on site gym comes as an added bonus for all. Book direct to receive fabulous deals on Hotel city breaks in Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, LateRooms, Agoda, Wotif.com and Odigeo so you can book your Castlefield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlefield Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing