We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As a conference hotel - worth considering” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Ranked #26 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, Great Britain
Level Contributor
543 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“As a conference hotel - worth considering”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

I attended the hotel for two days in June 2011 for a business meeting for 14 delegates. I should have stayed there as well, but, due to a mysterious change in reservations, my booking was transferred (without my knowledge) to the nearby (8 minute walk) Marriott Renaissance instead of the V&A. The Boardroom used onthe first day was rather claustrophobic, with no windows at all, even internal ones. On the second day we moved to a much better meeting room, of similar size, and with a glass internal wall.

Refreshments during the day were first class; the bacon butties went down very well, as did the "home made" cookies and other snacks. The lunch buffet on each day was well above the usual standard for conference fare in such hotels.

Service from all the staff we encountered was first class; the V&A is certainly wiorth looking in to for a meeting /conference venue in Manchester.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    572
    213
    75
    55
See reviews for
183
734
55
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Stayed here with a group of girlfriends for our Take That weekend. Lovely hotel. Rooms were lovely. You can open the windows to get fresh air! Slightly out of town centre so not too noisy. Beds were so comfy - great night's sleep. Staff were lovely, very helpful and courteous. 2 minutes walk from Spinningfields for plenty of bars and restaurants. 5 minutes walk into town centre. Opposite the Granada TV studios. Breakfast was fab. Would definately stay again. Thanks Marriott.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beanie283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

The three things that
I particularly like about this hotel, having stayed here three times now, are the staff, the location by the canal and the quirky rooms which owe their design to the fact that the hotel was originally a warehouse. The room was spacious and had a large metal post in it, which added character if also a slight hazard for the unwary!

Breakfast is a very good spread of the usual fresh fruit, cereal and hot selection, all very high quality, and the bonus of looking over the canal, watching cormorants and a lone kingfisher...

The staff are welcoming and helpful, and whilst parking is at a premium, there is a valet service. I plan to stay here again for my next business trip.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tandannik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

From the moment you arrive & the concierge takes your car to park it for you, you are just wowed by the look of the hotel, the wonderful grand reception area and the professional staff.

We have just returned from a two night stay at this hotel and would certainly return, we were graced with beautiful sunny weather and the outside decking area for drinks was fantastic. The bar staff were attentive and remembered your drinks order without asking.

We tried the bar food and again all four of us were happy with our meals, the breakfast was excellent and the restaurant/ breakfast area was very nicely done with soft seating and good decoration.

We found the location of the hotel to be very good with an short stroll into the main town area with lots of choice of shops, bars & restaurants.

Our only complaints would be with the rooms, our room had a broken iron which was replaced instantly once reported we also reported the room safe note working and the air conditioning not blowing cold but neither of them were fixed during our stay which meant terrible sleep due to the room being so so hot.

Parking for your car will cost £14 per night but you are in a central location.

I hope this helps you with choosing this hotel and I hope the sun is shinning when you visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thefunkymonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

we stayed here and the first night my daughter had a fruit shoot my daughter said it tastes like apple it was 6 months out of date the next night the food was ok but they run out of ice cream my daughter had a pizza ham and cheese it was great the next night she had the same pizza put they had run out of ham and they put spicy beef on my daughter is 3 years old when i said she won't eat it they said just pick it off the pizza i said she would still taste it they changed it the next night i was gob spacked when the duty manger told the next table when they complained about a boy runnig around the duty manger said children should be put on a dog lead and dogs should be allowed

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craig41StokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.8 km away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
1.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
0.9 km away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
1.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel

Property: Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Address: Water Street, Manchester M3 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#20 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Family Hotel in Manchester
#29 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price range (per night): $151 - $429
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant Manchester city centre on the banks of the River Irwell, the Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel in England exudes a historical charm. Our cozy 4-star Manchester hotel's location across from Granada Television Studios is ideal, as guests enjoy a short and pleasant stroll to the Opera House, Spinningfields area, and Palace Theatre. Since our Manchester city center hotel's origin was a warehouse built in 1844, you will find many authentic details in our guest rooms including exposed brick and oak beams. Our £3 million renovation in 2014 highlights the old architecture and new contemporary flair, along with modern comforts and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Manchester Victoria And Albert Hotel
Marriott Manchester Victoria Albert Hotel
Manchester Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing