We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food”
Review of Coriander

Coriander
Ranked #430 of 2,566 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chorlton
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This restaurant has a deserved reputation for excellent Bengali food. It did not disappoint. Friendly service and attentive waiters ensured a lovely evening with friends and family in a modern and welcoming atmosphere.

For me, an Indian restaurant can be graded on the quality of four popular dishes: a) chicken jalfrezi b) onion bhaji c) naan d) samosas.
These were all up to scratch and the salmon in coriander was particularly good.

Hope to return soon.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Dmzmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
habla b, Manager at Coriander, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

thank so much for your reply
our all efforts and expertise are for our customers. our aim is to gain your satisfaction.
thanks agin and hope see you agin

abdul
restaurant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We were seated pretty quickly considering we didn’t make a reservation and it was a Saturday evening.

The restaurant itself is quite small so seating is pretty close to one another. It was clean and tidy.

We were served pretty quickly. Or within 10 minutes.

The atmosphere lacked background music and it can get quite noisy. They can accommodate large groups but that particular day we went we were met by a rowdy bunch! Which isn’t ideal if you want a quiet meal and you probably have to raise your voice in order to for others to hear you talk.

We had some popadoms which came with 4 “dips”, which was delicious. We then had a vegetarian platter for 2, shared between 3 people which was more than enough and it came out nice and hot and the onion bhaji etc wasn’t even oily, which you can sometimes find this is the case with some restaurants. I had a chicken biriyani which was delicious and just the correct amount, it was garnished with chopped cucumber and tomatoes and comes with a side of curry sauce.

Price was average. Roughly £20 per head including drinks, not including desserts or alcohol.

Overall I enjoyed the food so I would dine there again! And I would definitely recommend this to others.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Hey_Mams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
habla b, Manager at Coriander, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

sorry to hear that you were disrupted by a group of people next to you. Please inform us if you like to sit in quit place. we could change your sitting to a differnt area.

thank you so much for commenting about the food. we really try our level vest to offer the best products and services to our customers.
our aim is to produce the food without oil or less oil(as much as possible) and without colour and MSG

hope we see you again

abdul
R. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Driving through Chorlton, peckish - we passed the Coriander, turned around and
glad we did.
Seated quickly, drinks and starters served quickly. Loved the meal, I ordered the
goat curry and my partner chicken tikka masala. The rice was nice a fluffy - a trick not all restaurants can do, the food was excellent - what made it though was the attention to details by the staff.
If we are ever passing again - we will call in.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NightNurse1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Very overpriced for what it is especially when there's so many other places around the area to eat. The papadums were destroyed and the food wasn't up to much.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

We met up with our son, who lives in town, at the nearby Broughton Park rugby club and scanned Google for an Indian restaurant within a short drive. This one had a good rating and was only around a mile away, so we made tracks and, boy, did we strike gold!
There's two Corianders, we arrived at the smaller venue and we're delighted by our welcome and the feel of the place. By the end of our meal we were certain that this will be a place we will revisit when next in Manchester, as our food and drink were entirely excellent and came at a very reasonable price too. Our pakora starters were very tasty. We used some of the remaining dips which had arrived with our popadoms before ordering as well as a couple of similarly tasty dips which accompanied the starters. Main courses consisted of a Rogan Josh, a Traditional Tikka and an Urban Style Chicken dish, each of which went down a treat. I had the urban as I thought it looked a bit different and was really pleased with the flavours. Not as hot a dish as I'd expected but certainly very enjoyable. A couple of rices and a cheese and peshawari naan were ample accompaniment, such that we felt no need to request desserts. All of this with a coup,e of soft drinks and a couple of pints of Cobra and all for under £65! Superb value which I am happy to recommend to anyone.

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coriander also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Coriander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing