We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“One Night Before a Flight” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Ranked #40 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Preston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One Night Before a Flight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed for one night before a flight to the States. Got the room for £64, which I was pleased about. The hotel had a good feel to it because everyone was going on holiday! Had a good nights sleep and the transfer to the Terminal was well organised. They even lift your assortment of suitcases into the van!! It meant we didn't have to get up at 4am. I'd certainly do it again before a long haul flight. The room was clean & welcoming with some nice touches. Didn't eat at the hotel though.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Letsdoit2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    1,170
    475
    173
    110
See reviews for
437
1,458
191
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed here for one night before our flight on 25th March 2012 and paid £80 for room only and 8 days worth of parking following this, which I think is a very good deal!

The rooms are comfortable and extremely spacious and we had a very good night's sleep. The hotel is a 3-4 minute transfer time to Terminal 1 (where we flew from) and we found everything to be well organised and satisfactory. The room included tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary mineral water and 'this works' sleep products to aid a restful sleep, the bathroom also had complimentary toiletries but strangely there was only one of everything in the room and it was a double, we had all our own products anyway so it didn't matter, I am sure they would have sorted it if we had asked them though.

We arrived late on the night of our stay so I can't comment on the bar/restaurant or on the breakfast the next morning as we were room only. But based on value for money, comfort of the room, ease of transfer and the facilities in the room I would recommend this hotel, I would consider booking again if this offer was available.

There is a free 24 hour gym which we didn't get chance to use but looked decent and the restaurant looked fairly full when we arrived so must be ok.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sessel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed here the night befor we flew out of Manchester airport. Excellent value for money. We ate in the Thai restaurant, Good good and well served. All the staff were nice and the transfer to terminal 1 the next morning couldn't have been easier. I will certainatly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimleeds_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorks
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Fabulous hotel, expensive to park and eat, but this is expected at the airport. Room excellent, quiet considering the location and the turnover of guests and the times people leaving rooms. excellent parking but expensive, breakfast, all you can eat for under a tenner was fabulous. bar was very nice and surprisingly not too expensive for drinks. Staff excellent throughout the hotel from reception to cleaners - all chirpy, polite and willing to assist. unable to comment on conference facilities as this was at the Hilton, but would definately use the Crowne in future for overnight stay prior to flying out.

Room Tip: unable to comment. rooms at back overlooking carpark are excellent. clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faunty1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I must start by admitting that my stay at the hotel was coloured somewhat by being very weary when I arrived. My flight was cancelled after 4 hours of sitting in the plane, and by the time I got to the hotel it had been about 7 hours since I had last eaten anything resembling a meal.

While the hotel is walking distance from the airport, the way to it is not currently easily passable by pathways, due to various roadworks. They do offer transfers apparently, but I wasn't aware of this so did the late night wander instead.

To their credit, I was very quickly dealt with and given my room. The room was nice, clean and comfortable. There was a bath, which is a lovesome thing at the end of a very long day.

Breakfast is a buffet and is served from 4am, which is I am sure very useful to the commuting traveller.

So why do I rate this hotel as only average?

1. They charge for wifi, which I think in these modern days is completely unjustifiable, and simply greedy.
2. I ordered room service, and got the wrong dish. To his credit, the waiter was very nice, apologetic about the error and fixed it promptly.
3. When they delivered the room service, payment in cash was required. As I had been expecting to depart the UK that day, I had no pounds on me. I offered to go down to pay via credit card, but this was not acceptable. They did accept euros but the amount they charged 3 euros over the real conversion rate - a rather hefty whack, on top of the 3.50 "tray charge"

In general I would say that my stay was ok, but not great.

I can imagine choosing to stay there again, but only if I had an early flight to catch. Otherwise I think I would travel the 20 minutes to stay in Manchester itself.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Kiriel,

Thank you for your review, and stay. I'm sorry you were not fully satisfied with the service received, but pleased you enjoyed the accommodations. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 km away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
0.2 km away
Hilton Manchester Airport
Hilton Manchester Airport
#58 of 118 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
Address: Ringway Road, Manchester M90 3NS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#25 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#34 Business Hotel in Manchester
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price range (per night): $135 - $266
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic Manchester Airport Hotel superbly located on the Airport complex, the four-star Crowne Plaza Hotel is within easy access of the M56, M60 and M62 as well as Manchester City Centre. The hotel boasts a stylish restaurant and bar, offering modern cuisine in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. Accommodation includes 294 well-appointed air-conditioned bedrooms that are ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. High-speed internet access is also available in all rooms. Spacious family rooms and Accessible rooms are also available. A complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport is available to all guests. The Park Stay & Go package offers guests accommodation, long stay parking & courtesy transport to & from the airport. Vehicles are transferred to a secure off site car parking facility working in conjunction with APCOA. Please note parking is for cars only. The Crowne Plaza has four superb dining options, plus 24 hour room service. We also offer small meeting facilities and ample car parking with accessible spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, HotelTravel.com, IHG, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing