We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 106
USD 99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 101
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 196
USD 155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 144
USD 132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
USD 111
USD 100
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Etrop Grange(Manchester)
USD 95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Midland(Manchester)
USD 118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (945)
Filter reviews
945 results
Traveller rating
234
337
192
104
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
337
192
104
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswillowbank hotelcity centresecure parkingcurry ricesuperior roommain roadsingle roomreception stafffull englishstayed for one nightfallowfieldchristiewetherspoonsconcert
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 945 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2017

We have stayed at this hotel many times as my husband attends the Christie Hospital and is conveniently near. We initially went there when it was The Best Western and offered Christie patients a discount.

It is now a Hallmark Hotel, when I asked about the discount I was told that the rate quoted was the rate we were required to pay - end of. But she did add secure car parking and breakfast was included.

We now book the executive rooms to make sure we have room to move about after once being given a very small room in the new part of the hotel. I couldn't see that Hallmark had made any improvements really, they had refurbished bits. Our room was clean and comfortable and lovely and warm, and hallelujah- the windows opened however, the pictures on the wall weren't very cheerful. The bathroom was a little strange, lovely large corner bath and bath shower but negotiating the toilet was an art.

We had arrived on a Sunday and had to go out to eat (the Weatherspoon pub is a very short walk and the food is your average pub grub and reasonably priced) as they no longer do any food on Sunday nights, even bar snacks had ceased. I did though manage to get a coffee from the bar, when the barman eventually arrived, somewhat overpriced I thought, I can only assume that it was a quiet night as he kept his fleece on and spent a great deal of time looking at his phone.

Generally the staff were helpful and friendly, though we didn't see a great deal of them. The breakfast is a buffet style with plenty of choices. I had my usual gripe about really cold milk for the coffee, yet to find a hotel that offers warm milk with your breakfast coffee.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Minstral1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillowBankManager, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Manchester South, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments.
I have spoken with he Bar member of staff following on from the issues you faced, I'm sorry that this occurred as its unacceptable.
Next time you are here just let us know so we can arrange some hot milk for your coffee.
Kind regards
Damon Yoxall
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

small but very good value room. good facilities.excellent breakfast.great location.good service.very handy for curry mile.secure parking and catered for early start.prices very reasonable.staff helpful,homely feel to premises.

Room Tip: rear rooms
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 309jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillowBankManager, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Manchester South, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear Guest
Great review! Its always nice to receive such kind works from our guests. I will pass on your thanks to the rest of the team.
Kind regards
Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

The check-in was quick with clear information. When we arrived the room was too hot, but unlike many hotels easy to adjust the radiator temperature. So quickly under control, which s very good as I like a cooler room than most. For our room rate, breakfast was extra, and at £10 each we felt a bit pricey, but there was a good range of food (including black pud), and plenty of it, so now no complaints. Given it's location I thought noise may be a problem as we had a front facing room, but after about 11pm it was fine. Overall a pleasant stay and I will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillowBankManager, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Manchester South, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments following on from your stay, its great to hear you had a great time and gave us a 5 star review.
Look forward in welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

I recently stayed here for a second week and was quite disappointed this time. The room was really tired. The heating was incredibly noisy with banging all the time it was on. The room was really cramped and all the tiles on the bathroom floor were cracked. The toilet was coming away from the wall and worst of all, there were pubic hairs in the bath plug hole when I arrived. when you tried to open the wardrobe door it made a deafening screeching noise that would wake anyone in neighbouring rooms. There were also noisy children running around in the corridors. Overall it was OK cleanliness wise but certainly nothing special. I probably won't be rushing back here unless someone can persuade me otherwise.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillowBankManager, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Manchester South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments, please call me at the hotel to discuss if you wish.
I will investigate the issues you faced with the room.
Sorry for the inconvenience this has caused.
Kind regards
Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a Christmas party. The double room was £80 + £5 car park charge. The room was tiny, but had all the usual hotel room conveniences including large flat screen TV, tea making facilities, toiletries, desk and wardrobe. The bathroom was equally as small and our bathroom door had the annoying habit of sticking on the cupboard as it opened and closed. It's needs planing down.
I was surprised to get an actual key, which was quite inconvenient as there were two of us sharing the room. The room, whilst clean and tidy, needs a refurbishment, everything just seems outdated and my bed had certainly seen better days.
The biggest issue I had with the room was the floorboards, it seemed where ever you walked the floorboards creaked. The issue being that actually you heard your neighbours creaking around as well as people walking through the corridor. Loud creaks, thin walls.
Breakfast was included in the rate and was very good. Usual choice of juices and hot beverages, English breakfast, pastries, cereals and yoghurts. A wide selection and good quality, you were never rushed by the waiting staff, but were quick to clear empty plates away.
Location for central Manchester is pretty good, a short 15 minute bus ride with a stop pretty much outside the door. Large Sainsbury's, Macdonald's, various restaurants and bars all within a short walk.
A little bit of TLC to the hotel and I would come back again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Wil_C_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillowBankManager, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Manchester South, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments following on from your recent stay with us, its great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are fitting a new carpet on the second floor neat year so will hopeful be able to do something with the floorboards then.
Kind regards
Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews